SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2172 (misses costume)

22 more reviews
Viewed 464 times 
Reviewed by:jadesabre9
photo

 
 
About jadesabre9star
Member since: 10/23/11
Reviews: 30 (patterns: 30)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/12 11:03 AM
Last Updated:3/12/15 8:55 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2172 by jadesabre9

Simplicity: 2172 by jadesabre9    
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2172
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by jadesabre9

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Steampunk costume!

Pattern Sizing:
I made a Size 20.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Mostly. Some of the pictures were not super easy to understand - such as how to connect the ruffle on the collar, and how to slipstitch the bottom closed.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the costume, but in general do not like pattern instructions. This was no different. Pictures were not so good sometimes.

Fabric Used:
The coat used a stretch knit pinstripe fabric, and for the ruffles I went with a chiffon instead of an organza. For the bustier I used a silk brocade.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did not make the skirt - opted to sew a pair of pants instead (will review that pattern separately). I used cord for the loops on the back of the coat - I don't recommend that, very thick to sew over. I also did not sew the tie piece to go through the loops. I will be buying something to fill this need. On the bustier, I put the boning on the lining rather than the outside fabric due to a mistake ... but it worked well enough.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, though it took a pretty long time. I started at the end of February, but sewed intermittently on it. Maybe a week's worth of work if I was sewing back to back?

Conclusion:
I learned a lot with this pattern, and cannot wait to wear it to the yearly convention I go to.

Made a second time with Modifications! -- 03/12/15
It's been almost three years since I made my first version of this coat. I still love the coat enough that I decided to make a modified version of it for everyday wear (I have only worn my costume a handful of times, despite loving it).

This time I used a light brown suede fabric. I made some modifications - no sleeves or ruffles, no lining, no loops on the back of the coat, and I shortened the coat length. The only decision I'm slightly unhappy with is the no lining one ... but then again I made this version in about 3 hours one afternoon. You can't really tell that it isn't lined because the coat is shorter, but seeing the seams as I put it on bugs me ... I might decide to cover them with bias tape someday, but it would take a lot to overcome my lazy and do that.

This coat is part of a cute geeky Firefly outfit, with some leggings I patterned and sewed, and a tunic I did not make. Check out more details at my blog, Quests of Quirkiness: Firefly Outfit
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said... (3/12/15 12:31 PM) Reply
Both of your versions of this pattern are fun. Your sewing is very adventurous. Thanks for sharing. :)
jynclr said... (7/9/12 1:43 PM) Reply
Looking good! I'm glad to see someone else making this costume. I reviewed this one and I agree, it does take a long time (I made the skirt, twice. oi.) But it is a heck of a lot of fun. Great job!
jadesabre9 said... (4/26/12 8:27 PM) Reply
Thanks all. Manybells, I read your review before I started - love the costume you made from this pattern!
manybellsdown said... (4/23/12 4:32 PM) Reply
I so love this pattern. I really like the contrast with the red trim on yours! So many people (including me!) seem to leave off the sleeve flanges too, I like seeing the coat with them on.
SuzyBee said... (4/17/12 5:41 AM) Reply
Looks great! Fits you beautifully too.
tsedai said... (4/16/12 4:22 PM) Reply
Looks great!
mgode said... (4/16/12 1:48 PM) Reply
Looks marvelous on you! I've been dithering on this pattern for a while, but now I think I'll give it a try, for the coat at the very least.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Lily Bird Studio Kate's Dress

photo
by: SewSho

Review