Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5721 (Women's Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 501 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Elaray
photo
About Elaraystarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/20/05
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/12 6:00 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathySews said...
Great review. No alterations? wow. It looks great and I can see it made up in different fabrics for the summer. I must check out this pattern as well.
4/19/12 9:08 PM
Heatherrique said...
Not boring at all! Sleek and classic shirt with lots of versatility.
4/19/12 9:15 PM
tess said...
Your shirt looks great! Forget the age thing there are plentyof "real women" around!
4/20/12 6:07 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Love your shirt! I had to chuckle at the woman's pattern sizing remarks. I often wonder when all the slashing of patterns is going on if it wouldn't be better to just use a bigger pattern than adding 10 sizes to a misses one as I had been doing Lol! It's not like anyone knows what size pattern one is using anyway. I am trying a 1x sleeveless shell to test sew-I have to fill in the neck anyway so figured I'd embrace the D cup in the woman's pattern and get on with it. I am so buying this pattern you have sewn-great shirt.
4/20/12 7:42 AM
Steffie said...
Very good fitting shirt - thanks for the review.
4/20/12 7:52 AM
NC Carol said...
Fits you beautifully. And I'm with you: I love camp shirts in the warmer weather.
4/20/12 12:32 PM
brissie71 said...
What a great basic! I'm envious of you not having to do any alterations. It seems lately that EVERYthing I attempt bogs me down in a never-ending spiral of alterations. Nearly puts me off sewing forever. It's interesting that you are trying to move away from Burda. It suits you so well, but, so, too, does this pattern. Thanks for sharing such a helpful review.
4/22/12 3:27 PM
lyndle said...
Great review and good fit too! I've found heaps too much ease in the sleeve cap of lots of Butterick and vogue patterns, always wondered if I was just doing it wrong. Enjoy summer in your shirt!
4/27/12 4:43 AM
Aunt Gail said...
this is like the ULTIMATE classic Camp Shirt...simple, cottony, wonderful but plain match of buttons and excellent buttonholes. You did it!
4/28/12 1:54 AM
MapleCandy3 said...
It looks like a great camping shirt! Thanks for the review, i am thinking about buying this pattern
6/5/12 10:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Loes Hinse Designs 5107 Bistro Jacket
photo
Review by Tee Jay on 9/14/03
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2006-25 Phoenix Top
photo
Review by brissie71 on 6/29/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2466 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2466 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book
Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book

Details
Price: $25.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us