SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5721 (Women's Shirt)

Viewed 537 times 
Reviewed by:Elaray
photo

 
 
About Elaraystarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/20/05
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 124
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/19/12 6:00 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MapleCandy3 said...
It looks like a great camping shirt! Thanks for the review, i am thinking about buying this pattern
6/5/12 10:27 PM
Aunt Gail said...
this is like the ULTIMATE classic Camp Shirt...simple, cottony, wonderful but plain match of buttons and excellent buttonholes. You did it!
4/28/12 1:54 AM
lyndle said...
Great review and good fit too! I've found heaps too much ease in the sleeve cap of lots of Butterick and vogue patterns, always wondered if I was just doing it wrong. Enjoy summer in your shirt!
4/27/12 4:43 AM
brissie71 said...
What a great basic! I'm envious of you not having to do any alterations. It seems lately that EVERYthing I attempt bogs me down in a never-ending spiral of alterations. Nearly puts me off sewing forever. It's interesting that you are trying to move away from Burda. It suits you so well, but, so, too, does this pattern. Thanks for sharing such a helpful review.
4/22/12 3:27 PM
NC Carol said...
Fits you beautifully. And I'm with you: I love camp shirts in the warmer weather.
4/20/12 12:32 PM
Steffie said...
Very good fitting shirt - thanks for the review.
4/20/12 7:52 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Love your shirt! I had to chuckle at the woman's pattern sizing remarks. I often wonder when all the slashing of patterns is going on if it wouldn't be better to just use a bigger pattern than adding 10 sizes to a misses one as I had been doing Lol! It's not like anyone knows what size pattern one is using anyway. I am trying a 1x sleeveless shell to test sew-I have to fill in the neck anyway so figured I'd embrace the D cup in the woman's pattern and get on with it. I am so buying this pattern you have sewn-great shirt.
4/20/12 7:42 AM
tess said...
Your shirt looks great! Forget the age thing there are plentyof "real women" around!
4/20/12 6:07 AM
Heatherrique said...
Not boring at all! Sleek and classic shirt with lots of versatility.
4/19/12 9:15 PM
KathySews said...
Great review. No alterations? wow. It looks great and I can see it made up in different fabrics for the summer. I must check out this pattern as well.
4/19/12 9:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Simplicity 2975

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Truly Victorian 163

photo
by: piffle

Review
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

More Info