Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1803 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1117 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/12 6:46 PM
Last Updated:8/24/12 11:38 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sleonard said...
Your comments followed my own conclusions exactly. I am making this pattern right now from some inexpensive cotton floral fabric I nabbed at WalMart (also not knowing then what I would use it for) and decided to line it with a batiste. For my first run at this pattern, I thought I would try to line it as best I can, although I have to really think through the yoke bit. I had concerns too about the tie being the fabric and blending in. I also thought about making it a solid. Perhaps I will do that and post a pic if I am courageous enough. Thanks for your thoughts on this pattern. I am anxious to see your end product!
4/24/12 2:26 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Sleonard, I posted my steps for lining the bodice in the review for you. With the weird geometry it can be tough to visualize, so hope that helps!
4/24/12 8:21 PM
sleonard said...
Thanks! This saves me a lot of time. You explained it very clearly! Looking forward to seeing your dress!
4/26/12 9:52 PM
Dilliander said...
Gosh, this is lovely, worth finishing!
5/9/12 7:20 PM
Huntwoman said...
Gorgeous results.
5/9/12 7:45 PM
Redsmum said...
I think if you threw on some funky/chunky red sandals you would eliminate the "50's housewife" look you fear. It's super cute!
5/9/12 8:11 PM
Claverie said...
it's so cute!
5/9/12 8:31 PM
Jrhee said...
I love the neckline, and your cotton print.
5/9/12 11:11 PM
jlg said...
What a great dress.
5/10/12 5:34 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I hope you'll finish the dress! Very nice.
5/10/12 7:04 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress ..... such a lovely fabric choice! You've sewn it so nicely, too!
5/10/12 4:16 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty dress! I love your choice of fabric.
5/25/12 6:14 PM
ShanniLoves said...
I like how you cut along the size 6 line for the top of the front yoke facing to get a lower neckline. I think I'm going to do this on mine. On my muslin I didn't like how high up the neckline was. It felt like it was choking me.
6/8/12 11:24 PM
zoe said...
What a great, detailed review! I think the dress looks really good. I'm picturing it with flat, gold, strappy sandals. It's very cute, and you look lovely in it.
8/24/12 6:36 PM
cleverkitty said...
prostheticsgirl your dress is so cute on you. What a great review you did on this pattern too. I hope you finish up the last details. Dolly is a perfect name for your dress form :)
8/25/12 8:17 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thanks everyone! Cleverkitty, my mom couldn't understand why I call my dressform Dolly, since neither of us have much in regards to bust HAHA
8/26/12 10:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Kwik Sew 2767 nightgown
photo
Review by MaryLynn i... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5283
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 1/2/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1255 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1255 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us