SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1803 (Misses Dress)

32 more reviews
Viewed 1129 times 
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo

 
 
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/12 6:46 PM
Last Updated:8/24/12 11:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sleonard said...
Your comments followed my own conclusions exactly. I am making this pattern right now from some inexpensive cotton floral fabric I nabbed at WalMart (also not knowing then what I would use it for) and decided to line it with a batiste. For my first run at this pattern, I thought I would try to line it as best I can, although I have to really think through the yoke bit. I had concerns too about the tie being the fabric and blending in. I also thought about making it a solid. Perhaps I will do that and post a pic if I am courageous enough. Thanks for your thoughts on this pattern. I am anxious to see your end product!
4/24/12 2:26 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Sleonard, I posted my steps for lining the bodice in the review for you. With the weird geometry it can be tough to visualize, so hope that helps!
4/24/12 8:21 PM
sleonard said...
Thanks! This saves me a lot of time. You explained it very clearly! Looking forward to seeing your dress!
4/26/12 9:52 PM
Dilliander said...
Gosh, this is lovely, worth finishing!
5/9/12 7:20 PM
Huntwoman said...
Gorgeous results.
5/9/12 7:45 PM
Redsmum said...
I think if you threw on some funky/chunky red sandals you would eliminate the "50's housewife" look you fear. It's super cute!
5/9/12 8:11 PM
Claverie said...
it's so cute!
5/9/12 8:31 PM
Jrhee said...
I love the neckline, and your cotton print.
5/9/12 11:11 PM
jlg said...
What a great dress.
5/10/12 5:34 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I hope you'll finish the dress! Very nice.
5/10/12 7:04 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress ..... such a lovely fabric choice! You've sewn it so nicely, too!
5/10/12 4:16 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty dress! I love your choice of fabric.
5/25/12 6:14 PM
ShanniLoves said...
I like how you cut along the size 6 line for the top of the front yoke facing to get a lower neckline. I think I'm going to do this on mine. On my muslin I didn't like how high up the neckline was. It felt like it was choking me.
6/8/12 11:24 PM
zoe said...
What a great, detailed review! I think the dress looks really good. I'm picturing it with flat, gold, strappy sandals. It's very cute, and you look lovely in it.
8/24/12 6:36 PM
cleverkitty said...
prostheticsgirl your dress is so cute on you. What a great review you did on this pattern too. I hope you finish up the last details. Dolly is a perfect name for your dress form :)
8/25/12 8:17 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thanks everyone! Cleverkitty, my mom couldn't understand why I call my dressform Dolly, since neither of us have much in regards to bust HAHA
8/26/12 10:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now