Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Lazy Girl Designs: 107 (Towne Purse) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 3093 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Liana
photo
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/04 11:19 PM
Last Updated:12/13/04 6:10 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $8.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $8.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diana M said...
Nice results! How long did it take you to make it? Oh, and how much time do you think it will take now that you've done it once?
12/5/04 11:30 PM
LisaLS said...
That looks so professional! I love purses and while I have made some, they still seem intimidating. Your's looks like such nice quality.
12/5/04 11:35 PM
Liana said...
Thanks! It will be much faster the second time, as I spent a lot of time figuring out what to cut out and how big, etc. I made pattern pieces for myself, so that will help a lot. I probably spent a couple hours or so embellishing the fabric, then maybe 8 hours on the purse, but I wasn't working steadily, or particularly fast. I would think 2-3 hours if you really went at it.
12/5/04 11:54 PM
noreend said...
Love, love, love it!
12/6/04 6:03 AM
PegL said...
Your purse is beautiful and very professional looking!
12/6/04 6:54 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful purse! It does look very professional. It's a great size and the shape is very nice. Your embellished felt is fantastic.
12/6/04 7:07 AM
2muchfabric said...
Gorgeous purse! Love love love the embellished wool felt with roving...very artistic. How do you like your Babylock embellisher? Would you recommend this machine? Thanks for such a helpful review.
12/6/04 8:05 AM
PhyllisC said...
Lianna - that's a great looking bag - the fabric and embellishment is really perfect. I also love the surprise of the lining - wonderful!
12/6/04 8:46 AM
els said...
Liana, your town purse is very unique, artistic and boutique like. Great colors . I love the lining too, I am so curious to see the 8 pockets can you please add a picture.
12/6/04 8:59 AM
Patti B said...
Liana, your purse looks much better than the pattern! Love the embellishing ... love the whole purse! What is the acrylic base -- a flat piece of heavy plasticky stuff?
12/6/04 9:00 AM
Liana said...
els, The pockets show in the interior photo, but not well, as they're the same fabric as the lining. It's just a flat piece the width of each side, with stitched divisions, but very handy. It would be very easy to do this on any purse, and worth it too. PattiB, Yes the acrylic base is about 1/4" thick and similar to trivets I've had. They have them in sizes to fit their patterns. I think it makes it stand up a little better. blj4500, I LOVE my Embellisher, and I highly recommend it. It's just so much fun. There doesn't seem to be any limit to what you can come up with.
12/6/04 9:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a wonderful job. This looks like it was purchased in a high end accessory shop. Great choice of colors and fabrics.
12/6/04 9:19 AM
PVA said...
Wow, Liana, what a great bag! You are so right -- it is far more attractive than the photo! I know the designer(s) of that line of patterns seem to favor using fat quarters, but they really should see what you have done with that pattern! Please, please don't tell me anymore about the BL Embelisher! (Just kidding!) (;^D)
12/6/04 10:47 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Liana, that bag is spectacular. It looks nice and sturdy and your embellishments are really beautiful. There's no telling what that one of a kind creation would go for in an upscale boutique!!
12/6/04 12:29 PM
FitttingTips said...
What a great purse! Did you make the felt too?
12/7/04 6:58 AM
Liana said...
Thanks everyone! FittingTips, I didn't make the felt, but I did embellish it.
12/7/04 9:08 AM
pharmercoon said...
Liana, You & your embellisher are amazing! Kay
12/7/04 9:33 PM
els said...
Another great looking mauve purse, thanks for the pocket picture.
12/13/04 7:13 PM
flowermama said...
Absolutely beautiful!
12/13/04 8:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117
photo
Review by ladylola on 9/3/05
Read Review

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $15.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Alpine Wonderland Puffy Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5520
photo
Review by atmomma on 12/18/07
Read Review

McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 6755 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us