SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Lazy Girl Designs> 107 (Towne Purse)

10 more reviews
Viewed 3100 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/04 11:19 PM
Last Updated:12/13/04 6:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $8.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diana M said...
Nice results! How long did it take you to make it? Oh, and how much time do you think it will take now that you've done it once?
12/5/04 11:30 PM
LisaLS said...
That looks so professional! I love purses and while I have made some, they still seem intimidating. Your's looks like such nice quality.
12/5/04 11:35 PM
Liana said...
Thanks! It will be much faster the second time, as I spent a lot of time figuring out what to cut out and how big, etc. I made pattern pieces for myself, so that will help a lot. I probably spent a couple hours or so embellishing the fabric, then maybe 8 hours on the purse, but I wasn't working steadily, or particularly fast. I would think 2-3 hours if you really went at it.
12/5/04 11:54 PM
noreend said...
Love, love, love it!
12/6/04 6:03 AM
PegL said...
Your purse is beautiful and very professional looking!
12/6/04 6:54 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful purse! It does look very professional. It's a great size and the shape is very nice. Your embellished felt is fantastic.
12/6/04 7:07 AM
2muchfabric said...
Gorgeous purse! Love love love the embellished wool felt with roving...very artistic. How do you like your Babylock embellisher? Would you recommend this machine? Thanks for such a helpful review.
12/6/04 8:05 AM
PhyllisC said...
Lianna - that's a great looking bag - the fabric and embellishment is really perfect. I also love the surprise of the lining - wonderful!
12/6/04 8:46 AM
els said...
Liana, your town purse is very unique, artistic and boutique like. Great colors . I love the lining too, I am so curious to see the 8 pockets can you please add a picture.
12/6/04 8:59 AM
Patti B said...
Liana, your purse looks much better than the pattern! Love the embellishing ... love the whole purse! What is the acrylic base -- a flat piece of heavy plasticky stuff?
12/6/04 9:00 AM
Liana said...
els, The pockets show in the interior photo, but not well, as they're the same fabric as the lining. It's just a flat piece the width of each side, with stitched divisions, but very handy. It would be very easy to do this on any purse, and worth it too. PattiB, Yes the acrylic base is about 1/4" thick and similar to trivets I've had. They have them in sizes to fit their patterns. I think it makes it stand up a little better. blj4500, I LOVE my Embellisher, and I highly recommend it. It's just so much fun. There doesn't seem to be any limit to what you can come up with.
12/6/04 9:16 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a wonderful job. This looks like it was purchased in a high end accessory shop. Great choice of colors and fabrics.
12/6/04 9:19 AM
PVA said...
Wow, Liana, what a great bag! You are so right -- it is far more attractive than the photo! I know the designer(s) of that line of patterns seem to favor using fat quarters, but they really should see what you have done with that pattern! Please, please don't tell me anymore about the BL Embelisher! (Just kidding!) (;^D)
12/6/04 10:47 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Liana, that bag is spectacular. It looks nice and sturdy and your embellishments are really beautiful. There's no telling what that one of a kind creation would go for in an upscale boutique!!
12/6/04 12:29 PM
FitttingTips said...
What a great purse! Did you make the felt too?
12/7/04 6:58 AM
Liana said...
Thanks everyone! FittingTips, I didn't make the felt, but I did embellish it.
12/7/04 9:08 AM
pharmercoon said...
Liana, You & your embellisher are amazing! Kay
12/7/04 9:33 PM
els said...
Another great looking mauve purse, thanks for the pocket picture.
12/13/04 7:13 PM
flowermama said...
Absolutely beautiful!
12/13/04 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity a2083

photo
by: kathieh9

Review
Marfy 2573

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now