Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3561 (Dresses) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 262 times 3 more reviews
Reviewed by:Skirler
photo
About Skirlerstar
MO
Member since: 6/5/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/12 8:50 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
karen n said...
I like it! I'm looking for a TNT knit dress pattern like this. I have a contender but the back waist poofs a bit. How does yours look in the back waist (fitted or loose or poofy?)
4/23/12 2:29 PM
Skirler said...
Fitted ... but I also had to remover 1.5 inches from center back. It is an easy alteration to make and I just did it on the pattern. Now, I just pin pattern, cut and sew. I'm too short to wear anything even remotely poofy LoL
4/23/12 4:13 PM
Jean McGuire said...
Very Nice! This fits you so well and looks great!
4/23/12 4:42 PM
karen n said...
If you don't mind explaining a little more, how and where did you remove the 1.5" from the center? The back is a single piece so did you add a seam soemwhere?
4/23/12 4:52 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This is really cute. I will have to try this one!
4/23/12 10:07 PM
Skirler said...
Hi Karen - I used the method from Nancy Zeiman's book, Pattern Fitting with Confidence, for a swayback adjustment. There is no seam added and the alteration is actually very simple. Retrace back onto separate sheet of tissue. Slide your pattern piece down the tracing (i.e. center fold or grainline) the amount you need to remove. For me, that is 1.5 inches. Pin tissue to the tracing at the new "length's" seam allowance. Then pivot the pattern's shoulder back up to the tracing's shoulder and retrace neck line and shoulder (from your pattern piece) onto the tracing underneath. Voila - 1.5 inches removed from center back. (It's much harder to explain than do).
4/24/12 7:36 AM
Skirler said...
Thank you all for saying something :) Makes a sewist feel good!
4/24/12 7:37 AM
Frozzy said...
Wow! what a nice dress, never would have considered this by looking at the pattern envelope picture. You made this look super classy!
4/26/12 7:07 PM
karen n said...
Thx for the explanation. I'll have to check out her book.
4/30/12 12:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 2172 misses costume
photo
Review by j Renee De... on 10/31/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5145 Misses Coat
photo
Review by mollymolly on 8/28/11
Read Review

Burda 8351 Pattern
Burda 8351 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6229 Pattern
New Look 6229 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us