SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3561 (Dresses)

3 more reviews
Viewed 271 times 
Reviewed by:Skirler
photo

 
 
About Skirlerstar
MO
Member since: 6/5/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/12 8:50 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
karen n said...
I like it! I'm looking for a TNT knit dress pattern like this. I have a contender but the back waist poofs a bit. How does yours look in the back waist (fitted or loose or poofy?)
4/23/12 2:29 PM
Skirler said...
Fitted ... but I also had to remover 1.5 inches from center back. It is an easy alteration to make and I just did it on the pattern. Now, I just pin pattern, cut and sew. I'm too short to wear anything even remotely poofy LoL
4/23/12 4:13 PM
Jean McGuire said...
Very Nice! This fits you so well and looks great!
4/23/12 4:42 PM
karen n said...
If you don't mind explaining a little more, how and where did you remove the 1.5" from the center? The back is a single piece so did you add a seam soemwhere?
4/23/12 4:52 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This is really cute. I will have to try this one!
4/23/12 10:07 PM
Skirler said...
Hi Karen - I used the method from Nancy Zeiman's book, Pattern Fitting with Confidence, for a swayback adjustment. There is no seam added and the alteration is actually very simple. Retrace back onto separate sheet of tissue. Slide your pattern piece down the tracing (i.e. center fold or grainline) the amount you need to remove. For me, that is 1.5 inches. Pin tissue to the tracing at the new "length's" seam allowance. Then pivot the pattern's shoulder back up to the tracing's shoulder and retrace neck line and shoulder (from your pattern piece) onto the tracing underneath. Voila - 1.5 inches removed from center back. (It's much harder to explain than do).
4/24/12 7:36 AM
Skirler said...
Thank you all for saying something :) Makes a sewist feel good!
4/24/12 7:37 AM
Frozzy said...
Wow! what a nice dress, never would have considered this by looking at the pattern envelope picture. You made this look super classy!
4/26/12 7:07 PM
karen n said...
Thx for the explanation. I'll have to check out her book.
4/30/12 12:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2012-2

photo
by: Janiki

Review
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now