SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2443 (Misses' Dresses)

81 more reviews
Review submitted in Best of Patterns Contest
Viewed 401 times 
Reviewed by:UglyCute
photo

 
 
About UglyCutestar
CA USA
Member since: 12/29/08
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:4/30/12 11:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
barebear said...
Despite the problems you had with the pattern and instructions, your dress turned out really great. That colour choice looks really good on you too. :)
5/20/12 2:57 AM
petro said...
Those facings on the neck/armscye look very professional. Its made a terrific dress in spite of the construction battle.
5/16/12 12:45 PM
StudioCherie said...
Love your dress. Great work
5/15/12 11:27 AM
JenniferMM said...
This dress looks fantastic! At least you have a great dress for all that suffering.
5/1/12 12:12 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
I hear you. I made this last year and it was a total pain to make. I had trim and notch the facings so much that it is all ready coming apart. Your version looks very nice and am tempted to make another. Maybe if I am really really bored.
4/30/12 8:35 PM
jlg said...
Great modifications. This is wonderful on you.
4/30/12 4:47 PM
nicegirl said...
Your neck and armscye bindings look great--not an easy thing to do! The dress is cute, though I think I will stay away from the pattern.
4/30/12 3:44 PM
waltzqueen said...
The dress is gorgeous so I think it was worth the effort and fuss. Totally looks like a high-end store bought dress amd it looks fantastic on you!
4/30/12 1:55 PM
S I G R I D said...
Well, the end result is very nice looking even if the construction was a pain. and I love the jacket you made from this pattern.
4/30/12 12:24 PM
HeyDollface said...
A very helpful review. I got this pattern on sale for a buck and compulsively bought it despite it not really being my style. It sort of looked like a pain to work with but with this knowledge i think i'll skip it to try other patterns that won't drive me up the wall. Your variation is lovely, though, if i do try it i will take your advice and opt for a knit fabric and no zipper.
4/30/12 12:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 2821

photo
by: LoriB

Review
Butterick 4966

photo
by: Aurelie

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now