Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: MIX 30 (Merckwaedign) - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 268 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 221
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/12 10:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valkyrie01 said...
Awesome bra! Really pretty; I love the contrast of the front panels with the rest of the white fabric. I will keep this pattern in mind when I get into using stretchy fabric (right now I am falling in love again with silk dupioni, for bras this time around). I never quite thought about metal underwire that way LOL! That was "a first" in a review for this web site! I am just getting into bra making as well and love it! Enjoy; I find bra making is addictive! I made one and now 7 more are on the way LOL...!
4/28/12 0:18 AM
jannw said...
Very pretty!! I had to go back and study the areas that you felt were a problem(bridge joining and elastic) Very difficult to tell, looks planned and part of the design. Interesting about the metal underwires..might it accidently got maganatized, like sewing pins and scissors? Nice matched set with previous panties. You did a super job on this Congrats!
4/28/12 5:19 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful! The combination of lace and lycra is very nice. Glad my posts on construction were helpful. For me too, the idea of the wire interfering with a compass is new. Never would have thought of that.
4/28/12 12:44 PM
Sigrid. said...
Double click, double comment. Sorry
4/28/12 12:44 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Fantastic job and beautiful bra! I never realised that underwires could become magnetised - I wonder how the plastic ones will last. I totally hear you on not commonly available bra sizes, I have to visit a specialist store and it is such a pain. Sounds like you have found a great solution!
4/28/12 6:56 PM
JanyceR said...
Beautiful bra, and good information. I am getting ready to make my first bra since the 80's. I believe I will try this pattern. Thanks1
4/28/12 10:51 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Beautiful! Well done - you'll be making many more of these.
4/29/12 1:25 AM
pdiddly said...
fantastic job
4/29/12 3:02 AM
Margaret said...
Very pretty! It's nice that the fit turned out OK even on the first one. Good luck with the next versions!
4/29/12 5:51 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh my! The underwire and compass thing should go straight into snopes :-). If that were the case, think what would happen to the poor souls with metal stiffening in their boots, with metal water bottles, and even worse carrying an ice axe!!! I'm very directionally challenged and have been lost many times, but never from carrying metal objects, much less very lightweight ones. That said, I don't think you're meant to apply elastic following scallops, ever. You're using clear polyurethane elastic there, no? My rtw with scallops always cuts straight across with the elastic. And yes you should always listen to sigrid and reinforce what she tells you to :-). But that said, it looks very pretty, and isn't it a pleasure to get something that fits you perfectly even when you're 'between sizes', as most of us are?
4/29/12 1:09 PM
khurtdvm said...
Looks really pretty! And I'm laughing at the thought of being "navigationally embarrassed" because of your bra....
7/29/12 10:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 5867
photo
Review by AnneM on 7/27/04
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 9430 Misses Tops
photo
Review by Mushywear on 11/5/10
Read Review

Jalie 2916 Pattern
Jalie 2916 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2561 Pattern
Jalie 2561 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us