Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1256 (Misses' Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 798 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Fictionfan
photo
Friend of PR
About Fictionfanstar
VT USA
Member since: 5/19/06
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/12 3:37 AM
Last Updated:6/5/12 7:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
halleyscomet said...
Gorgeous dress! Great review!
5/31/12 7:04 AM
MNBarb said...
This is probably the most detailed review ever! I love the comment about your husband, just like a guy to only notice what is underneath the clothing. The silk knit is the perfect choice for this dress and looks very nice on you. You're wrong, I think you could be a model. You will wow your classmates at the reunion!
5/31/12 7:20 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
What a great review!! LOVE your bead/button work ;D
5/31/12 10:27 AM
ghostly said...
You looking stunning in your gorgeous dress! You're right when you say the extra work was worthwhile as your dress is definitely extra special. The appliqué is different and truly wonderful. Bravo! on a job well done. You will Wow! them at your reunion.
5/31/12 10:28 AM
VogueMistress said...
How lovely! I especially like the "Jewelry".
5/31/12 10:37 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous dress, you look so lovely. And what a terrific helpful informative review ! Enjoy your beautiful dress!
5/31/12 4:15 PM
wendyrb said...
Isn't it great that you created such a perfect dress for yourself despite some initial misgivings! It is really flattering. All the extra thought and attention to details makes the dress look very high end. Thank you for putting that same attention into your review. I learned a lot and it was very reassuring about my own process for a similar mock-wrap dress. To fit my full busted figure, I came up against a number of the same concerns. The way you fashioned the waist bling is utterly inspiring. Have fun at the reunion and be prepared for lots of flirting.
6/1/12 1:05 AM
cleverkitty said...
you look fabulous in this dress very sexy and the fit makes anyone want to look like you. Beautiful print and color. Your going to turn heads more then just your husbands at the reunion.
6/1/12 8:26 AM
petro said...
Lovely dress, its good to see a diferrent take on the wrap over.
6/3/12 3:00 AM
SquishSews said...
What a lovely dress, Fictionfan! And it's awesome that hubby recognizes how good you look in it... :-)
6/5/12 0:24 AM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. Your husband's comment is pricelesss, and I love the fabric. You are brave indeed to tackle a silk jersey; I would expect it to be very hard to handle.
6/5/12 3:23 AM
Fictionfan said...
Thanks so much for the comments everyone! It just dawned on me now that since I eliminated the zipper, I should have cut the back pieces on the fold! (smacks forehead) Next time...
6/5/12 7:46 PM
Fictionfan said...
oops. I meant to publish this edit as a minor update, not push this to the top. I forgot to check the little box. :(
6/5/12 7:54 PM
MissLadyAudrey said...
Very detailed review and very lovely dress!
6/5/12 8:41 PM
SusiM said...
Super WOW! Beautiful dress in fit and fashion and the BEST review I have ever read. Thank you so very much for all the useful detail you have shared here.
6/5/12 10:16 PM
sewmaris said...
REALLY pretty on you, and love the awesome details in your review. Thanks for all the time you put into - you inspired me! Sew Maris
6/6/12 11:43 AM
Nancy K said...
It's lovely on you. I will tell you that my dd has a Diane Von Furstenberg silk jersey wrap dress and this is how it is finished. However, the hem is folded under and then they used a blind hem machine to sew the hem. The nearest equivalent for home sewers is a hand hem and yours is gorgeous. I have the same complaints about Vogue's knit instructions. Great review and it looks just as good on your older, curvy figure as on the size 2 model. I will put this on my wish list. Your husbands comment is priceless!
6/9/12 10:25 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Such a gorgeous dress! Thank you for the detailed review of the dress. You look great in it!
6/18/12 10:04 AM
Marge99 said...
Lovely!
9/14/12 9:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 8155 Skirt
photo
Review by talesofawa... on 4/23/11
Read Review

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1060 MISSES' COAT
photo
Review by Barbara V on 5/8/13
Read Review

Burda 7798 Pattern
Burda 7798 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3575 Pattern ( Size XS-L-XS-XL 2 )
Simplicity 3575 Pattern ( Size XS-L-XS-XL      2 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us