Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5679 (Misses' Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 442 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/12 2:23 PM
Last Updated:5/1/12 4:52 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kemish said...
I saw this on your blog (yes, I am a lurker) and just love it. What a great top! You are right - What's not to love about a great knit top. This is definitely a TNT pattern.
5/1/12 3:59 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh Snap! Let's see pics of the hem finish too please! Oh HOW did you turn the corner on your serger??!! Tell tell!!
5/1/12 4:15 PM
sfshaza said...
Very carefully, SavageCoco! I started the serging at the inside corner and going towards the horizontal hem. I went all the way around and ended at the point. I then started again at the bottom of the point and ended back at the inside corner. It was a little tricky, but not too bad. I'll try to get better pics.
5/1/12 4:19 PM
DorothyK said...
I love this top - and the fabric is fabulous. I'm glad I got to see it in person - it's even better than the picture. Great job with your alterations.
5/1/12 4:33 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, Dorothy! :) SavageCoco, I added more pictures and explanation of the hem to this review and to the blog.
5/1/12 4:53 PM
Dilliander said...
Gosh, you really have a talent for taking a good pattern and making it great! This looks fantastic, stylish with interesting details and the fit is perfect!
5/1/12 7:37 PM
Barbara V said...
I'm impressed with your serger acrobatics! Super job throughout on this great looking top on you and really nice choice of fabric for the style.
5/1/12 7:44 PM
Karendee said...
Shams, just noticed the lettering in the fabric of your top. What wonderful fabric. I couldn't see that while reading your blog. Another great top for you.
5/1/12 8:27 PM
SavageCoco said...
Shaza - thanks so much for the serger pics!
5/1/12 9:03 PM
Annette1 said...
SO cute, but then WHAT ELSE IS NEW? I know you'll be SHOCKED to know that I have this pattern, too. :o) I'd better start bookmarking your reviews, so I can follow in your footsteps -- ha! Oh, by the way, I LOVE Walk Off the Earth and had never heard of them until I saw the links on your blog. They're right up my alley, and NOW I want a ukelele -- ha! (Probably spelled that wrong.) Seems like I was going to tell you something else, but I can't remember what. Oh, I know: Mood is having a sale on lots of brightly-colored fabrics. Got the email today. :o) LORD KNOWS I need more fabric. I can almost walk a path through my sewing room with no obstructions.
5/1/12 11:12 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice. Sometimes you just have to ignore the instructions and sew what you know normally works for you.
5/2/12 7:01 AM
FreyaStark said...
A really cute top. The fit is perfect, too.
5/2/12 7:36 AM
Jrhee said...
Cute shirt! I'm a big fan of your hems.
5/2/12 9:53 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great shirt and great detailed review as always. Thanks for the link on neckline binding. Very helpful.
5/5/12 1:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2010-108 Slim trousers
photo
Review by inkstain on 6/29/13
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)
Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3120
photo
Review by sewsue on 8/9/04
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6178 Pattern
New Look 6178 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us