SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5679 (Misses' Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 452 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/12 2:23 PM
Last Updated:5/1/12 4:52 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kemish said...
I saw this on your blog (yes, I am a lurker) and just love it. What a great top! You are right - What's not to love about a great knit top. This is definitely a TNT pattern.
5/1/12 3:59 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh Snap! Let's see pics of the hem finish too please! Oh HOW did you turn the corner on your serger??!! Tell tell!!
5/1/12 4:15 PM
sfshaza said...
Very carefully, SavageCoco! I started the serging at the inside corner and going towards the horizontal hem. I went all the way around and ended at the point. I then started again at the bottom of the point and ended back at the inside corner. It was a little tricky, but not too bad. I'll try to get better pics.
5/1/12 4:19 PM
DorothyK said...
I love this top - and the fabric is fabulous. I'm glad I got to see it in person - it's even better than the picture. Great job with your alterations.
5/1/12 4:33 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, Dorothy! :) SavageCoco, I added more pictures and explanation of the hem to this review and to the blog.
5/1/12 4:53 PM
Dilliander said...
Gosh, you really have a talent for taking a good pattern and making it great! This looks fantastic, stylish with interesting details and the fit is perfect!
5/1/12 7:37 PM
Barbara V said...
I'm impressed with your serger acrobatics! Super job throughout on this great looking top on you and really nice choice of fabric for the style.
5/1/12 7:44 PM
Karendee said...
Shams, just noticed the lettering in the fabric of your top. What wonderful fabric. I couldn't see that while reading your blog. Another great top for you.
5/1/12 8:27 PM
SavageCoco said...
Shaza - thanks so much for the serger pics!
5/1/12 9:03 PM
Annette1 said...
SO cute, but then WHAT ELSE IS NEW? I know you'll be SHOCKED to know that I have this pattern, too. :o) I'd better start bookmarking your reviews, so I can follow in your footsteps -- ha! Oh, by the way, I LOVE Walk Off the Earth and had never heard of them until I saw the links on your blog. They're right up my alley, and NOW I want a ukelele -- ha! (Probably spelled that wrong.) Seems like I was going to tell you something else, but I can't remember what. Oh, I know: Mood is having a sale on lots of brightly-colored fabrics. Got the email today. :o) LORD KNOWS I need more fabric. I can almost walk a path through my sewing room with no obstructions.
5/1/12 11:12 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice. Sometimes you just have to ignore the instructions and sew what you know normally works for you.
5/2/12 7:01 AM
FreyaStark said...
A really cute top. The fit is perfect, too.
5/2/12 7:36 AM
Jrhee said...
Cute shirt! I'm a big fan of your hems.
5/2/12 9:53 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great shirt and great detailed review as always. Thanks for the link on neckline binding. Very helpful.
5/5/12 1:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-130

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review