Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: SMM-165 (Christmas Tree Skirt) - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 1498 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/04 12:55 PM
Last Updated:12/9/04 1:00 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PhyllisC said...
What a lovely heirloom! Leslie, I hear you on the materials $$ - the tree skirt I made had an old bedsheet for a backing, and it was made from fabulous super marked-down Home Dec fabric that cost almost nothing....but the TRIM - well the perfect trim was fancy ball fringe at $15 a yard..and I needed 7 yards ;0)...but that was 8 years ago, we still use it, and my kids cherish it. *Happy Holidays!*
12/9/04 1:18 PM
pharmercoon said...
You are the coolest friend! I hope everyone in your life realizes that! Love the tree skirt! Happy Holidays! Kay
12/9/04 2:34 PM
sewfan said...
Leslie, the tree skirt is absolutely gorgeous!! I can't believe your friend didn't put up a tree just so she could use it!
12/9/04 2:45 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I have made many of these SMM skirts but none as beautiful as yours!
12/9/04 3:18 PM
Diana M said...
I agree that it's a lovely tree skirt -- what stunned me is that little comment, "2 yrs ago, the first year I had my machine . . ." You truly are an inspiration, Leslie! Thank you.
12/9/04 6:07 PM
pandoula said...
Adorable! I sure hope that tree is up!
12/9/04 6:17 PM
AnneM said...
That is lovely. And with that investment, you had to make it come out nicely! Thanks for the link to the instructions. I'm always surprised at how expensive tree skirts are to buy "RTW".
12/9/04 7:37 PM
CarolynGM said...
Extremely ambitious first project! And velvet stockings for the pets too! What a lucky friend you have.
12/10/04 5:27 AM
Skymom said...
This is wonderful. I need a tree skirt but have been totally uninspired to make one...until today. I doubt I can it for this year, but maybe for next...and maybe I'll make presents for my sisters, too. What a great way to feature gorgeous fabric. Thanks for the review.
12/10/04 8:29 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Leslie, what a breathtaking creation! What a good friend you are. Did she put up the tree?
12/10/04 11:18 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
I'm happy to report that my friend had a Christmas tree this year, adorned by a lovely purple velvet tree skirt. They had even hung the matching stockings. Alas, in their new home the tree is in a different room from the loveseat that inspired me. Also, their huge home requires an enormous tree that makes the skirt look dinky. Still, it's as beautiful as I remembered!
12/30/04 12:51 PM
ceedee said...
Very pretty and creative - love the colors, too! Thanks for the inspiration.
12/4/06 2:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4225
photo
Review by Vineta77 on 2/10/10
Read Review

Fanny Pack or Purse
Fanny Pack or Purse

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light White
PerfectFuse Light White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4889
photo
Review by tanny76 on 1/6/10
Read Review

Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us