SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4596 (Misses lined jacket)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1683 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:04 AM
Last Updated:12/9/04 12:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jodi B. said...
Thanks for reviewing this, MickeyFan. I'm about to try this pattern (read, I'll get to it within a few months) on some pleather that I bought. I'm glad to hear that you were happy with the finished product. It looks really great!
12/9/04 1:06 PM
Levone said...
Great looking jacket despite the difficulties you had. Thanks for the heads up.
12/9/04 1:12 PM
Diana M said...
I just added this to my Wish List -- with a note to re-read the review first. Thank you so much for a great review of a great looking pattern
12/9/04 1:14 PM
LisaLS said...
It looks like it turned out great! I have this pattern too, was going to make it up out of a taffeta-feeling fabric with velvet designs on it.
12/9/04 1:32 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thanks for such an extremely informative review. This pattern was on my priority list to make up, but I was going to try leather or suede. I'll try a stretch fabric first with some matching stretch pants. I wouldn't have known about clipping the princess seams ... thanks for including that.
12/9/04 1:50 PM
Melissa S. said...
I'm very happy to read this review. I have had this pattern in my "to do" pile for several weeks, but I haven't found the right color of zipper for my project yet. After reading your review I'm wondering if maybe the zipper color won't matter. Too bad this pattern was such a pain. The finished jacket looks great!
12/9/04 1:51 PM
MickeyFan said...
Melissa, there is leeway in the zipper color because it does not show as much as it might. However, the tab will show and the teeth will show when unzipped. I have had very good luck finding color matches with zippers at zipperstop.com.
12/9/04 2:22 PM
kismet007 said...
Oh how pretty! I am waiting for some buttons to finish a Mccalls jacket I have finished which was also a pain (but well worth the effort). Here's a tip for your sleeves which has worked for me without fail. cut a strip of lightweight muslim on the bias about 12 inches long and a little over 1 inch wide. Start at the first notch and stretch and pin and stretch and pin until you come to the second notch. Baste the muslim strip in place while stretching gently as you sew. Steam the seam over a ham with your iron to shrink out the ease as much as possible (it won't take much) Now check the fit in your bodice and pin in place using plenty of pins and baste with your machine, stitch while straightening and pulling with your fingers. Check the fit and stich in place. I ususally get it right the first time unless there is a huge descrepancy. leave the muslim strip in place for stability. You can do this with most patterns and most fabrics. You can trim back the bias if it interferes with your sleeve but I've never had to do it. Hope that helped!!!
12/9/04 6:05 PM
kismet007 said...

12/9/04 6:12 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice looking jacket. I always like to have details like the stay-stitching mentioned, since I'm not experienced enough NOT to forget to do it!
12/9/04 7:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the jacket pattern and your jacket. I have not made jacket with seperating zipper in a long time. There is a way to insert the zipper to lining and jacket with machine sewing. Only I can't remember how I did it. I want to follow up on this as I hate hand sewing linings to zippers.
12/11/04 1:31 PM
valerie sews said...
I don't know how I missed this review. I bought this pattern today because it will be perfect for some black wool that I have. Your jacket looks really good. RE sleeve caps I find the big four always have sleeve caps that go too high, so apart from lining the sleeve cap with a strip of interfacing I always fold out a crosswise 1/4" fold high in the sleeve cap before I cut out as a matter of routine. Also the stiffer the fabric the harder it will be to get a smooth sleeve cap if its cut too high. KS are the only ones that seem to get it right! Anyway thanks for the review.
1/9/05 4:08 AM
Hilary said...
Very nice! I missed this review before, I am glad I saw it now. I really have to get mine out and make it up! Thank for the tips, and agian, yours looks great-even if it *was* difficult.
3/8/05 5:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now