SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5710 (Misses' Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 928 times 
Reviewed by:Julia Bobbin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Julia Bobbinstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/20/10
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/12 7:22 PM
Last Updated:5/5/12 7:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kes said...
Beautiful job!!! It came out so nice! I love your idea of the elastic loop and buttons down the back. It adds a really nice detail! You should be so proud of this! I'm not sure I would have tried something like this for someone else! You're very brave!
5/5/12 8:53 PM
RLL said...
Well it is just down right beautiful! What a spectacular job you did.
5/5/12 9:01 PM
Batik said...
Amazing! Really looks wonderful on your lovely sister. Best copy ever!
5/5/12 9:37 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Love this dress. I guess I didn't know the pattern had a knee-length version. I may consider this for myself!
5/5/12 9:52 PM
sewnotwork said...
Great! Where did you purchase the elastic looping? And is that what you would search online to order? "elastic looping"? Thanks
5/5/12 10:45 PM
slmstyle said...
Simply gorgeous! You could sell it for sure. Your sister makes a beautiful bridal model as well. Your sewing skills and fashion sense are quite admirable ;)
5/5/12 11:00 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow! I am so impressed! Lovely work, lovely sister. Thanks so much for the review.
5/5/12 11:04 PM
Erin D said...
This is stunning! You did an amazing job, and your sister must have been thrilled.
5/5/12 11:04 PM
swany said...
Beautiful!
5/5/12 11:18 PM
cocosloft said...
Gorgeous, such nice work on your part.
5/6/12 0:34 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Stunning dress and sister.
5/6/12 0:35 AM
JOshiro said...
This is just amazing. Your sister looks beautiful!
5/6/12 0:57 AM
Julia Bobbin said...
Ladies thank you for your very generous comments! @Sewnotwork - if you google 'elastic button looping' you'll find it everywhere. It's usually in the trim section of stores, usually near where the stock their bra trims. Here's a store online that I saw that sells it http://www.bennosbuttons.com/LP-001-Braided-Elastic-Button-Looping-p/lp-001-elastic%20button%20looping.htm
5/6/12 1:17 AM
SewWil said...
Absolutely gorgeous!!! You did an amazing job with this. Your sister looks stunning in this dres.
5/6/12 2:08 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous dress and a very fine effort on your part. Couldn't you keep the dress until your sister needs it for a special occasion - like being a bridesmaid?
5/6/12 3:35 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Fabulous dress! The extra attention to detail really paid off here!
5/6/12 4:06 AM
tess said...
Absolutely beautiful, this dress really shows off your skills and your sister looks stunning in it!
5/6/12 7:53 AM
Sunkissedjellybaby said...
So elegant and the cowl neck sits beautifully
5/6/12 8:00 AM
moushka said...
Beautiful dress and beautiful model. Do let your sister keep it until she needs a special occasion dress. It looks spectacular on her and you did a fantastic job.
5/6/12 11:34 AM
1SewSweet said...
You will definitely be able to sell this if you wanted to! It's absolutely beautiful!
5/6/12 2:42 PM
ak21 said...
wow, the dress is simply beautiful & your sister modeling it for you, she looks stunning. i bought this pattern recently just because its THE pippa dress but Im looking forward to making this one day in black :-)
5/6/12 3:11 PM
mmcp said...
Don't market it as a bridesmaid's dress, sell it as a wedding gown. Absolutely gorgeous.
5/6/12 4:01 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Do you have more stunning siblings stashed secretly to impress us further in the future?
5/6/12 9:28 PM
AuntieShel said...
Don't know what I can add about this STUNNING dress!! I agree it looks like a bridal dress, not a bride's maid dress. And you sister is every bit as lovely and adorable as you are!!
5/7/12 3:25 PM
divabuddha said...
This dress is amazing. I bought the pattern recently, but wasn't sure I'd ever even pull it out of the envelope, but I am newly inspired! Thanks for the review!
5/27/12 12:59 PM
AmyLT said...
You did a beautiful job. The lace trim and fabric are gorgeous. It would make a wonderful wedding dress!
11/16/12 11:32 PM
Jessica Dean said...
Great dress. LOVE, love, love the buttons. Beautiful job!! :)
5/24/13 11:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: Sue Anfang

Review
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now