SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6816 (Misses Easy Two-Hour Skirt, Pants and Knit Tops)

37 more reviews
Viewed 578 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/12 8:00 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
Annette, as usual you have completed two beautiful garments. I actually covet that Norma K. Fabric on the last top and find that top quite elegant. Everything you make is so well thought out and executed. And I always enjoy a good laugh from your detailed reviews along with learning many good techniques. You and Sharon have this full bust allowance thing all worked out for the rest of us.
5/6/12 8:21 PM
barebear said...
What a great top! I really love the fabric you chose, it's so fun. Thanks for the detailed but easy to read review. :)
5/6/12 8:32 PM
jlg said...
Very cool.
5/6/12 9:16 PM
YarnJourney said...
Beautiful! I love how you used the fabric. The way the design flows around your body. Thanks for the detail on the FBA too.
5/6/12 9:40 PM
sewsally said...
I love love love that fabric.
5/6/12 10:11 PM
cleverkitty said...
wow this is so sharp I love the fabric you look great in this fun style, goes with your upbeat personality. Fabulous review!
5/6/12 10:34 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for the details on construction. Love your reviews, of course, because they are entertaining but also because I always learn something. From the link you provided on Kamali: "This knit is drapey, soft. You feel like making some dress, gown, tunic. The fabric looks forward to being worked on." hehheh--yeah the fabric probably looks forward to being worked on by someone like you; it probably ought to run from the likes of me! Nice colors!
5/6/12 10:35 PM
SewWil said...
I love both tops. The black/blue fabric is amazing. What a perfect pattern to showcase the fabric. Thanks for the detailed review.
5/6/12 10:51 PM
Christas said...
Not only do you make fantastic clothes, you take the time to tell us HOW you did it in such a way that we all learn so much. I love BOTH tops. They are each so different that you would never know they are the same pattern. Your fabric choices are terrific. I especially love the blue one. I love EveS' vertical fabric placement in her dress, but your placement for your top looks just PERFECT! Thanks for another informative and entertaining review! :-)
5/6/12 10:53 PM
sfshaza said...
WOW!!! I'm so glad I was trolling the gallery tonight. This top is spectacular! That print is so fun and you've used it perfectly! I'm glad you found a way to make the FBA works and I hope, as you wear it, that it does NOT ride up! You are definitely a card carrying member of the UBER BUSTY club. :D
5/6/12 11:14 PM
Barbara V said...
That is one amazingly beautiful piece of Elliot Berman fabric that you sewed into a fabulous top! As always, a fun and informative review! And....your first top is a winner as well.
5/7/12 0:23 AM
ArtAttack said...
Great top! What fabulous fabric!
5/7/12 1:32 AM
Margaret said...
Both versions look great on you! I really like how you used the Norma K. print, and changed the necklines. That's an interesting way of doing an FBA on a dolman-sleeved top, too. Thanks for posting it!
5/7/12 4:40 AM
KathySews said...
Annette, great tops. Thanks so much for the detailed review and fba info.
5/7/12 7:37 AM
MNBarb said...
You made a top from polyester during your hot flash phase? Well, it must be because it's so beautiful you couldn't resist. Both tops look great on you and I think you should make the pants. Love your reviews.
5/7/12 7:54 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Love love love the fabric!
5/7/12 8:44 AM
Catbird said...
WOW, WOW, WOW. This might just be my favorite of all the things you've made, but then that's a long list full of wonderful things. This looks AMAZING on you and I love the way you've put that spectacular fabric to use. Love the neckline. As always, I'm amazed at the changes you make to a pattern to make it all your own, and how perfectly they work. Thank you for a brilliant, funny review and an inspiring top!
5/7/12 8:54 AM
Catbird said...
HEY, what happened to my picture?? It has suddenly changed to a cartoon! I'll go in to my profile and see what's up. Ugh.
5/7/12 8:55 AM
Catbird said...
All fixed. :-)
5/7/12 9:03 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
What interesting fabric! Makes the top look more intricate than an "Easy 2 hour" pattern. Great job! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the FBA to this style as well.
5/7/12 9:15 PM
JPForster said...
Wow - your top is beautiful! We're about the same size and I would also need a FBA. When I see how great this looks on you now ... I want one! Added this pattern to my wish list. Thanks also for the great tips!
5/7/12 11:34 PM
Cuffs said...
Love both of those tops, they're very flattering, which is not often the case with dartless tops on full-busted women. Thanks so much for the tips on your alterations. I don't usually know how to handle FBA's without darts, gathers, or princess seams. You've helped me a lot.
5/7/12 11:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
I like the looks you achieved from your two FAB looking tops, Annette! My favorite is your second top, with the contrasting colors highlighting your eye-catching beauty. I enjoyed your very helpful and entertaining review.
5/8/12 1:24 AM
Terri A said...
Love the fabric - how cool is that top???
5/28/12 4:41 PM
marec said...
This is super! How did I miss the review in May?
6/3/12 9:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick 5484

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now