Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8259 (Claire Shaeffer Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 681 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/12 10:51 PM
Last Updated:2/10/14 10:40 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8259 by becca a

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by becca a

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Tweed  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Update 2/10/2014: I made this jacket yet again using a white Vera Wang fabric that I picked up a few years ago from Fabric.com. I used the instructions from Thewallina and Leisa's French jacket sew along last fall, as well as info from Claire Shaeffer's book, The Couture Cardigan Jacket. This was the first time that I trimmed one of my jackets and the first time that I sewed the sleeves in by hand rather than by machine. I love sewing these jackets, although I am always surprised at how long it takes me.
Jacket Front
Jacket Side
Jacket back
Hem, quilting and chain
Trim and hand sewn button hole

Pattern Description: Claire Shaeffer's Custom Couture Collection--Chanel style pattern now out of print. From the pattern envelope: "This is a semi-fitted, partially interfaced jacket, below waist has princess seams (no side seams), stand collar, patch pockets, long three piece sleeves with buttoned vents an purchased trim. A: Couture construction techniques, quilting details, contrast front and sleeve facins, collar lining."

Front, buttoned
Side, buttoned
back, buttoned
Back, open
Front, open
Side, open


Pattern Sizing: A (6-8-10)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, only less boxy and not yet trimmed.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions are very detailed. This pattern is worth having just for the 8 pages of Claire's detailed instructions. There are many steps to follow, but they are well explained and illustrated. No single step is all that difficult. That said, I mostly followed Angela Wolf's instructions from her quilted jacket class.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the details of Chanel couture style construction. I have been wanting to make a Chanel jacket since I returned to sewing in 2009. I finally got up the courage to make one (or two, actually) when I took Angela Wolf's quilted jacket class. This was a wonderful class and very helpful!

The collar is cut as a straight piece and then shaped using steam. I was uncertain about this step, but Claire's explanation was fantastic. I sewed three rows of machine basting then pulled the threads to curve the upper edge of the collar into the required shape and steamed. The steam worked like magic to shape the collar with no bunching or rippling! I did the same thing to fit the sleeves. Wool is so responsive to shaping--it is such a pleasure to work with!

In this pattern, each body piece is quilted to the lining piece before the whole is sewn together, the seam allowances are tacked down to the body, and then the silk lining is hand stitched together over the body seams.

The three piece sleeves allow the cuffs to sit at the top of the wrist where the buttons (and trim) are most visible.

Fabric Used: I used a Chanel wool tweed purchased from Gorgeous Fabrics. It is one of those fabrics that I just love to pet.

The lining is a burgundy silk charmeuse from Delectable Mountain Fabrics.

The buttons are also from Delectable Mountain Fabrics. I interfaced the collar, button holes and fabric behind the buttons with Fashion Sewing Supply's Pro-Weft medium weight fusible interfacing.

This is the first time I've worked with a plaid, and I found it quite challenging to match up. I cut everything in a single layer and worked hard to cut it so that it would match up. I also cut 1" seam allowances so that I would have more wiggle room for matching anything I hadn't cut quite right. My seam ripper and I spent a lot of quality time trying to match everything just so.

The chain is from M&J Trim.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I worked with Angela Wolf extensively on making this a fitted jacket rather than a boxy jacket. I reshaped the center back seam extensively, and all the other seams as well to scoop out the waist. I also did an FBA which was fairly easy to do with the shoulder princess seams. I shortened the sleeves, which is standard for me, and I narrowed the shoulders which is also standard for me.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? This jacket and the first one I sewed in Fabric.com's silk tweed with silk twill lining from fabricmartfabrics.com and glass buttons from Delectable Mountain Fabrics, each took me over 6 weeks to sew. I would keep thinking I was near the end and then realize that there were still a whole lot more steps left. I discovered that I love hand sewing--it is quiet and zen like and allows fantastic control over the results. I highly recommend this pattern if you have it in stash. I will probably sew this again, and again, and again....

Blue silk version
Blue silk version buttoned

Conclusion: This is a fabulous pattern for a classic piece. It is definitely a time consuming project, but is very rewarding to sew. In this Discussion comparing the new Vogue 8804 to this pattern, I listed some of the similarities and differences between this pattern and 8804. If you don't have 8259, 8804 looks like a great alternative.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sarsez said...
WOW! I love your jackets and the steam shaped collar is something else! I have a Chanel jacket on the bucket list. I'll be referring to review before I start.
5/7/12 0:26 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Wow, beautiful jackets! Six weeks of sewing = a treasured heirloom garment.
5/7/12 6:37 AM
marthamyers said...
Beautiful jackets. I just finished a Coco-style jacket (one of CS's other Vogue versions) - my first in this style. I made mine out of silk and wished I had used wool. Did you find a lot of difference in them?
5/7/12 10:28 PM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! Martha, I found the wool much more malleable than the raw silk. It really allows shaping with steam.
5/8/12 7:17 AM
kws said...
Thank you for a great review. The jackets both look good on you.
5/8/12 10:45 AM
Athene said...
Your jackets are so beautiful. Thank you for the review.
6/16/12 4:52 AM
Aussiegal76 said...
Really beautiful result... Well done!
7/13/12 6:43 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is amazing!
2/10/14 10:57 AM
ArtAttack said...
Gorgeous version of this jacket! Beautiful work, timeless wardrobe staple.
2/10/14 3:43 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous jacket and your work is so impeccable.
2/10/14 7:06 PM
marjieco said...
I love jackets and jacket making. It will be some time before i am as good at it as you are. Nice job!
2/10/14 8:12 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Stunning in every detail. Something to aspire to. Did you find the M& J chain to be weighty enough?
2/11/14 0:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 2132
photo
Review by Sister of ... on 12/5/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2648
photo
Review by aburlock on 3/11/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us