Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5391 (Misses Shorts)

29 more reviews
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:BeckyW
photo

 
 
About BeckyWstar
AL USA
Member since: 5/23/04
Reviews: 37 (patterns: 31)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/12 1:08 PM
Last Updated:6/27/12 2:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Legal.Dealer said... (6/27/12 10:41 PM) Reply
Super cute shorts love your prints
khurtdvm said... (6/27/12 10:03 PM) Reply
Your final shorts version looks great!
Merche said... (6/27/12 7:23 PM) Reply
Great fitting! I specially love the print and the colours. Thank you for the thorough review
MNBarb said... (6/27/12 2:51 PM) Reply
You have achieved perfection in the fitting department. Celebrate!
KensingtonCrab said... (6/27/12 2:27 PM) Reply
SOOOOO cute and beautifully made! Thanks for the great review! I would love to make this a TNT for my daughter.
MissCelie said... (6/6/12 10:45 AM) Reply
Oh, that's too bad you had some fit problems. They look AWESOME. Shorts are my life's goal :)
Vintage Joan said... (6/4/12 8:13 PM) Reply
Excellent, thorough review -- and fab shorts! :)
margk said... (6/4/12 5:55 PM) Reply
I love this fabric for shorts! Yours look great front and back. Hope you can fix the gap.
cleverkitty said... (6/4/12 5:37 PM) Reply
Good for you not giving up, you will end up with perfect shorts sometimes it takes many attempts. Very Good review!
Claverie said... (6/4/12 5:19 PM) Reply
These look great. I love the pattern, too. I think it's been a common complaint about the depth of the crotch. My problem was that the short shorts were a tad too short and the pockets showed past hem when I sat down. Your shorts look very trendy in a vintage sort of way ;)
Red Curtain said... (6/4/12 4:50 PM) Reply
First I adore the fabric you chose. Thank you for showing how you attempted to alter them and explaining the fitting issues.
RadarRadiance said... (6/4/12 4:34 PM) Reply
I love the front of these on you, perfect fit. For the back waistband "Threads" as a great technique that I think would work perfect on just the back of the shorts waistband: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/4244/everyone-can-have-jeans-that-fit I really think the fabric is cute too!
rebelina said... (5/8/12 2:50 PM) Reply
Those are really cute! I also love this pattern, so handy for summer.
KensingtonCrab said... (5/7/12 7:40 PM) Reply
Very cute!
GoodbyeValntino said... (5/7/12 6:21 PM) Reply
Really cute!! I agree with you that the finished product looks very RTW. Thanks for the review!
hme75 said... (5/7/12 2:25 PM) Reply
What a timely review! I plan to make myself shorts with this pattern very soon. Yours are the exact fit I'm looking for.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-2

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Simplicity 1616

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Pattern Details