Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5391 (Misses Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Shorts    printable version
Viewed 578 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:BeckyW
photo
About BeckyWstar
AL USA
Member since: 5/23/04
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/12 1:08 PM
Last Updated:6/27/12 2:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hme75 said...
What a timely review! I plan to make myself shorts with this pattern very soon. Yours are the exact fit I'm looking for.
5/7/12 2:25 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Really cute!! I agree with you that the finished product looks very RTW. Thanks for the review!
5/7/12 6:21 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Very cute!
5/7/12 7:40 PM
rebelina said...
Those are really cute! I also love this pattern, so handy for summer.
5/8/12 2:50 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I love the front of these on you, perfect fit. For the back waistband "Threads" as a great technique that I think would work perfect on just the back of the shorts waistband: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/4244/everyone-can-have-jeans-that-fit I really think the fabric is cute too!
6/4/12 4:34 PM
Red Curtain said...
First I adore the fabric you chose. Thank you for showing how you attempted to alter them and explaining the fitting issues.
6/4/12 4:50 PM
Claverie said...
These look great. I love the pattern, too. I think it's been a common complaint about the depth of the crotch. My problem was that the short shorts were a tad too short and the pockets showed past hem when I sat down. Your shorts look very trendy in a vintage sort of way ;)
6/4/12 5:19 PM
cleverkitty said...
Good for you not giving up, you will end up with perfect shorts sometimes it takes many attempts. Very Good review!
6/4/12 5:37 PM
margk said...
I love this fabric for shorts! Yours look great front and back. Hope you can fix the gap.
6/4/12 5:55 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Excellent, thorough review -- and fab shorts! :)
6/4/12 8:13 PM
MissCelie said...
Oh, that's too bad you had some fit problems. They look AWESOME. Shorts are my life's goal :)
6/6/12 10:45 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
SOOOOO cute and beautifully made! Thanks for the great review! I would love to make this a TNT for my daughter.
6/27/12 2:27 PM
MNBarb said...
You have achieved perfection in the fitting department. Celebrate!
6/27/12 2:51 PM
Merche said...
Great fitting! I specially love the print and the colours. Thank you for the thorough review
6/27/12 7:23 PM
khurtdvm said...
Your final shorts version looks great!
6/27/12 10:03 PM
Legal.Dealer said...
Super cute shorts love your prints
6/27/12 10:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

New Look 6470
photo
Review by Kitty Cout... on 9/28/08
Read Review

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5029
photo
Review by jfang on 11/29/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4003 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4003 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5915 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5915 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us