Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: 0001 (Two-Seam Top) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew
Review submitted in The One Yard Challenge Contest    printable version
Viewed 447 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:JenniferMM
photo
About JenniferMMstar
GA USA
Member since: 10/19/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:5/9/12 12:45 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jrhee said...
How clever, and can't argue with 2 seams! I think it looks very glamorous on you, and this pattern would really highlight a fabulous knit.
5/9/12 3:36 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for the info on constructing this top. Look at the pattern envelope image: Washington 4, D. C. This predates zip codes! That in and of itself is cool but your top is super cool. Great way to use up those larger scraps that seem to accumulate.
5/9/12 3:36 PM
Sarsez said...
Really helpful review. This pattern is on my to do list. Congrats on your entry.
5/9/12 6:58 PM
JenniferMM said...
Thank you, ladies! @Renren I hadn't noticed the envelope - those little tidbits are always so cool, aren't they? @Sarsez I'm glad you think the review is helpful. Sewing it is much easier than explaining it! It's a great project for when you have a short amount of time.
5/10/12 2:08 PM
Annie P said...
It looks great on you. I'd like to try it as the shawl, as that looked good in your pics.
5/10/12 8:46 PM
HeatherLSB said...
Oh sooooo clever!!! I think it is a very flattering style. Beautiful!
5/15/12 7:36 PM
Margaret said...
Very cool! Looks great on you!
5/21/12 5:42 AM
izzylea said...
WOW! Only two seams! I really love your top and I think you look great in it! I would love to make it in the future with longer sleeves. Thank you for the instructions! :) Shayla - izzylea
5/22/12 7:32 PM
CSM--Carla said...
This top looks great on you! Thank you so much for including all the information so I can make one for myself!! Is it important to make it from a fabric that looks the same both sides...Can you tell me if the wrong side of the fabric shows when you wear it?
6/5/12 7:49 AM
JenniferMM said...
Great question, Carla! I just tried the top back on to make sure my answer was accurate. Worn as I am in the thumbnail (as a wrap top rather than a shawl) no wrong side fabric should be seen, *unless* you choose to roll over the collar instead of wearing it full/bunched. There is a fair bit of fabric at the neckline so, this would be a matter of personal preference. Provided you like the full look, the only important thing would be to choose a fabric with plenty of stretch. :-)
6/5/12 12:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

You Sew Girl BO830 Mod Bag
photo
Review by MrsBeckins... on 12/29/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-104 Net top
photo
Review by KatC83 on 1/23/12
Read Review

Burda 8186 Pattern
Burda 8186 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us