SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> 0001 (Two-Seam Top)

16 more reviews
Review submitted in The One Yard Challenge Contest
Viewed 450 times 
Reviewed by:JenniferMM
photo

 
 
About JenniferMMstar
GA USA
Member since: 10/19/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/12 12:45 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jrhee said...
How clever, and can't argue with 2 seams! I think it looks very glamorous on you, and this pattern would really highlight a fabulous knit.
5/9/12 3:36 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for the info on constructing this top. Look at the pattern envelope image: Washington 4, D. C. This predates zip codes! That in and of itself is cool but your top is super cool. Great way to use up those larger scraps that seem to accumulate.
5/9/12 3:36 PM
Sarsez said...
Really helpful review. This pattern is on my to do list. Congrats on your entry.
5/9/12 6:58 PM
JenniferMM said...
Thank you, ladies! @Renren I hadn't noticed the envelope - those little tidbits are always so cool, aren't they? @Sarsez I'm glad you think the review is helpful. Sewing it is much easier than explaining it! It's a great project for when you have a short amount of time.
5/10/12 2:08 PM
Annie P said...
It looks great on you. I'd like to try it as the shawl, as that looked good in your pics.
5/10/12 8:46 PM
HeatherLSB said...
Oh sooooo clever!!! I think it is a very flattering style. Beautiful!
5/15/12 7:36 PM
Margaret said...
Very cool! Looks great on you!
5/21/12 5:42 AM
izzylea said...
WOW! Only two seams! I really love your top and I think you look great in it! I would love to make it in the future with longer sleeves. Thank you for the instructions! :) Shayla - izzylea
5/22/12 7:32 PM
CSM--Carla said...
This top looks great on you! Thank you so much for including all the information so I can make one for myself!! Is it important to make it from a fabric that looks the same both sides...Can you tell me if the wrong side of the fabric shows when you wear it?
6/5/12 7:49 AM
JenniferMM said...
Great question, Carla! I just tried the top back on to make sure my answer was accurate. Worn as I am in the thumbnail (as a wrap top rather than a shawl) no wrong side fabric should be seen, *unless* you choose to roll over the collar instead of wearing it full/bunched. There is a fair bit of fabric at the neckline so, this would be a matter of personal preference. Provided you like the full look, the only important thing would be to choose a fabric with plenty of stretch. :-)
6/5/12 12:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2209

photo
by: thequirkyp...

Review
Simplicity 2019

photo
by: woolcat

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now