SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3740 (Tops)

63 more reviews
Viewed 352 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/10/12 0:35 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GoodbyeValntino said...
Great top!
5/10/12 6:55 AM
jannw said...
Good info on the cowl and dart substitute...great job! very fashionable...
5/10/12 8:08 AM
Christas said...
Really cute top and excellent review. I can't believe I don't have this pattern! Your very nice version of this top makes me want to add this pattern to my stash.
5/10/12 8:59 AM
RadarRadiance said...
great review. Interesting about the side gathers, I wouldn't have known that in the drawing. Very cute!
5/10/12 10:30 AM
Renren said...
RadarRadiance, I first saw these underarm side gathers used in New Look 6735, a Best Pattern of 2008. I have used darts in knits and not been happy at all, but these side gathers get the job done. Sandi S. reviewed a top the other day with side gathers to accomplish a FBA (there may have been more detail, not sure) and treefrog thinks these side gathers are the way to go when using knits instead of using a dart. I have to agree now that I've had a little experience with them. Even on closer-fitting knit tops without a dart or gathers drafted in, I add the gathers by adding 1.5-2 inches, depending on the knit, at the area under the arm to CF and then I gather it per this KS pattern and the NL pattern.
5/10/12 11:14 AM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute top and fabric. I love what the stripe does on the cowl. I'm with Christas...why don't I own this pattern??
5/10/12 1:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice top. It looks good in a striped fabric. Sorry about the snags! You'd better be careful when wearing it.
5/10/12 6:14 PM
treefrog said...
Great top Renren. I love the way you've used the stripes on this one. It is good that the cowl doesn't turn itself inside out like a lot of them do.
5/10/12 10:49 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous!
5/10/12 11:17 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SO CUTE! I LOVE it in the striped fabric, especially with the little bindings at the armholes. :o)
5/10/12 11:42 PM
pdiddly said...
I confess I have not seen these side gathers before, but am interested to see if any of my patterns have that. The top looks lovely.
5/11/12 2:44 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice! The stripes look great, particularly on the cowl and the armhole bindings. I really like when the pattern includes those side gathers too. This one sounds very well designed.
5/11/12 4:19 AM
dawn so cal said...
Wow! This is adorable!
8/3/12 9:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now