SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3740 (Tops)

64 more reviews
Viewed 353 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/10/12 0:35 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dawn so cal said...
Wow! This is adorable!
8/3/12 9:00 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice! The stripes look great, particularly on the cowl and the armhole bindings. I really like when the pattern includes those side gathers too. This one sounds very well designed.
5/11/12 4:19 AM
pdiddly said...
I confess I have not seen these side gathers before, but am interested to see if any of my patterns have that. The top looks lovely.
5/11/12 2:44 AM
Annette1 said...
This is SO CUTE! I LOVE it in the striped fabric, especially with the little bindings at the armholes. :o)
5/10/12 11:42 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous!
5/10/12 11:17 PM
treefrog said...
Great top Renren. I love the way you've used the stripes on this one. It is good that the cowl doesn't turn itself inside out like a lot of them do.
5/10/12 10:49 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice top. It looks good in a striped fabric. Sorry about the snags! You'd better be careful when wearing it.
5/10/12 6:14 PM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute top and fabric. I love what the stripe does on the cowl. I'm with Christas...why don't I own this pattern??
5/10/12 1:05 PM
Renren said...
RadarRadiance, I first saw these underarm side gathers used in New Look 6735, a Best Pattern of 2008. I have used darts in knits and not been happy at all, but these side gathers get the job done. Sandi S. reviewed a top the other day with side gathers to accomplish a FBA (there may have been more detail, not sure) and treefrog thinks these side gathers are the way to go when using knits instead of using a dart. I have to agree now that I've had a little experience with them. Even on closer-fitting knit tops without a dart or gathers drafted in, I add the gathers by adding 1.5-2 inches, depending on the knit, at the area under the arm to CF and then I gather it per this KS pattern and the NL pattern.
5/10/12 11:14 AM
RadarRadiance said...
great review. Interesting about the side gathers, I wouldn't have known that in the drawing. Very cute!
5/10/12 10:30 AM
Christas said...
Really cute top and excellent review. I can't believe I don't have this pattern! Your very nice version of this top makes me want to add this pattern to my stash.
5/10/12 8:59 AM
jannw said...
Good info on the cowl and dart substitute...great job! very fashionable...
5/10/12 8:08 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Great top!
5/10/12 6:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-107

photo
by: rabitgrl

Review