SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3740 (Tops)

64 more reviews
Viewed 352 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/10/12 0:35 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GoodbyeValntino said...
Great top!
5/10/12 6:55 AM
jannw said...
Good info on the cowl and dart substitute...great job! very fashionable...
5/10/12 8:08 AM
Christas said...
Really cute top and excellent review. I can't believe I don't have this pattern! Your very nice version of this top makes me want to add this pattern to my stash.
5/10/12 8:59 AM
RadarRadiance said...
great review. Interesting about the side gathers, I wouldn't have known that in the drawing. Very cute!
5/10/12 10:30 AM
Renren said...
RadarRadiance, I first saw these underarm side gathers used in New Look 6735, a Best Pattern of 2008. I have used darts in knits and not been happy at all, but these side gathers get the job done. Sandi S. reviewed a top the other day with side gathers to accomplish a FBA (there may have been more detail, not sure) and treefrog thinks these side gathers are the way to go when using knits instead of using a dart. I have to agree now that I've had a little experience with them. Even on closer-fitting knit tops without a dart or gathers drafted in, I add the gathers by adding 1.5-2 inches, depending on the knit, at the area under the arm to CF and then I gather it per this KS pattern and the NL pattern.
5/10/12 11:14 AM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute top and fabric. I love what the stripe does on the cowl. I'm with Christas...why don't I own this pattern??
5/10/12 1:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice top. It looks good in a striped fabric. Sorry about the snags! You'd better be careful when wearing it.
5/10/12 6:14 PM
treefrog said...
Great top Renren. I love the way you've used the stripes on this one. It is good that the cowl doesn't turn itself inside out like a lot of them do.
5/10/12 10:49 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous!
5/10/12 11:17 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SO CUTE! I LOVE it in the striped fabric, especially with the little bindings at the armholes. :o)
5/10/12 11:42 PM
pdiddly said...
I confess I have not seen these side gathers before, but am interested to see if any of my patterns have that. The top looks lovely.
5/11/12 2:44 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice! The stripes look great, particularly on the cowl and the armhole bindings. I really like when the pattern includes those side gathers too. This one sounds very well designed.
5/11/12 4:19 AM
dawn so cal said...
Wow! This is adorable!
8/3/12 9:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now