Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3740 (Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 345 times 62 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Renren
photo
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/10/12 0:35 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GoodbyeValntino said...
Great top!
5/10/12 6:55 AM
jannw said...
Good info on the cowl and dart substitute...great job! very fashionable...
5/10/12 8:08 AM
Christas said...
Really cute top and excellent review. I can't believe I don't have this pattern! Your very nice version of this top makes me want to add this pattern to my stash.
5/10/12 8:59 AM
RadarRadiance said...
great review. Interesting about the side gathers, I wouldn't have known that in the drawing. Very cute!
5/10/12 10:30 AM
Renren said...
RadarRadiance, I first saw these underarm side gathers used in New Look 6735, a Best Pattern of 2008. I have used darts in knits and not been happy at all, but these side gathers get the job done. Sandi S. reviewed a top the other day with side gathers to accomplish a FBA (there may have been more detail, not sure) and treefrog thinks these side gathers are the way to go when using knits instead of using a dart. I have to agree now that I've had a little experience with them. Even on closer-fitting knit tops without a dart or gathers drafted in, I add the gathers by adding 1.5-2 inches, depending on the knit, at the area under the arm to CF and then I gather it per this KS pattern and the NL pattern.
5/10/12 11:14 AM
ArtAttack said...
Super cute top and fabric. I love what the stripe does on the cowl. I'm with Christas...why don't I own this pattern??
5/10/12 1:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice top. It looks good in a striped fabric. Sorry about the snags! You'd better be careful when wearing it.
5/10/12 6:14 PM
treefrog said...
Great top Renren. I love the way you've used the stripes on this one. It is good that the cowl doesn't turn itself inside out like a lot of them do.
5/10/12 10:49 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous!
5/10/12 11:17 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SO CUTE! I LOVE it in the striped fabric, especially with the little bindings at the armholes. :o)
5/10/12 11:42 PM
pdiddly said...
I confess I have not seen these side gathers before, but am interested to see if any of my patterns have that. The top looks lovely.
5/11/12 2:44 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice! The stripes look great, particularly on the cowl and the armhole bindings. I really like when the pattern includes those side gathers too. This one sounds very well designed.
5/11/12 4:19 AM
dawn so cal said...
Wow! This is adorable!
8/3/12 9:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4084
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 10/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2005
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 5/9/07
Read Review

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us