Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5974 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 519 times 84 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Peggyscloset
photo
About Peggysclosetstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/6/10
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:5/10/12 9:18 AM
Last Updated:5/10/12 9:21 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lakaribane said...
I just made this pattern and intend to sew another one sew, with the sash. Lovely fabric even if it was a PITA to sew, LOL!
5/10/12 9:53 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Beautiful dress, the fabric is really pretty.
5/10/12 10:34 AM
halleyscomet said...
Lovely dress!
5/10/12 11:29 AM
ArtAttack said...
Great version of this timeless classic. Can't wait to see it made up in that other great fabric!
5/10/12 1:01 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely dress. I'm thinking about making another version of this dress soon.
5/10/12 1:07 PM
Christas said...
This is a great looking dress .... love your fabric choice, too! You sewing looks flawless!
5/10/12 4:22 PM
allycovey said...
THis is a beautiful dress, I am sorry the fabric was hard to work with but the result is worth it right? Where can you buy a dress like that for less than 5 bucks
5/10/12 4:27 PM
jlg said...
Love this dress (fabric and all). By the way, I love the phrase "selectively frugal."
5/10/12 7:47 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress! Love the fabric. Love the bound neckline.
5/10/12 9:17 PM
Scheri said...
Beautiful and I think thefabricis perfect. I gave this dress a go couple years ago maybe it's time to try it again now that I have more experience. Thank you for your review.
5/10/12 10:25 PM
Levone said...
Pretty dress!
5/11/12 8:32 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Very nice!!! I got this fabric in the pinks...but you got a much better price! I love your bound neckline and wondered if you have the binder attachemtn for your coverstitch machine? It looks so professional. I only have the Covoerpro...but no special attachments. Loved your blog post too. Thanks for your review. I'll have to dig this pattern out.
5/11/12 1:15 PM
Peggyscloset said...
Thank you all for your kind comments! They really mean a lot to me! Laurie Lou ~ I do have a binder attachment for my coverstitch, but I'm embarrassed to say that I haven't figured out how to use it yet! *Blush* I need to figure it out because it'll give a more professional finish. As it is, I used a 2" wide piece of fabric, folded it in half (lengthwise), sewed the raw edges of the binding to the wrong side of the bodice, stretching slightly, then trimmed the (5/8") seam, folded the binding over the trimmed seam to the right side, and topstitched. I like this method because of the clean finish on the inside. Unfortunately, my topstitching is only so-so.
5/11/12 2:28 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks Peggy! I'll try this method. a bit differnt than I do. I love my Coverstitch...but I'm with you...the binders look complicated.
5/11/12 4:06 PM
happygrammy50 said...
How long did you make your binding?
5/15/12 11:25 AM
Peggyscloset said...
For the binding, I measured the length of the neckline and cut the binding that long, but didn't use the full amount. I stretched the binding very slightly as I sewed it to prevent any gaping, and lopped off the unused portion of binding when I was done.
5/15/12 1:13 PM
happygrammy50 said...
I have another question. I made a practice of this dress and don't like the pleats. Could I gather the skirt instead? Thanks for your help
5/16/12 9:34 AM
Peggyscloset said...
Sure! I think gathers would work well.
5/16/12 5:33 PM
happygrammy50 said...
Thanks for your help. I hope my dress comes out as good as yours.
5/16/12 7:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

McCall's 5972
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 4/26/11
Read Review

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8120 MISSES' BLOUSE
photo
Review by sarahinlaf... on 11/15/09
Read Review

McCalls 6713 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6713 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1263 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 1263 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us