SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6571 (Misses' Tops and Pants)

20 more reviews
Viewed 787 times 
Reviewed by:MissMarnie
photo

 
 
About MissMarniestarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/9/11
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/12 4:41 PM
Last Updated:5/10/12 5:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AndreaSews said...
Looks great on you. I agree with your comments regarding the neckline facing. I don't care for the effect it has on the shoulder seam on my version using cotton interlock.
2/8/13 9:49 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I was intrigued with this pattern and bought it to add to my growing collection of Tee patterns. I might interface the facing with a very very sheer interfacing, it's lighter than Sew Sheer, that I bought at the Sew Expo from the Sewing Workshop. It looks very nice on you and a nice basic with interesting neckline.
6/29/12 7:21 PM
Athene said...
Very nice top. I have the pattern and I think when I make I too will want to leave out the interfacing.
5/19/12 3:36 AM
n45 said...
This looks clean and lovely on you. Thank you for the thorough review. I'll look out for this when the next sale comes around.
5/15/12 7:42 AM
nicegirl said...
I like your photo assistants. '-) The facing is interesting--I would be skeptical about a facing for a knit top, too. Hope you can work it out--the shape and neckline are great for you.
5/11/12 10:49 AM
pdiddly said...
I recently had a similar situation where the pattern called for interfacing (this was for a shirt) but when I looked at a RTW shirt there was no interfacing so I left it out and it was fine... I love the top, looks great
5/11/12 3:13 AM
MissMarnie said...
hme75, I was actually thinking about cutting out fronts backs and sleeves for two full shirts in coordinating colors and making a reversible top or one where the inside hem hangs down and inch below the outside hem. I thought that would be a cute way to lose the facing without having to add a binding.
5/10/12 11:45 PM
hme75 said...
I just cut the boat neck version of this last night and was wondering about the interfacing. How do you think you would do it next time? Facing without interfacing? Binding? I do love the shape of this top!
5/10/12 10:32 PM
Renren said...
Very nice pattern resulting in a great, casual, long-sleeved tee. Interfacing the jersey is surprising to me, but the world of sewing is always throwing new surprises at my feet. (Speaking of which, your three seal-sleek sidekicks are looking very subdued and lovely at your feet although their body language seems to speak to some anticipated treat that will be forthcoming any second! And the sooner the better, they say!)
5/10/12 6:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Other Autumn love

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

More Info
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

More Info