SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1234 (Misses' Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 825 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/12 0:34 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
That is one very gorgeous dress! You should be on the front of the pattern envelope. Your fabric choice is absolutely wonderful. I would have never looked twice at this pattern, but now I will probably buy it!
5/11/12 1:14 AM
Batik said...
I agree with Christas, this is so beautiful it should be on the pattern envelope. Lovely fabric and the places of the border detail is spectacular.
5/11/12 1:16 AM
sfshaza said...
Barbara, this is spectacular!! I love love it in that border ITY print!!!
5/11/12 2:12 AM
Dilliander said...
Very special, the border print is a perfect choice and your dress looks lovely on.
5/11/12 3:18 AM
cmacca said...
That dress looks great, it is a really unusual way to make up this pattern.
5/11/12 4:14 AM
jlg said...
Very well done. I agree with Christas; you should be on the pattern envelope. This is great.
5/11/12 5:47 AM
prttynpnk said...
What a beautiful fabric choice for this- it looks amazing!
5/11/12 6:57 AM
CTBarb said...
Wow! You absolutely nailed the border placements on this. I have this material and you have given me a whole new perspective on it! What a wonderfiul dress and you look super in it!
5/11/12 7:40 AM
Jrhee said...
This looks really great - I also think it looks much better than the pattern envelope.
5/11/12 9:37 AM
ArtAttack said...
This is gorgeous! I've never given this pattern a second thought but now I may...super becoming on you and outstanding fabric and placement!
5/11/12 9:56 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a fantastic combination of pattern and fabric. You really made it work for you. Gorgeous!!
5/11/12 9:59 AM
Nan Kay said...
Love how you used this fabric! I didn't think I liked this pattern from the envelope, but your version is super, I might have to rethink my opinion of the pattern.
5/11/12 10:01 AM
marthamyers said...
Wow - terrific on you, Barbara. Thanks for showing the skirt detail. It is such a clever design. And your layout is even more clever. The border print is perfect for this. I am wondering if it could be adapted to a woven fabric. Nice work!
5/11/12 10:07 AM
nicegirl said...
That is so cool! Your border print placement is just fabulous.
5/11/12 10:47 AM
VogueMistress said...
Stunning..beautiful use of the border print.
5/11/12 10:49 AM
DorothyK said...
The fabric placement is excellent and the fit is divine. You did a great job on this and it looks fabulous on you. You have reminded me that I still intend to make this pattern.
5/11/12 12:07 PM
Annette1 said...
That layout looks like something akin to BRAIN SURGERY, Doc, but you've done a SUPERB job putting your border print to use. I had actually ordered some of the fabric that is in the pattern picture, but then I got a note that, well, actually, it WASN'T that fabric, so I canceled the order. I've never been able to imagine anything that would look quite as good, UNTIL NOW, and I don't even have to imagine! BEAUTIFUL dress! ;o)
5/11/12 9:37 PM
Sar sews said...
Great use of fabric, bravo!
5/11/12 11:01 PM
lamstu said...
Another amazing dress. Love your style and your skill of which this dress is a great example.
5/12/12 2:22 AM
mochimo said...
What a beautiful dress!!!
5/12/12 7:48 AM
cocosloft said...
A work of art...stunning!
5/12/12 7:50 AM
cleverkitty said...
gorgeous dress!!
5/12/12 8:04 AM
barbcl said...
A sensational dress and look!
5/12/12 12:58 PM
Heatherrique said...
Enchantingly beautiful, Barbara!
5/12/12 1:33 PM
mmcp said...
I have this pattern and keep meaning to make it but haven't found the right fabric. LOVE what you did with that patterned fabric. Thanks for the inspiration!
5/12/12 2:57 PM
TJSEWS said...
You look gorgeous in your dress and what a fantastic print! Perfect!
5/12/12 5:21 PM
Mrs4Him said...
This is very pretty and such an interesting and flattering design.
5/12/12 5:57 PM
Ann Smith said...
Such a great use of the border print. I love it.
5/14/12 12:14 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Love how you were brave enough to tackle a border print and all your work certainly paid off! I love how you added the border on the bottom not only for the length but it really tied everything together as well.
5/15/12 10:48 AM
AuntieShel said...
Don't know how I missed this when you reviewed it, but this is SPECTACULAR!!! So stunning, the way you used the border print. May I ask how tall you are as a reference if I buy this pattern? Thank you!!
6/14/12 11:37 AM
Barbara V said...
Thanks all for the lovely comments! AuntieShel, my height is 5' 3 1/2". I also measured the dress length from front neck edge to hem - 47". Hope that is helpful - Barbara
6/14/12 4:53 PM
threadandthumb said...
Beautiful in a floral!
7/9/12 2:04 PM
Gendun said...
Smashing, both on you and the fabric! I agree with you on the neckline: A true round neck isn't flattering on most of us. A V, as you say, would flatter it, and I can't help but wonder about a square one. Of course changing it to a boat neck would be easiest and would look so pretty. Congrats on a job well done. :)
3/21/13 3:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now