SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1801 (Misses Dress)

17 more reviews
Viewed 957 times 
Reviewed by:Steffie
photo

 
 
About Steffiestarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/12 6:09 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Melody said...
Wow! This looks great. I loved the way you wrangled that border print. It's absolutely beautiful. Oh and the midriff back placement is spot on, you needn't worry.
5/31/12 7:34 PM
AuntieShel said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress!!!! Had my eye on this, thanks for reviewing!!
5/23/12 11:07 AM
Patti B said...
So so pretty as is your daughter. I'm getting ready to see this for my DD and appreciate the review.
5/13/12 10:11 AM
Steffie said...
Thanks for all your positive comments!
5/12/12 3:16 PM
Steffie said...
SunnySewer - No, I did not raise the neckline, but I would raise it a bit if I made it again. It is a little low, but the bodice pieces are wide enough that it isn't too revealing. It looks a bit more revealing in person. I purchased the fabric on Fabric.com a couple of summers ago and finally got around to using it. :)
5/12/12 3:15 PM
sunnysewer said...
WOW, I love this. looks fantastic. Did you raise the V-neck at all? Since the wearer is tall it looks great, might it be kind of low cut on a shorter person? Also can you tell where you found that fabric? thanks
5/12/12 12:38 PM
magpie57 said...
Wonderful use of your border print! Noone will ever notice the upside down piece if you don't mention it! Sweet dress. Well done.
5/12/12 9:52 AM
facesunderwater said...
Your placement of the print is stunning!
5/12/12 8:57 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, the border fabric is gorgeous.
5/12/12 8:16 AM
becca a said...
What a pretty dress! I don't see anything off about the back midriff. What a gorgeous border print you used!
5/12/12 8:05 AM
tigergirl said...
What fabulous fabric! This dress looks great on her.
5/12/12 2:41 AM
stitchywitch said...
Lovely - looks great on your daughter. Thank you for the review - I want to make this in a knit, but I was worried it wouldn't work!
5/12/12 2:03 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. Great use of the border print.
5/12/12 0:25 AM
heathergwo said...
Super cute!! Love the fabric and you matched the pattern up very well!
5/11/12 10:08 PM
momsurfing said...
very nice
5/11/12 9:24 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This isnso cute!
5/11/12 9:09 PM
Barbara V said...
Pretty border print fabric. The dress is gorgeous on your very attractive daughter!
5/11/12 8:54 PM
Nenewhis said...
I love this dress, it is so well thought out, and looks like you bought it off the rack. Well done!
5/11/12 8:01 PM
craftylady66 said...
It's lovely. The back midriff looks fine to me.
5/11/12 7:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Butterick 5557

photo
by: galtekruse

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now
Other B 4389 & Burda 2010-03-10

photo
by: Skaapie

Review