Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Amy Knit Top (Amy Knit Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 334 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:apoxia
photo
About apoxia
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 6/9/11
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/12 11:48 PM
Last Updated:5/11/12 11:49 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
I actually think it's a lovely top, and this loose and drapy tunic style (with slim pants) is a very fashionable right now. I think you look great!
5/11/12 11:55 PM
USMCMom said...
Just a thought...The tenting or flaring at the center bottom hem might indicate you need an FBA. It seems to be pulling up in the front, but it might be the angle of the photo. But it's an interesting shape and I think it suits you.
5/12/12 0:43 AM
rivergum said...
I can't see how this makes you look 5kg heavier! It looks terrific and really caught my eye while looking through the gallery. Try a photo of something more fitted alongside and see if it really does make you look larger in the hips. I suspect it doesn't. Also try some leggins as the jeans do look a bit baggy.
5/12/12 0:52 AM
hme75 said...
I too think this top has a fun and flattering shape and it looks great on you! Do you have skinny jeans to pair it with? (although I do agree that Style Arc's pattern images have a slightly exaggerated long and lean look :) )
5/12/12 1:10 AM
Stargirl7 said...
I really, really like this on you. I saw your pic and immediately decided I wanted one just like it. Then I looked at the pattern. Yes, it looks nothing like the pattern, so I can see why you were disappointed. But I love it the way it is! (It would also be cool with a hood, in a cozy-but-drapey fabric for winter.)
5/12/12 1:25 AM
LynnRowe said...
Try turning the back collar down, rather than wearing it straight up, that should help the cowl drape better. I am not a fan of cotton knit, as it's just not drapy enough...give this pattern a try in a rayon/Lycra jersey. if you're wider in the hips, I would cut the hemline straight, rather than doing the side drapes. I think you look terrific in your top, and I do hope you'll give it another try in a softer draping fabric!
5/12/12 2:57 AM
newsewer2011 said...
I have literally just finished making this top, and I have to say my initial reaction was the same as yours. But I have now tried it on with my Style Arc Elle pants which are very straight/skinny, and it looks a lot better. I do think its narrower than other SA tops though, as I also look like I need a FBA on it. Also, my fabric is not drapey enough either, so I think we need to give the pattern another chance :)
5/12/12 3:07 AM
apoxia said...
Thanks for all the comments and advice :) I think I do need to try it again with a drapier fabric and maybe change the hem and reign in the flare in the side seams.
5/12/12 3:46 AM
jannw said...
I like the look on you! This pattern is one my want list, so I appreciate the review and your fabric tips..
5/12/12 7:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2283
photo
Review by Sherril Mi... on 3/6/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6779 Misses Dress
photo
Review by LawsonVall... on 4/10/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8943 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8943 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us