SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Amy Knit Top (Amy Knit Top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 351 times 
Reviewed by:apoxia
photo

 
 
About apoxiastar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 6/9/11
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/12 11:48 PM
Last Updated:5/11/12 11:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jannw said...
I like the look on you! This pattern is one my want list, so I appreciate the review and your fabric tips..
5/12/12 7:21 AM
apoxia said...
Thanks for all the comments and advice :) I think I do need to try it again with a drapier fabric and maybe change the hem and reign in the flare in the side seams.
5/12/12 3:46 AM
newsewer2011 said...
I have literally just finished making this top, and I have to say my initial reaction was the same as yours. But I have now tried it on with my Style Arc Elle pants which are very straight/skinny, and it looks a lot better. I do think its narrower than other SA tops though, as I also look like I need a FBA on it. Also, my fabric is not drapey enough either, so I think we need to give the pattern another chance :)
5/12/12 3:07 AM
LynnRowe said...
Try turning the back collar down, rather than wearing it straight up, that should help the cowl drape better. I am not a fan of cotton knit, as it's just not drapy enough...give this pattern a try in a rayon/Lycra jersey. if you're wider in the hips, I would cut the hemline straight, rather than doing the side drapes. I think you look terrific in your top, and I do hope you'll give it another try in a softer draping fabric!
5/12/12 2:57 AM
Stargirl7 said...
I really, really like this on you. I saw your pic and immediately decided I wanted one just like it. Then I looked at the pattern. Yes, it looks nothing like the pattern, so I can see why you were disappointed. But I love it the way it is! (It would also be cool with a hood, in a cozy-but-drapey fabric for winter.)
5/12/12 1:25 AM
hme75 said...
I too think this top has a fun and flattering shape and it looks great on you! Do you have skinny jeans to pair it with? (although I do agree that Style Arc's pattern images have a slightly exaggerated long and lean look :) )
5/12/12 1:10 AM
rivergum said...
I can't see how this makes you look 5kg heavier! It looks terrific and really caught my eye while looking through the gallery. Try a photo of something more fitted alongside and see if it really does make you look larger in the hips. I suspect it doesn't. Also try some leggins as the jeans do look a bit baggy.
5/12/12 0:52 AM
USMCMom said...
Just a thought...The tenting or flaring at the center bottom hem might indicate you need an FBA. It seems to be pulling up in the front, but it might be the angle of the photo. But it's an interesting shape and I think it suits you.
5/12/12 0:43 AM
ClaireEmily said...
I actually think it's a lovely top, and this loose and drapy tunic style (with slim pants) is a very fashionable right now. I think you look great!
5/11/12 11:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

New Look 6130

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 3378

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review