SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Amy Knit Top (Amy Knit Top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 342 times 
Reviewed by:apoxia
photo

 
 
About apoxiastar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 6/9/11
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/12 11:48 PM
Last Updated:5/11/12 11:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
I actually think it's a lovely top, and this loose and drapy tunic style (with slim pants) is a very fashionable right now. I think you look great!
5/11/12 11:55 PM
USMCMom said...
Just a thought...The tenting or flaring at the center bottom hem might indicate you need an FBA. It seems to be pulling up in the front, but it might be the angle of the photo. But it's an interesting shape and I think it suits you.
5/12/12 0:43 AM
rivergum said...
I can't see how this makes you look 5kg heavier! It looks terrific and really caught my eye while looking through the gallery. Try a photo of something more fitted alongside and see if it really does make you look larger in the hips. I suspect it doesn't. Also try some leggins as the jeans do look a bit baggy.
5/12/12 0:52 AM
hme75 said...
I too think this top has a fun and flattering shape and it looks great on you! Do you have skinny jeans to pair it with? (although I do agree that Style Arc's pattern images have a slightly exaggerated long and lean look :) )
5/12/12 1:10 AM
Stargirl7 said...
I really, really like this on you. I saw your pic and immediately decided I wanted one just like it. Then I looked at the pattern. Yes, it looks nothing like the pattern, so I can see why you were disappointed. But I love it the way it is! (It would also be cool with a hood, in a cozy-but-drapey fabric for winter.)
5/12/12 1:25 AM
LynnRowe said...
Try turning the back collar down, rather than wearing it straight up, that should help the cowl drape better. I am not a fan of cotton knit, as it's just not drapy enough...give this pattern a try in a rayon/Lycra jersey. if you're wider in the hips, I would cut the hemline straight, rather than doing the side drapes. I think you look terrific in your top, and I do hope you'll give it another try in a softer draping fabric!
5/12/12 2:57 AM
newsewer2011 said...
I have literally just finished making this top, and I have to say my initial reaction was the same as yours. But I have now tried it on with my Style Arc Elle pants which are very straight/skinny, and it looks a lot better. I do think its narrower than other SA tops though, as I also look like I need a FBA on it. Also, my fabric is not drapey enough either, so I think we need to give the pattern another chance :)
5/12/12 3:07 AM
apoxia said...
Thanks for all the comments and advice :) I think I do need to try it again with a drapier fabric and maybe change the hem and reign in the flare in the side seams.
5/12/12 3:46 AM
jannw said...
I like the look on you! This pattern is one my want list, so I appreciate the review and your fabric tips..
5/12/12 7:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Butterick B4768

photo
by: Baja Susan...

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now