SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1281 (Misses Dress-Donna Karan)

1 more reviews
Viewed 928 times 
Reviewed by:Carolyn.S
photo

 
 
About Carolyn.Sstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/6/10
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 76 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/12 3:55 AM
Last Updated:5/12/12 4:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Very clever! This has come together beautifully. What a lovely, interesting and unique dress.
5/12/12 4:30 AM
Clareew said...
I love your dress, I think it is much better than the Vogue picture.
5/12/12 4:34 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous interpretation!
5/12/12 4:36 AM
LizJaneB said...
So much better than the original it's scary! Brilliant!
5/12/12 4:45 AM
velosewer said...
This is such a wonderful piece of work.
5/12/12 6:34 AM
wordchick said...
Looks great...thanks for review!
5/12/12 7:04 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Simply amazing!
5/12/12 7:25 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I have this pattern and just haven't figured out what sort of fabric to use. I love the casual look of yours and think that is my plan! Thanks for sharing!
5/12/12 8:15 AM
MarshaG. said...
I loved this pattern when I saw it in the catalog, but I knew it was too dressy for my lifestyle. YOU made it work and I think your pieced rendition is a wonderful improvement on the pattern........something more of us would wear. I've saved all of your snapshots for inspiration!
5/12/12 9:39 AM
magpie57 said...
Love the color blocking and how the sleeves look like you are wearing a separate shawl over your shoulders. Lovely, stylish dress.
5/12/12 9:49 AM
marjoriekh said...
This is really inspired - and inspirational. I bet Donna Karan would love what you did with this.
5/12/12 9:50 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
You've inspired me! Creative use of old t's Practical use of an awesome pattern that I would have normally overlooked Wearable daily dress that is cute, comfortable and unusual without looking like an old house dress
5/12/12 9:51 AM
Elemenopeo said...
It's so wonderful - you are indeed very clever.
5/12/12 10:15 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous dress, now I DEFINITELY want to make it ASAP! Thanks for review!
5/12/12 11:11 AM
Ann Smith said...
Brilliant!
5/12/12 12:20 PM
Twinset said...
Great dress, much better than the one on the pattern enveloppe! Very flattering on you.
5/12/12 12:47 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Spectacular dress.
5/12/12 12:49 PM
lorenakitty said...
What a winner! I purchased this pattern thinking the photo was a little formal but thought after looking at the line drawing the pattern could be fun for mixing up fabrics somehow. Your version is quite inspirational!
5/12/12 6:34 PM
Annette1 said...
I really LOVE your dress, and you wear it well! I like your DOG, too -- ha!
5/13/12 0:44 AM
VivianZ said...
Beautiful dress. So much more than the pattern.
5/13/12 8:16 AM
Fran G said...
So wonderful, Carolyn! I enjoy reading your blog and about how you interpret patterns. You define a creative seamstress.
5/13/12 8:43 AM
yummymummy38 said...
I never envisaged this as anything but a cocktail dress, but I absolutely love this version, arty and more wearable than the DK envelope version, actually I prefer it to the envelope version!
5/14/12 9:10 AM
oh2bejoy said...
Beautiful! I am a new sewer and am hoping to make this in a long version for my mother of the bride dress this October.
5/18/12 1:53 PM
aaltje said...
Really beautiful. I love the colour blocking, and the pattern looks very flattering indeed. I added it to my wish list right away (after staring at it for a year without any inspiration at all)...
7/30/12 9:52 AM
Balesbydesign said...
Just laid out the pattern last night, and this is very helpful. Thank you! I feel much better about starting in on it.
8/24/12 8:13 AM
sarahandrew8 said...
Thanks so much for your review, feeling challenged sewing this pattern (and sewing for the first time in silk!) and your comments are very helpful. The hem at the top of the bodice - and I knew I have a short shoulder to bust measurement but the extra length in the shoulder sash felt like I must be doing something wrong until I read you had the same problem...thanks :)
9/4/14 8:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8593

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used none

photo
by: Learn To S...

Review