SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1281 (Misses Dress-Donna Karan)

1 more reviews
Viewed 915 times 
Reviewed by:Carolyn.S
photo

 
 
About Carolyn.Sstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/6/10
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 74 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/12 3:55 AM
Last Updated:5/12/12 4:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dilliander said...
Very clever! This has come together beautifully. What a lovely, interesting and unique dress.
5/12/12 4:30 AM
Clareew said...
I love your dress, I think it is much better than the Vogue picture.
5/12/12 4:34 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous interpretation!
5/12/12 4:36 AM
LizJaneB said...
So much better than the original it's scary! Brilliant!
5/12/12 4:45 AM
velosewer said...
This is such a wonderful piece of work.
5/12/12 6:34 AM
wordchick said...
Looks great...thanks for review!
5/12/12 7:04 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Simply amazing!
5/12/12 7:25 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I have this pattern and just haven't figured out what sort of fabric to use. I love the casual look of yours and think that is my plan! Thanks for sharing!
5/12/12 8:15 AM
MarshaG. said...
I loved this pattern when I saw it in the catalog, but I knew it was too dressy for my lifestyle. YOU made it work and I think your pieced rendition is a wonderful improvement on the pattern........something more of us would wear. I've saved all of your snapshots for inspiration!
5/12/12 9:39 AM
magpie57 said...
Love the color blocking and how the sleeves look like you are wearing a separate shawl over your shoulders. Lovely, stylish dress.
5/12/12 9:49 AM
marjoriekh said...
This is really inspired - and inspirational. I bet Donna Karan would love what you did with this.
5/12/12 9:50 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
You've inspired me! Creative use of old t's Practical use of an awesome pattern that I would have normally overlooked Wearable daily dress that is cute, comfortable and unusual without looking like an old house dress
5/12/12 9:51 AM
Elemenopeo said...
It's so wonderful - you are indeed very clever.
5/12/12 10:15 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous dress, now I DEFINITELY want to make it ASAP! Thanks for review!
5/12/12 11:11 AM
Ann Smith said...
Brilliant!
5/12/12 12:20 PM
Twinset said...
Great dress, much better than the one on the pattern enveloppe! Very flattering on you.
5/12/12 12:47 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Spectacular dress.
5/12/12 12:49 PM
lorenakitty said...
What a winner! I purchased this pattern thinking the photo was a little formal but thought after looking at the line drawing the pattern could be fun for mixing up fabrics somehow. Your version is quite inspirational!
5/12/12 6:34 PM
Annette1 said...
I really LOVE your dress, and you wear it well! I like your DOG, too -- ha!
5/13/12 0:44 AM
VivianZ said...
Beautiful dress. So much more than the pattern.
5/13/12 8:16 AM
Fran G said...
So wonderful, Carolyn! I enjoy reading your blog and about how you interpret patterns. You define a creative seamstress.
5/13/12 8:43 AM
yummymummy38 said...
I never envisaged this as anything but a cocktail dress, but I absolutely love this version, arty and more wearable than the DK envelope version, actually I prefer it to the envelope version!
5/14/12 9:10 AM
oh2bejoy said...
Beautiful! I am a new sewer and am hoping to make this in a long version for my mother of the bride dress this October.
5/18/12 1:53 PM
aaltje said...
Really beautiful. I love the colour blocking, and the pattern looks very flattering indeed. I added it to my wish list right away (after staring at it for a year without any inspiration at all)...
7/30/12 9:52 AM
Balesbydesign said...
Just laid out the pattern last night, and this is very helpful. Thank you! I feel much better about starting in on it.
8/24/12 8:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Kwik Sew 3338

photo
by: LynnRowe

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now