SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1281 (Misses Dress-Donna Karan)

1 more reviews
Viewed 954 times 
Reviewed by:Carolyn.S
photo

 
 
About Carolyn.Sstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/6/10
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 77 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/12 3:55 AM
Last Updated:5/12/12 4:34 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sarahandrew8 said...
Thanks so much for your review, feeling challenged sewing this pattern (and sewing for the first time in silk!) and your comments are very helpful. The hem at the top of the bodice - and I knew I have a short shoulder to bust measurement but the extra length in the shoulder sash felt like I must be doing something wrong until I read you had the same problem...thanks :)
9/4/14 8:38 PM
Balesbydesign said...
Just laid out the pattern last night, and this is very helpful. Thank you! I feel much better about starting in on it.
8/24/12 8:13 AM
aaltje said...
Really beautiful. I love the colour blocking, and the pattern looks very flattering indeed. I added it to my wish list right away (after staring at it for a year without any inspiration at all)...
7/30/12 9:52 AM
oh2bejoy said...
Beautiful! I am a new sewer and am hoping to make this in a long version for my mother of the bride dress this October.
5/18/12 1:53 PM
yummymummy38 said...
I never envisaged this as anything but a cocktail dress, but I absolutely love this version, arty and more wearable than the DK envelope version, actually I prefer it to the envelope version!
5/14/12 9:10 AM
Fran G said...
So wonderful, Carolyn! I enjoy reading your blog and about how you interpret patterns. You define a creative seamstress.
5/13/12 8:43 AM
VivianZ said...
Beautiful dress. So much more than the pattern.
5/13/12 8:16 AM
Annette1 said...
I really LOVE your dress, and you wear it well! I like your DOG, too -- ha!
5/13/12 0:44 AM
lorenakitty said...
What a winner! I purchased this pattern thinking the photo was a little formal but thought after looking at the line drawing the pattern could be fun for mixing up fabrics somehow. Your version is quite inspirational!
5/12/12 6:34 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Spectacular dress.
5/12/12 12:49 PM
Twinset said...
Great dress, much better than the one on the pattern enveloppe! Very flattering on you.
5/12/12 12:47 PM
Ann Smith said...
Brilliant!
5/12/12 12:20 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous dress, now I DEFINITELY want to make it ASAP! Thanks for review!
5/12/12 11:11 AM
Elemenopeo said...
It's so wonderful - you are indeed very clever.
5/12/12 10:15 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
You've inspired me! Creative use of old t's Practical use of an awesome pattern that I would have normally overlooked Wearable daily dress that is cute, comfortable and unusual without looking like an old house dress
5/12/12 9:51 AM
marjoriekh said...
This is really inspired - and inspirational. I bet Donna Karan would love what you did with this.
5/12/12 9:50 AM
magpie57 said...
Love the color blocking and how the sleeves look like you are wearing a separate shawl over your shoulders. Lovely, stylish dress.
5/12/12 9:49 AM
MarshaG. said...
I loved this pattern when I saw it in the catalog, but I knew it was too dressy for my lifestyle. YOU made it work and I think your pieced rendition is a wonderful improvement on the pattern........something more of us would wear. I've saved all of your snapshots for inspiration!
5/12/12 9:39 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I have this pattern and just haven't figured out what sort of fabric to use. I love the casual look of yours and think that is my plan! Thanks for sharing!
5/12/12 8:15 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Simply amazing!
5/12/12 7:25 AM
wordchick said...
Looks great...thanks for review!
5/12/12 7:04 AM
velosewer said...
This is such a wonderful piece of work.
5/12/12 6:34 AM
LizJaneB said...
So much better than the original it's scary! Brilliant!
5/12/12 4:45 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous interpretation!
5/12/12 4:36 AM
Clareew said...
I love your dress, I think it is much better than the Vogue picture.
5/12/12 4:34 AM
Dilliander said...
Very clever! This has come together beautifully. What a lovely, interesting and unique dress.
5/12/12 4:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's 6427

photo
by: pamxch

Review
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now