SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1309 (Misses Tunic and Pants)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1167 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/12 5:12 PM
Last Updated:5/21/12 5:31 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MondoVox said...
You are an inspiration! I'm totally doing this in a knit and taking liberties with edges (raw and curling!), and I may even toy with leaving those side seams such that I end up with side slits...for the hips because I'm afraid if I make the rectangle wider, I'll have too much fabric in the shoulders. Thanks for your detailed review. You make things easier for us newbies.
11/7/12 3:21 PM
thepattyc said...
Thanks for your review. Your shirt is very nice. I have a rectangle body shape and I love a good puzzle. However, I'm not sure I would feel comfortable in a shirt that is a wee bit lacking in the modesty department.
10/14/12 12:58 PM
miausiau said...
This is hilarious! I just sewed this up and it is a complete mirror image because I marked on wrong side(correct) but did not put pattern upside down. (not something that is very common)
8/15/12 0:59 AM
Wino said...
Just purchased this today at JA-love the pattern hope I can make it work! Thanks for your detailed review.
6/2/12 2:01 PM
marec said...
How lovely! And, a giant thank you for the complete and honest review. I think I will pass on this pattern. I need confidence building patterns, not final exam patterns!
5/25/12 10:54 AM
cleverkitty said...
this is exactly what I expect from you....something interesting and stylish. You are brave making this pattern, great job figuring it all out.
5/22/12 8:07 AM
cmacca said...
Your top looks terrific and your review is very helpful. I just got the pattern yesterday and spent the evening somewhat puzzled by the instructions - but less so now!
5/22/12 7:14 AM
a life in stitches said...
It's great to see a 'real' version of this and read your detailed comments. As another Miyake fan, you haven't put me off. I just wish Vogue Patterns would employ you as a tester, then maybe what they put in their envelopes might work better!
5/22/12 5:30 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Love your version.
5/22/12 0:45 AM
DorothyK said...
Your review has paved the way for those to follow. Thank you for that. I certainly will be reading your review again very carefully when I make this pattern. The final result is fabulous and looks great on you. Love the fabric, and the camisole is perfect.
5/21/12 10:45 PM
Patti B said...
This looks smashing on you and was worth the effort -- at least from my viewpoint. Thanks for a thorough and honest review.
5/21/12 8:15 PM
marthamyers said...
I love the interesting design you describe here. To me, a possible puzzle is (almost) as important as the final outcome. Thanks for sharing your insights.
5/21/12 8:13 PM
mhoutz said...
Oh, you brave woman! I bet all of us who snapped up this pattern will think about it a little! Your final top is beautiful...kudos for hanging in there!
5/21/12 8:13 PM
karen n said...
Thanks for tackling this pattern so early on! I love how it looks and maybe even a flubbed up version will look cool!
5/21/12 7:08 PM
kkkkaty said...
Love your review, as always. I bought this pattern, and love the look, but will be sure to avoid sewing it until I have a lot of free time and no distractions...
5/21/12 6:52 PM
annie11 said...
I love your results. Too bad that it took so much head scratching to get there! I bought that same knit print- it looks really nice on you. Thank you for your helpful review!
5/21/12 6:49 PM
sherri930 said...
Thank you for that detailed review. I've seen this pattern and have admired it. However, not sure I'm ready to tackle it now! Looks good on you!
5/21/12 6:30 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh - puzzle well solved to result in a masterpiece! Can't believe you went through all of that!!! I think the best change was to a knit fabric. The fit, flow, drape, and look of comfort I think are all really nice and you look fabulous wearing it!
5/21/12 5:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7607

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Portabello Pixie Analise

photo
by: Jenny Jo

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

More Info