Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8813 (Misses' Dress ) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1437 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/12 11:18 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mrsbewley said...
Lovely dress! Thanks for the review - I've got this pattern on my short list.
5/21/12 11:44 AM
crazygrad said...
Really pretty! I think your dress looks better than the pattern envelope version.
5/21/12 11:46 AM
callmeRuth said...
Beautiful dress! I like the way you accessorize. Oh, and you look lovely in a welder mask. :)
5/21/12 11:58 AM
cleverkitty said...
what a beauty this dress is, suits your hair color and skin tone nicely. Solar Eclipse on your beautiful yard adds to the charm of these photos :)
5/21/12 12:06 PM
Ann Smith said...
You are a riot. I love the Solar Eclipse mask. Beautiful dress.
5/21/12 12:16 PM
VogueMistress said...
Looks terrific on you! An I love the eclipse photos.
5/21/12 12:42 PM
m/m said...
Lovely and great for the summer. Is it true to size or oversized in the neck/shoulders/armhole area like many Marcy Tilton patterns?
5/21/12 2:27 PM
smwknits said...
Love your dress! I ordered that pattern the instant it appeared on the Vogue website and I think it'll be next on my cutting table. Glad to hear it was a quick sew. Any thoughts on using elastic thread (in the bobbin) for the front gathers?
5/21/12 2:35 PM
RadarRadiance said...
So cute and looks really comfy to wear.
5/21/12 2:50 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you for the comments! m/m - I think this one is true to sizing in the neck/shoulder/armhole areas and not oversized at all. Smwknits- Use of elastic thread in bobbin might work except the amount to be gathered might be too much for how that technique works. Instead, perhaps a couple strands (for strength) of the elastic sewing thread could be used in lieu of the suggested perle cotton thread on the stage where it is zig zagged over to create the gathering chanel. This way if the fabric used is a woven, then a bit of fitting stretch/ease will be provided by the use of elastic.
5/21/12 2:57 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! Looks great on you.
5/21/12 3:19 PM
zoe said...
That is just beautiful!
5/21/12 4:21 PM
Christas said...
Soooo pretty! I love it!
5/21/12 5:20 PM
sherri930 said...
I really like this - had my eye on this pattern so I appreciate what you had to say about it. Looks very nice on you. (Tried to watch the eclipse as well because here in Lubbock Texas we were suppose to get the end - NOT - cloud coverage....:(
5/21/12 7:04 PM
marthamyers said...
Oh, my, what a fabulous dress for a solar eclipse. Or any occasion. I'm so glad to see your review. I have a muslin cut out and sitting next to my machine as I type. It is literally muslin because I do not want to use knit. Hope it looks half as wonderful as yours!
5/21/12 8:08 PM
goal100 said...
Beautiful dress! Great accessories! Love the backdrop!
5/22/12 8:10 AM
DaisyA said...
Great dress, great accessories, great mask! Now I am really psyched to tackle this pattern!
5/24/12 7:05 AM
KathySews said...
Great dress. I have my eye on it as a great beach/vacation dress for hot weather
5/24/12 8:38 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Love your version of this dress! I'm currently working on this & hope it turns out as nice as yours. Great review!
5/24/12 11:24 AM
marec said...
This is a beautiful dress on you. I love the choice of ikat fabric, and how you have accessorized the dress. I am on my way up to Portland for fabric shopping...so glad I found your review ;-)
5/25/12 10:47 AM
Barbara V said...
Thank you for comments and encouragement. Marec - "Take me with you"!!!!!
5/25/12 10:54 AM
CypGrl said...
Love your dress.any thoughts on sewing it for a petite? I have the pattern and fabric already.
5/25/12 6:48 PM
Barbara V said...
Hi CypGrl, I think this pattern lends itself nicely to being adjusted for petite sizing. Lengthen/shorten lines are marked on the pattern near the waistline, so bringing those low set pockets up would be easy. Just add back any length you would want at the hemline. The dolman sleeves could be sewn with deeper underarm seams for smaller frame and I believe (my theory, but not tested) adjustments to the width of the oversized pockets could be decreased to gain the right proportions if desired as follows: Width could be folded out of the center of pocket areas on pieces #2 & #3, and then the lower portion of piece #1 would need to be redrafted to fit the corresponding narrowed edge of piece #3. There is ample width around the dress, aproximately 75 inches, so folding out a few inches in reducing the pockets will still result in the full, loose dress. Good luck - anxious to see your version as well as others!
5/26/12 6:22 PM
Rebecca D said...
Great dress and I love the idea to style it with a belt. That might not have occurred to me. It's on my short list, too. Thanks for being so responsive to everyone's questions. It really rounds out the review.
5/28/12 7:48 AM
CypGrl said...
Yes, thanks so much for your response. It was very helpful to me. I am making it for someone else and want to be sure that it works.
5/28/12 11:57 AM
JillyBe said...
I just realized that Vogues are on sale right now at JA's! I loved seeing your dress in person - convinced me that I need to zip off & get this pattern now :)
6/1/12 9:49 PM
DorothyK said...
How did I miss this review? I guess I have an excuse: Hawaii. This dress is wonderful. It is especially perfect for welding or viewing eclipses, but I'm sure it's appropriate for many other events :-) I am so glad to see your review. I do want to make it soon!
6/2/12 10:43 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, you're the best looking welder I've ever seen, even if you DO only work during the solar eclipses. :o) I would have never thought to put a belt with this dress, but it looks GREAT -- WITH and WITHOUT, in fact. :o)
7/1/12 1:18 AM
allycovey said...
This is a masterpiece!!!!! Great job and great Blog
7/25/12 5:46 PM
Amiejean said...
Love it! The fabric is great. The colors are wonderful on you. Iam getting and making this for upcoming summer.
12/28/12 7:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Burda 8292 Coats
photo
Review by lbrundage on 10/19/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8235 Misses Dress
photo
Review by mimi g. on 4/14/08
Read Review

Burda 7021 Pattern
Burda 7021 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3775 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3775 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us