SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2012-104 (Satin Pencil Skirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 225 times 
Reviewed by:rabitgrl
photo

 
 
About rabitgrlstar
OR USA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/12 3:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mich23 said...
Thanks for the review. Been planning to make this for a while, and this has given me a couple of things to think about - namely elastic and fit! Hmm... Seem to be a fair few pencil skirt patterns in BurdaStyle this year tho, so lots to choose from.
5/24/12 4:02 PM
rabitgrl said...
Mich23 I think it is a skirt worth trying. I hope my review did not dissuade you. I really have very little experience with pencil skirt making and wearing, but I think this one fits as it is meant to. However, going down a size might assure a more snug fit.
5/24/12 4:06 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
The fitting issue might be attributed to more fullness in the area than needed. You might have to decrease horizontally and vertically, making sure your hemline is even.This si usually a problem resulting from flat buttocks because the skirt collapses when not supported by the body. I recognize that this might not be the answer you need (or want). I like the skirt and love the cat.
5/24/12 9:27 PM
rabitgrl said...
Thanks Sue, you seem to know what you are talking about on the fit issue. I am not very good at identifying the root of fitting problems, so I appreciate your insight :o)
5/24/12 10:34 PM
Levone said...
Cute skirt! This skirt is on my list to sew as well so your review has been very helpful.
5/27/12 6:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-9

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now