Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5581 (Men's, boys' shirt shorts hat) thumbsup - Type:Mens
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 149 times 46 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:HDWen
photo
Friend of PR
About HDWenstar
AZ USA
Member since: 12/26/11
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/12 7:12 PM
Last Updated:5/24/12 7:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Kids(boys & girls)    Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Hmm, look good for all the trouble you had. Glad you brought the lack of a waistband to my attention. Most people who have sewn this have reviewed the shirt and been happy, but I do see the problem for men with the turned and faced waist (no waistband). The Kwik Sew shorts I have for men all have a separate waistband and normal pockets (they don't narrow down like these do). Looks like a good 1st effort and I'm sure your mods will make dh happier with the next pair.
5/24/12 9:15 PM
sewtofit said...
It is nice for you to rejoin the fold..(the sewing fold that is). The pants look good. But you will soon find that the RTW versions of mens pants is a little more involved. I would suggest a David Coffin book on trousers or tailoring if you really want to do the "right" treatments for mens pants. Good luck and welcome back.
5/24/12 11:26 PM
Margaret said...
These look good and I hope the further modifications work out well too. The zippers definitely get easier with practice.
5/25/12 4:41 AM
RLL said...
These look good and I know what you mean about the waist. I made them a couple years ago for my hubby and they look good but he does not wear them much because of the lack of waistband. Keep working on the zippers, as Margaret said, it does get easier and just take your time.
5/25/12 8:19 AM
HDWen said...
Thank you all. KwikSew pattern ok, YES a book on trousers would be great too - and just learning patience and keep on trucking, errr sewing :-)
5/25/12 2:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Kwik Sew 3298 Briefs
photo
Review by Judy Kski on 10/21/13
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern
Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8462
photo
Review by my horse on 2/6/11
Read Review

New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us