Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6643 (Misses Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 812 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/12 2:37 PM
Last Updated:7/18/12 1:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fictionfan said...
Very pretty! This border print is gorgeous fabric, so of course you are obsessed. If the photo is of you wearing the dress, never say you are apple shaped! Apples are bigger in the waist in proportion to narrower shoulders and hips. That is, shaped like an apple, near spherical. You appear to have a defined waist so it's unlikely that you are a rectangle. You are clearly not pear-shaped, so you must be a triangle or an hourglass. You look like the X version (as opposed to 8 version) hourglass in this dress, though the skirt could be hiding a triangle (wider at shoulders, narrower at hips). You are right, this pattern seems to flatter most everyone. Thanks for your review.
6/12/12 4:11 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I didn't realize there were so many different shapes now! I'm definitely broader through the shoulders/ribs than the hips. I do have a defined waist, but I would say it's proportional to my hips versus my freakishly large ribcage. Typically I cut a straight 10 and then alter the waist and hips down 1-2 sizes depending on the design and if I want a fitted garment. This one I cut a straight 10 with no alterations. Basically even though I'm only a 2 in RTW, if you put me in a strapless gown, I look like a linebacker!
6/12/12 7:59 PM
Fictionfan said...
Triangle! Very helpful to know when choosing styles that will flatter you best. Many gymnasts are triangles, so wider shoulders must provide an advantage in upper body strength. You might want to look up broad shoulder adjustment. DD is tall, thin, and has broad shoulders, so I've learned to do this. It's easy and can make such a difference in how comfortably the sleeves and bodice fit! You won't have to stick to sleeveless garments for your best fitting clothes. :-)
6/12/12 10:39 PM
Joanna in Western Australia said...
Gorgeous fabric! I agree with Fictionfan regarding your shape. How we all keep learning new things about ourselves through sewing!
6/12/12 11:36 PM
zoe said...
Just gorgeous! Absolutely love your sari fabric. I'm also using another silk vintage sari for my current project. I also keep being drawn to those prints in spite of the slippery, difficult silks. I have 9 more silk saris!
6/13/12 10:47 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Beautiful fabric and beautiful dress!
6/13/12 6:35 PM
zoe said...
How nice to see these great detailed pictures of the fabric, and construction details. Your fabric is so exquisite! Yes; it is an obsession; once you start looking at, and buying vintage saris it's hard to stop. I just bought 2 more! Glad to see I have a partner in crime! :)
7/18/12 2:21 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Haha, Zoe you absolutely have a partner in crime! As I type this, I'm soaking silks in gelatin right now in preparation for my next project. I'm so excited to try that as you recommended. Let's spread the word on saris!
7/18/12 4:33 PM
grays08 said...
Thanks for the detailed review with the tips. Your dress is beautiful as is the fabric - love them! I love this pattern and had not seen it before.
7/18/12 6:59 PM
zoe said...
I'm really looking forward to seeing the upcoming sari project you are preparing for. I'll be interested to see how you think that recipe works for you. I'm quite sure you'll really like what it does for making it easier to work with the silk.
7/18/12 9:52 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! This is beautiful! I see why you're obsessed. The fabric is gorgeous!
7/18/12 10:42 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh Snap, this is the B.O.M.B!
7/18/12 11:48 PM
KatC83 said...
You've done an amazing job with the fit. I can't blame you for loving that fabric, it's just beautiful!
7/19/12 7:27 AM
ak21 said...
I too have been working with saries for years..the colours & patterns cannot be outdone. i feel like ive found my "soulmate of saris" :-). your dress is wicked!
12/28/12 8:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Marfy 1637 jacket
photo
Review by Re Becca on 4/30/11
Read Review

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-137 Boy's Shirt
photo
Review by EveS on 5/22/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2297 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2297 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1269 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1269 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us