SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7975 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE JACKET)

63 more reviews
Viewed 854 times 
Reviewed by:Maree P
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Maree Pstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/12 1:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Fran G said...
Maree..thanks so much for your additional explanation concerning the lining and jacket fringing..I understand what you did now!
6/21/12 9:13 AM
Catbird said...
Fantastic jacket, perfectly styled to look very 'you'! I love the slim simplicity of it, and love the fit and subtle details as well.
6/18/12 12:12 PM
Sharonspils said...
Wonderful jacket and the houndstooth, very stylish.
6/18/12 0:16 AM
AncientElna said...
Your perseverance paid off, Maree -- lovely jacket and the fringe softens the houndstooth just the right amount! Super look and looks beautiful on you!
6/17/12 7:22 PM
Maree P said...
Thanks everyone for your kind comments. You really make a difference to my sartorial confidence. Dear Fran G - in relation to your question. 1. Sandwich shell and lining together - have scores of pins over the whole jacket or tailor tack all over (just like getting a quilt ready for quilting). 2. Trim off the 1. 5cm seam allowance all around - as this would have been used to bag the lining to the shell. 3. Measure in 1cm around the edge. Tuck under lining (tack if you prefer) and sew on the 1cm line with short small zig zag (I think my stitch was 1 length 1 width). I tried to show the lining tucked in on the photo but you may not be able to see it. 4. Then fringe the fabric. 5. It is preferable if applying interfacing all over not to have interfacing going right to the edge. Fran, if this is not clear please message me. Taa.
6/17/12 7:05 PM
jenleeC said...
Great jacket! Thanks for the review as I have this one in the cue and planned on using basic sewing techniques rather than the full couture methods. Your has worked very well.
6/17/12 9:33 AM
mochimo said...
Fantastic jacket! Tres chic but very modern at the same time!
6/17/12 8:37 AM
Fran G said...
Very chic jacket..styled beautifully..very current. Can you expound a bit more on your method of attaching the lining to the jacket fabric please? You trimmed off the SA on the lining and left a raw edge when zigzagging to the raw edge of the jacket? Did you turn under some of the lining before zigging to jacket? The lining photos do not appear to have a "raw" edge. I love your jacket as it appears soft and lightweight. Thanks for the review and any further explanation you can give me, although your review is very thorough and complete..it's just that one little part that confuses me.
6/17/12 8:03 AM
pdiddly said...
great looking jacket - I have bought some similar fabric to make a Chanel type jacket
6/17/12 2:21 AM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely jacket!
6/17/12 1:53 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I'm joining the chorus of love, love, love. It looks fabulous on you, love the houndstooth. I liked the leatherish trim too but agree about the waviness. What a pity. However I am a fan of the fringing also.
6/17/12 0:55 AM
hme75 said...
I love this. While I love the look, the Chanel jacket doesn't fit into my lifestyle. But this, this I could do! I think the fringed edges are perfect. Thanks for the review.
6/17/12 0:09 AM
MNBarb said...
I've never been interested in this pattern since, like you, I don't consider myself "Chanel-ish". Now that I've seen your lovely, sportier version I'm getting tempted. Pairing it with comfy jeans and sweater is perfect!
6/16/12 9:01 PM
Erin D said...
The fringed edges look really great-it's a nice contrast between classic and modern. Hope you enjoy wearing it!
6/16/12 6:05 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous jacket! Great job.
6/16/12 3:35 PM
PattyE said...
Fabulous jacket!
6/16/12 10:57 AM
USMCMom said...
Very chic and it looks wonderful on you! The fringe really makes it. And a very informative review. Thanks!
6/16/12 10:12 AM
MissLadyAudrey said...
I love the finished jacket....
6/16/12 10:11 AM
carolynw said...
Love your jacket - I have almost the identical fabric (from EOS) and wasn't quite sure what I wanted to do with it - thanks to your review problem solved!
6/16/12 9:57 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket.
6/16/12 9:26 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a lovely jacket! Thanks for the construction tips....very helpful.
6/16/12 8:22 AM
mollyshark said...
Spectacular. I like your edges and the tip on the sleeves.
6/16/12 7:34 AM
cocosloft said...
Really like this on you. Fringed edges are perfect!
6/16/12 6:08 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
...
6/16/12 4:59 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
...
6/16/12 4:59 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Did not think DJ's at all - but what a smart jacket!
6/16/12 4:59 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very chic, and an impressive effort. The fringed edge is much better than the leather trim.
6/16/12 4:11 AM
CynthiaSue said...
totally gorgeous. first review I've bothered to click on in weeks!!!
6/16/12 2:12 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket! It must have been annoying to remove the vinyl trim after all your work :( but I like the final deconstructed look. And I know what you mean about houndstooth :) at least fabric in flat form. As a jacket I don't think of DJ's. Nice matching of the houndstooth too.
6/16/12 1:52 AM
Renata said...
My first thought when I saw it was Chanel rather than David Jones (dept store). I like it very much. I also prefer the raw edge. All your procrastination paid off in the end with a lovely jacket. Wear it well.
6/16/12 1:37 AM
Terri A said...
I have the same concerns about the style but this looks just very cool on you. It's great enough I might even try it...
6/16/12 1:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Simplicity 5190

photo
by: lsaspacey

Review
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

More Info