Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7975 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 825 times 60 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Maree P
photo
Friend of PR
About Maree Pstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/20/09
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/12 1:27 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri A said...
I have the same concerns about the style but this looks just very cool on you. It's great enough I might even try it...
6/16/12 1:31 AM
Renata said...
My first thought when I saw it was Chanel rather than David Jones (dept store). I like it very much. I also prefer the raw edge. All your procrastination paid off in the end with a lovely jacket. Wear it well.
6/16/12 1:37 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket! It must have been annoying to remove the vinyl trim after all your work :( but I like the final deconstructed look. And I know what you mean about houndstooth :) at least fabric in flat form. As a jacket I don't think of DJ's. Nice matching of the houndstooth too.
6/16/12 1:52 AM
CynthiaSue said...
totally gorgeous. first review I've bothered to click on in weeks!!!
6/16/12 2:12 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very chic, and an impressive effort. The fringed edge is much better than the leather trim.
6/16/12 4:11 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Did not think DJ's at all - but what a smart jacket!
6/16/12 4:59 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
...
6/16/12 4:59 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
...
6/16/12 4:59 AM
cocosloft said...
Really like this on you. Fringed edges are perfect!
6/16/12 6:08 AM
mollyshark said...
Spectacular. I like your edges and the tip on the sleeves.
6/16/12 7:34 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a lovely jacket! Thanks for the construction tips....very helpful.
6/16/12 8:22 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous jacket.
6/16/12 9:26 AM
carolynw said...
Love your jacket - I have almost the identical fabric (from EOS) and wasn't quite sure what I wanted to do with it - thanks to your review problem solved!
6/16/12 9:57 AM
MissLadyAudrey said...
I love the finished jacket....
6/16/12 10:11 AM
USMCMom said...
Very chic and it looks wonderful on you! The fringe really makes it. And a very informative review. Thanks!
6/16/12 10:12 AM
PattyE said...
Fabulous jacket!
6/16/12 10:57 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous jacket! Great job.
6/16/12 3:35 PM
Erin D said...
The fringed edges look really great-it's a nice contrast between classic and modern. Hope you enjoy wearing it!
6/16/12 6:05 PM
MNBarb said...
I've never been interested in this pattern since, like you, I don't consider myself "Chanel-ish". Now that I've seen your lovely, sportier version I'm getting tempted. Pairing it with comfy jeans and sweater is perfect!
6/16/12 9:01 PM
hme75 said...
I love this. While I love the look, the Chanel jacket doesn't fit into my lifestyle. But this, this I could do! I think the fringed edges are perfect. Thanks for the review.
6/17/12 0:09 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I'm joining the chorus of love, love, love. It looks fabulous on you, love the houndstooth. I liked the leatherish trim too but agree about the waviness. What a pity. However I am a fan of the fringing also.
6/17/12 0:55 AM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely jacket!
6/17/12 1:53 AM
pdiddly said...
great looking jacket - I have bought some similar fabric to make a Chanel type jacket
6/17/12 2:21 AM
Fran G said...
Very chic jacket..styled beautifully..very current. Can you expound a bit more on your method of attaching the lining to the jacket fabric please? You trimmed off the SA on the lining and left a raw edge when zigzagging to the raw edge of the jacket? Did you turn under some of the lining before zigging to jacket? The lining photos do not appear to have a "raw" edge. I love your jacket as it appears soft and lightweight. Thanks for the review and any further explanation you can give me, although your review is very thorough and complete..it's just that one little part that confuses me.
6/17/12 8:03 AM
mochimo said...
Fantastic jacket! Tres chic but very modern at the same time!
6/17/12 8:37 AM
jenleeC said...
Great jacket! Thanks for the review as I have this one in the cue and planned on using basic sewing techniques rather than the full couture methods. Your has worked very well.
6/17/12 9:33 AM
Maree P said...
Thanks everyone for your kind comments. You really make a difference to my sartorial confidence. Dear Fran G - in relation to your question. 1. Sandwich shell and lining together - have scores of pins over the whole jacket or tailor tack all over (just like getting a quilt ready for quilting). 2. Trim off the 1. 5cm seam allowance all around - as this would have been used to bag the lining to the shell. 3. Measure in 1cm around the edge. Tuck under lining (tack if you prefer) and sew on the 1cm line with short small zig zag (I think my stitch was 1 length 1 width). I tried to show the lining tucked in on the photo but you may not be able to see it. 4. Then fringe the fabric. 5. It is preferable if applying interfacing all over not to have interfacing going right to the edge. Fran, if this is not clear please message me. Taa.
6/17/12 7:05 PM
AncientElna said...
Your perseverance paid off, Maree -- lovely jacket and the fringe softens the houndstooth just the right amount! Super look and looks beautiful on you!
6/17/12 7:22 PM
Sharonspils said...
Wonderful jacket and the houndstooth, very stylish.
6/18/12 0:16 AM
Catbird said...
Fantastic jacket, perfectly styled to look very 'you'! I love the slim simplicity of it, and love the fit and subtle details as well.
6/18/12 12:12 PM
Fran G said...
Maree..thanks so much for your additional explanation concerning the lining and jacket fringing..I understand what you did now!
6/21/12 9:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2010-108 Slim trousers
photo
Review by inkstain on 6/29/13
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)
Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3120
photo
Review by sewsue on 8/9/04
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6178 Pattern
New Look 6178 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern
Kwik Sew 2589 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us