Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6171 (Misses' Lined Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 605 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:hpsauce
photo
About hpsaucestar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/3/09
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/12 1:59 PM
Last Updated:5/29/12 2:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
What a great touch, love the ruffle on it! Can't believe you got the whole jacket out of one hide for $30, it looks fantastic!
5/29/12 2:33 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is absolutely FABULOUS!!!!! I love the ruffles.
5/29/12 3:15 PM
BexInMD said...
What a fabulous jacket! The ruffles are simply amazing. Love the "mad" lining.
5/29/12 3:18 PM
JuanitaVA said...
Great job! I love the detailing and the lining fabric. The inner pocket was a nice touch. Good for you sticking with it to make those ruffles.
5/29/12 3:27 PM
Curly26 said...
That jacket is rockin.
5/29/12 4:08 PM
velosewer said...
Now that was sorth sewing. I'm really pleased you have you sewing motivation back!
5/29/12 4:37 PM
CCQ said...
Wow - that looks awesome and glad you persevered with the ruffles - nice touch! It's in my stash and waiting to be sewn :)
5/29/12 5:10 PM
hme75 said...
WOW- this is fantastic!! And the leather seems to be great quality as well. I can't believe it was only $30. I love your camel jacket just as much. Beautiful.
5/29/12 9:03 PM
ArtAttack said...
Biker meets elegance...love the unexpected combo!
5/29/12 10:12 PM
heathergwo said...
Awesome jacket! Love the ruffling - what a pay off from those hours of work! Really good job - you almost make it sound like leather is easy to work with... great review!
5/30/12 0:35 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Amazing and impressive!
5/30/12 2:33 AM
pdiddly said...
what a terrific jacket and the ruffles were worth the effort - I too am so jealous of your $30 leather - I have some sued still waiting for me to sew - I must get going on it.
5/30/12 3:07 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautifully done. You do make it sound easy to work with leather. Very encouraging!
5/30/12 8:48 AM
redside said...
Wow! That's all I can say.
5/30/12 9:29 AM
caper81 said...
Wow, this jacket is fantastic!! Nicely done :)
5/30/12 9:33 AM
lcdrbetty said...
What more can be said!? This jacket is way cool. Nicely done!
5/30/12 12:21 PM
barebear said...
Oh my gosh, this is gorgeous! I love the ruffles! Your seams and topstitching looks really professional. :) Way to go!
5/30/12 12:38 PM
MNBarb said...
Why have I not made this pattern? It's in my stash, but perhaps I should just have you make a jacket for me. Your black leather with the ruffles is so professionally done it's unbelievable! I love it and you look fantastic in it. Congrats on your perfection!
5/30/12 1:25 PM
CraftAddict said...
Great job. I absolutely ADORE the camel one!
5/30/12 4:29 PM
tsedai said...
Fabulous!
5/30/12 7:38 PM
dawn so cal said...
Wow! Beautiful. And impressive!
5/31/12 6:23 AM
mangoflavor said...
Great look!
5/31/12 6:56 AM
homewerk said...
So full of awesome-ness!
6/4/12 1:55 AM
JenniferMM said...
This looks fantastic! Indeed, the ruffles were the perfect touch. Great work persevering with those tricky things. I also adore the lining and the hat pocket. Adorable finishing touches!
6/5/12 8:40 AM
Aroura said...
Wow, the ruffles are an amazing touch, worth the trouble. Great jacket, love it!!
6/5/12 7:00 PM
meggipeg said...
Wow! I thought I got a cheap leather jacket from Bali last year at $150. This is really impressive for $30. Makes me think about making one. Great job.
6/5/12 10:02 PM
CConverse said...
Fantastic! Can't decide what my favorite feature is, the ruffles or that awesome lining.
6/8/12 10:09 AM
Aless said...
Absolutely amazing!!!!!
6/14/12 2:46 AM
heathergwo said...
I think you were robbed of the first place prize in this contest. This jacket is AMAZING and I can't believe you've only been sewing for 3 yrs! You're my sewing hero! Fab jacket & LOVE the lining and pocket inside - too clever!
6/22/12 7:03 PM
ArtAttack said...
Congrats on placing in the Natural Fibers contest!!
6/23/12 2:13 PM
kremmer said...
I totally love it! What a wonderful jacket! Well done to you!
6/24/12 11:46 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! It's gorgeous, and I can't believe you only spent $30 on the leather! Did you "crop" the sleeves? How big was the hide?
12/1/12 11:40 AM
slmstyle said...
great jacket, thanks for the detailed review!
1/27/13 11:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6795
photo
Review by avril jane on 8/25/13
Read Review

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4780
photo
Review by angi_nagel on 12/18/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4012 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4012 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us