SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Polly top (Polly top)

4 more reviews
Viewed 550 times 
Reviewed by:LynnRowe
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LynnRowestarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 3/9/09
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 52 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/12 12:49 PM
Last Updated:5/28/12 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Loop51 said...
Beautiful! You did a great job sewing the silk/lycra knit.
5/28/12 12:54 PM
JEF said...
Love it. That color is just perfectly beautiful.
5/28/12 1:27 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
So pretty and you did an amazing job!
5/28/12 8:50 PM
meggy said...
I love it too! It looks perfect.
5/29/12 5:18 AM
meggy said...
I love it too! It looks perfect.
5/29/12 5:18 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very nice! Another great style arc pattern! Wish they weren't so expense for me! Shipping to Florida is a costly !
5/29/12 5:22 AM
JanyceR said...
Beautiful top. Another one for my StyleArc wish list
5/29/12 8:11 AM
cleverkitty said...
very very nice top I agree the waterfall looks just right. how did you do the neck binding? did you bring it to the front and stitch it. I have been looking at these patterns, I am about to splurge on purchasing one, shipping to the States is as much as the patterns.
5/29/12 9:51 AM
portercs said...
Great job!
5/29/12 11:23 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous top!
5/29/12 2:11 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Love this top! I wish someone in the states would carry them so we could save a little $ on shipping.
5/29/12 6:00 PM
LynnRowe said...
I wish someone in Canada would sell them, for the same reason, lol! Clever kitty, I used my Coverstitch machine and binder (which for some reason was hiding out in my tableware drawer) on the neck binding. You could also sew the binding strip right sides together to the neckline, stitch a 3/8" seam, and then turn the binding stip to the inside of the top. Secure by straight stitching with a single or twin needle. :)
5/29/12 7:21 PM
Lynmarie said...
Great job! Looks fantastic !!!!!
5/30/12 6:47 AM
Karen Carr said...
I've been thinking about trying a StyleArc pattern for a while and your lovely top has made me order. Great review - thanks.
5/30/12 8:31 AM
cleverkitty said...
thanks LynnRowe for the tip on the neck binding, that is how I do it except now I have a coverstitch machine and from the looks of your binding I neeeeed the binder attachment!!!! I just purchased my first style arc pattern yesterday thanks for the shove I needed to buy it. I got a bonus pattern so the cost is justified in my mind. Thanks for responding :)
6/2/12 3:25 PM
LynnRowe said...
I seldom use my binder; you have to keep one seam open, with binders, and that interruption in the binding at the one shoulder seam bugs me, so normally I bind "in the round" and just coverstitch it. Don't tell anyone you got this from me, but when I want a REALLY perfect coverstitching (and not using a binder), coz it'll really show up on the finished garment, I hand-turn the coverstitch wheel for each stitch in the "must be really really perfect" zone. Total precision and control. Feels like cheating...but I don't care. :D
6/2/12 3:47 PM
AnneM said...
Great shirt, and you can tell looking at it that the fabric has silk in it. Beautiful.
7/1/12 10:46 AM
chucklehead said...
Thanks for the review! I just received this pattern and am very glad I ordered it. Can't wait to give it a go.
3/21/13 6:32 PM
Sewphie said...
Nice job -- what a beautiful top! I've been on the fence about these patterns because of the shipping cost, but you may have influenced me to go ahead....
4/27/13 2:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2012-25

photo
by: Steph huck

Review
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now