SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5057 

1 more reviews
Viewed 234 times 
Reviewed by:RadarRadiance
photo

 
 
About RadarRadiancestar
NV USA
Member since: 10/24/07
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/12 3:25 PM
Last Updated:4/24/14 10:55 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5057 by RadarRadiance

  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5057
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Home Dec    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Update April 24, 2014 with new view of the pattern.

This is an old review but I wanted to post view D of the pattern for valances. I had plenty of fabric left so decided to also do my family room with this fabric but used view D.....Love it!!! I think this pattern is great and gives you step by step instructions. Love the wood mountings!
Here is a link to the picture:

View D

This is a great pattern to keep in your stash. My windows were different sizes but a little math and you can make them any size!



Added pictures of the mounting board with "L" brackets, they are't screwed in but will show how easy it is to make a mounting board. It was much easier than I thought it would be

Pattern Description:
Window Treatments: Package includes instructions and patterns for window treatments to fit 36" 42" and 48" windows. 12"-15" deep depending on which view you choose.

Pattern Sizing:
36/42/48 inch windows

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, I was very happy with the results.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The view I did was very easy with the instructions, this is a Waverly pattern and the fabric I chose was also Waverly.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The pattern calls out for a 4"x1" board to mount your valance on. When you go to purchase this size it is actually only 3.5 inch in width but the pattern must have know this and no adjustment was needed and it fit the width of the board perfectly. The end pleats are to be on the corner and it worked perfectly with the return of the valance. The instructions for stapling the valace on the board were also very helpful because I've never done this before. I was pleased at how easy it was to make this style valance and mount it. The pattern was very easy to sew up and the piping worked out well. One thing I didn't like about the pattern they don't show you to clip the curves before you turn the pattern right side out. I did clip and knotch all the bottom curves because the whole lower edge has a scallop to it. I also graded the seam allowance after sewing so I wouldn't have all 4 layers at the same length in my seam allowance. The valance is higher where the pleats are and then curves down slightly between them and curves need to be clipped
It was a little busy and a pain marking all the lines where the pleats are because they get stitched down in tucks, 4 tucks total to each pleat and then each of the stitching lines. After the first pleat I made a template out of a stiff pellon leaving a small hole where I needed each mark to be for the upper and lower tucks and then the stitching lines, I placed the template over each pleat area and used my water soluble marker on the fabric. Faster and easier. I then used a chalk to draw a line between each dot.
I waited to have my husband cut the wood to length until after I had the valance done, this way I could lay the valance out and get it cut exactly to length. The mounting board is attached using little "L" brackets underneath. The pattern explains how to do this.

Fabric Used:
This was a Waverly home dec. cotton and I used a home dec. contrast for the buttons and piping. I found the fabric at Home Fabrics and Rugs, found it for $3 a yard!! The buttons cost almost as much as the whole valances! The price as gone up lots since I last purchased a covered button, 1 pkg. contained 2 buttons...luckily I had 40% off coupons! haha.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
View A that I made is 15" deep, since my windows are larger I wanted more length to the valance, I added 1" to the top and 2" to the bottom. I needed 51" and a 73" width for the windows I did so I had to recalculate the pattern to make it work with my windows. That was a challenge for me but I did get it to work out. The fabric is pieced to get the full width needed and I like where the pattern seams are so it isn't noticable when hung.
One tip from a McCalls valance pattern was to sew all your pieces together on your main fabric piece and when you need to cut your lining use that as your pattern laying it lengthwise and cut out the lining. Love that technique, no seams in the lining and it "of course" matched up perfect. Otherwise the Butterick pattern has you cutting all the pieces individually, the McCalls technique worked out best for me since I added length and width when I redrafted the pattern.
I also used 1.5 " covered buttons, pattern calls out for 1.25". I didn't wrap the pleats per pattern instructions, I thought it looked funky with the buttons because they would have stuck out too much and dangled with the shank on them. I layed the pleat flat at the bottom and stitched it down in the center and then attached the buttons.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I'm not sure if I will make this view again with the buttons, they are going into my sewing and quilting room so I liked the buttons for that room. I will most likely use other views in this pattern because I really like all of them and still have more rooms to decorate.
I do recommend this pattern, I love the look of all the valances shown. For me, I like them longer so would add length, I don't care for a short valance unless it is in the kitchen.

51" Sewing Room Valance
73" Quilting Room Valance
Close up of fabric

Conclusion:
I am so glad I tried mounting a valance on wood, it was way easier than I thought and I think it looks more custom than just a gather or rod valance. Something different for me so I don't have the same look in all my rooms

Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks fabulous. Love the fabric
6/2/12 3:44 PM
mudcat said...
This looks fantastic.
6/2/12 4:06 PM
cleverkitty said...
Very custom and professional coming from a former window treatment sewer. I have made many valances mounted on boards and yours looks A+ people pay big bucks for just this look. RadarRadiance your sewing skills did you justice figuring out pleats, trimming the curves and mounting it on the board. I swear I have sewed that fabric into something for someone??? Enjoy your accomplishment :)
6/2/12 4:25 PM
Pj3g said...
They look awesome!
6/2/12 10:06 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Beautiful!
6/4/12 8:24 AM
baquinnpa said...
Thanks for your detailed review and helpful suggestions. I have this pattern, and am intending to make View D for 4 windows. I need to modify the width to fit a double window, and was putting it off due to my relative lack of experience. Your suggestions and shortcuts are very helpful!
6/5/12 10:51 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Thanks so much for all the kind comments. I added a picture of the mounting board with L brackets to see how easy it is to make one.
6/5/12 4:09 PM
NEMDF said...
Very nice, and thank you for providing such a thorough review. I really need to make something for the living room and dining room windows. I love the effect of the piping/braid at the lower edge.
4/24/14 11:09 AM
sewingcanary said...
This is amazing. Your additional sewing touches have turned what is essentially a basic design into something so impressive. A must see in blow up view!
4/24/14 12:46 PM
supizoo said...
Well done on getting such a professional looking result. Great review!
4/24/14 4:56 PM
beanchor said...
I love these valances. They look professional with your added touches.
4/24/14 10:36 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Thank you for the comments, the pattern makes it easy and I think the piping is what makes them.
4/25/14 0:31 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Wonderful window treatments! The room looks very soothing.
4/25/14 8:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick 5057

photo
by: RadarRadia...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 264508-1000

photo
by: zoeope

Review