Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7398 (BLOUSE) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 515 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/12 1:30 PM
Last Updated:6/10/12 5:31 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnRowe said...
There appears to be two eyes and a mouth open in surprise...someone is caught underneath your top! :D Sorry this I didn't work out for you, it's beautifully sewn.
6/3/12 2:04 PM
LynnRowe said...
Before you chuck it (and rescue whoever is stuck underneath it), would it be possible to unsew the sleeves, cut down the side seams, and reattach the sleeves? If the shoulder area fit, maybe shaping new side seams would save it? It really is beautiful, other than the tent thing.
6/3/12 2:07 PM
Pj3g said...
The bowls made me laugh! They definitely caught my attention and made me take a look! The blouse doesn't look as bad as you describe, but I understand what you are saying. All in all, a very helpful review!
6/3/12 4:38 PM
cleverkitty said...
Elizabeth has your wit thats for sure. I know what you mean about a tent making someone look even bigger. Only you would think of the bowls in the shirt LOL Someone is going to love this top....
6/3/12 4:43 PM
AuntieShel said...
I did a doubletake on your thumbprint and laughed when I clicked on it!! Corelle bowls, now that's funny!! Sorry this ended up in the trash as the sewing is exquisite. But thoroughly understand the unwanted circus tent look.
6/3/12 8:15 PM
jenleeC said...
I just had to click on the photo and see what was going on here! Bowls for boobs, very funny! What a pity the fit is so poor as your shirt looks quite lovely in the photo (minus the bowls, of course).
6/3/12 8:54 PM
JillyBe said...
Your thumbnail made me click, and I'm glad I did! Sorry for the sizing fail, but at least you've provided load of entertainment! ;D
6/3/12 9:34 PM
Barbara V said...
So sorry to read about the semi (truck) fitted blouse. Too bad, but thanks for helping other sewists!
6/3/12 10:19 PM
ArtAttack said...
Like others said I had to click to see what in the world was going on...too bad it is a lost cause, but hey, your review was quite entertaining!
6/3/12 11:50 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
I think the bowls help..HA
6/4/12 7:57 AM
JPForster said...
I, too, had to click on the thumbnail just to see what was going on - Barb, you are too funny!
6/4/12 8:25 AM
Sue Parrott said...
The bowls are funny, I couldn't imagine what sort of fabric manipulation you had to do for this pattern until I read the review. Too funny! Thanks for the honest review, I have come to love Burda patterns but will avoid this one!
6/4/12 9:41 AM
Dianne22 said...
Great review--love the humor. Isn't it interesting how Burda appears to use a size 2 model for the plus sized blouse; of course it looks different IRL! Seriously though, please do finish it before you donate it, you did such a beautiful job sewing it. Someone may find it fits perfectly or might use it belted.
6/4/12 10:38 AM
JOshiro said...
Aw, what a shame it didn't work! Thanks for the review, though. I too clicked after the thumbnail piqued my interest!
6/5/12 6:29 AM
TJSEWS said...
Thanks for the laugh!
6/6/12 3:27 PM
Fictionfan said...
Oh, I hope she likes this blouse once it is done! So much work to make it work! I really like the changes you've made to shape the hem and to make the body of the blouse more fitted. The style is very nice, and I love the color and the drape of the fabric. You've sewn it very well. Thanks for the warning and the revised review on the rescued garment.
6/10/12 9:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, GOOD WORK! You and your daughter have turned this top into a winner! You're so right about some of these plus-size patterns being tents, too, although USUALLY Burda isn't as bad about that. I can remember Nancy Zieman saying that you should never start with anything larger than a size 20 (or maybe she said 22), and then make your changes from there, because you lose the style in the larger patterns once you get above that size. I think she may be right about that in some instances. At any rate, your daughter is STYLIN' NOW, with your modifications to this great little top! :o)
7/1/12 1:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 1723
photo
Review by Larisa on 1/26/13
Read Review

McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
McCalls 6231 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )
McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5649 View B
photo
Review by Nikkij on 8/2/09
Read Review

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Fitting DVD
Pants Fitting DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us