Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2401 (1952 Design/Vintage Vogue) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 3127 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:beezy
photo
About beezystar
CT USA
Member since: 8/13/04
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/21/04 2:12 PM
Last Updated:8/24/07 11:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
What a blast from the past. This looks fantastic and I love the red. Great job.
12/21/04 2:27 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
OMG, that dress is fabulous! I clicked on the picture and my jaw dropped. Great job and excellent review! -Ann
12/21/04 2:29 PM
Debbie Cook said...
What an incredible dress!! You are going to be absolutely stunning!
12/21/04 2:29 PM
jlg said...
Beautiful. When this dress is reviewed, it looks so much better than I would imagine based on the envelope illustration, and I like the pattern illustration.
12/21/04 2:36 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
I love it !!!!!!!!! the color is delicious, the fabric is divine and you are not a beginner.
12/21/04 2:39 PM
Skymom said...
Wow, I love it, and I love your Christmas tree, too. I really need to make this dress....I wonder where I stashed that pattern...
12/21/04 3:50 PM
sewywabbit said...
THIS is gorgeous!! What a great dress for the holidays. Thanks for sharing it with us.
12/21/04 3:55 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
What an exquisite, amazing dress, perfect for Christmas. You can't even begin to imagine my envy....
12/21/04 4:06 PM
Hilary said...
WOW!!!! Gorgeous, just beautiful- the red velvet is *stunning*. I wish I had an excuse to wear this dress-thanks for sharing!
12/21/04 4:29 PM
Karen Bowers said...
wowee!!! what a craftswoman you are!
12/21/04 5:47 PM
PegL said...
Incredibly beautiful dress! Wow!
12/21/04 6:10 PM
CatherineN said...
I remember my mom making and wearing dresses like this. You will be festive and beautiful in it.
12/21/04 6:34 PM
Melody said...
That is a stunning dress. Thank you so much for the review. I really need to make this. Maybe it will be my spring reward.
12/21/04 6:47 PM
PVA said...
Oh, good grief! You have taken me back 50+ years! Now, that was a time when we purchased or made & wore beautiful clothes! Especially dresses! Oh, I remember a red dress I made for the holiday season in 1957! Thank you so much for taking me back, but I'm Waaay of topic! Your dress is just sublime! Your skills are awesome, & I do thank you for this review! (And, all the happy memories it brought back!)
12/21/04 7:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a gorgeous concoction. This dress is so lovely in velvet that surely it was worth the extra effort. All eyes will be on you when you wear this on Christmas.
12/21/04 7:56 PM
Pattern Junkie said...
Breathtaking! You did a fabulous job with this!
12/21/04 9:13 PM
mudcat said...
WOW! Your dress is lovely.
12/21/04 9:21 PM
drsue said...
They really knew how to design a great dress in the 50's! Yours is fantastic.
12/21/04 9:54 PM
Annika said...
Thanks for the review - I started to make this dress a while back in a stiff, greyish-teal dupioni silk - did a muslin for the bodice first and realized that it was about 3 inches too short for my torso - so I am glad to hear that you too had difficulty fitting the bodice. BTW - your velvet dress is toooo gorgeous for words!
12/21/04 9:58 PM
AnneM said...
You definitely have your red dress for Christmas. Very nice.
12/22/04 4:15 AM
Gloria Allender said...
What a beautiful dress!
12/22/04 6:12 AM
Ginger said...
That is one beautiful dress! I have loved that type of collar since I saw it on some dress Lucille Ball wore on I Love Lucy. I wonder how easy it would be to redraft some pattern collars for this one?!?
12/22/04 6:15 AM
layla said...
Absolutely Stunning !! The kind of results that makes us want to sew in the first place.
12/22/04 7:55 AM
cindyann said...
It's just amazing. Beautiful!
12/22/04 8:54 AM
McKavity said...
Gorgeous!
12/22/04 9:53 AM
meli88a said...
gorgeous! beautiful! Everytime I see this dress reviewed, I (a) with that I had an excuse for making this dress too (b) am envious at how beautifully it turns out, and wish my sewing skills were as good as the reviewer's. Very good job, and you will look fabulous in it!
12/22/04 10:44 AM
Modiste Madness said...
The perfect Christmas dress paired with a beautiful Christmas tree! Fabulous construction technique.
12/22/04 3:16 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I can't believe you actually managed to do this in velvet! Wow! You are brave, and very adept. What amazes me the most is that even though it is a pattern that should not be well suited for thicker fabric, it still has that fitted, glamorous, 40's look. This is a tribute to your sewing skills. Incredible!
12/22/04 5:18 PM
Jill Giard said...
Ooh! So pretty! What a great job and too perfect for Christmas.
12/22/04 6:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely stunning!! What a wonderful Christmas dress.
12/22/04 8:30 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Absoultely stunning!! What a wonderful Christmas dress.
12/22/04 8:30 PM
shard said...
AMAZING!
12/22/04 9:32 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely! Love Vintage Look.
12/23/04 5:43 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I love it...red, my fav, oolala...this would look sooooo good on me, lol. Thanks for the great review.
12/23/04 7:48 AM
Princepessa said...
I have to reiterate all that has been said above, that is an amazing dress you have made. I'm sure that you look stunning in it. I wish that I could sew half as well as you do.
12/23/04 8:43 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
If you get a chance, check out the January issue of Vogue. They have a portrait of Laura Bush in a dress by Oscar de la Renta that looks very much like this! -Ann
12/23/04 8:47 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I have to keep coming back and to look at your wonderful creation. It is stunning and the setting for the picture makes it a joy to looks at also.
12/24/04 9:14 PM
candyo said...
Wow!
12/30/04 4:31 PM
els said...
STUNNING, GORGEOUS DRESS.
12/30/04 5:20 PM
sewistObsessed said...
Ditto -- absolutely stunning
3/9/05 10:42 PM
mompea said...
An absolutely beautiful dress! Well done!
4/20/06 4:19 PM
Snow White said...
beautiful
9/17/06 6:39 PM
sewbehind said...
That is just beautiful. Stunning!
8/24/07 11:48 PM
Nancywin said...
This is such a beautiful dress! Did you know you are not showing up in the design gallery?
8/25/07 0:01 AM
mad4sewing said...
Thanks so much for your review. I have this pattern and wanted to make it, but when I looked at the pattern I could not figure out how to put the finished dress on. Thanks to you, I now realize that I may not be able to wear this dress since I have to pull it on. I am way to large busted and I don't think I could get it over my chest in the tighter areas unless I make it from a fabric with some stretch. Thanks so much for this very, very helpful review!!
8/25/07 0:35 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
The dress is beautiful. The extra time and effort with the velvet was worth it. It's a stunning garment. I just made one with a similar collart that includes a side zipper - it's easy enough to get on, but my husband has to help me get it off!
8/25/07 7:17 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Your dress is absolutely beautiful.
8/25/07 2:47 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Gorgeous. Thank you for the review.
8/25/07 10:17 PM
N_Vogue said...
Simply gorgeous! I too purchased this pattern and now I am so going to make it. Question? Would you suggest a fabric ? I love this dress. Thanks for posting.
8/27/07 0:03 AM
Anabolina said...
Wow, it looks fab. I'd wondered about this pattern, but you've inspired me to go pick it up in the next good sale.
8/27/07 1:08 AM
Lana E said...
OMG that is gorgeous! I was tempted to buy this pattern but opted for a different retro pattern, now I'm kicking my own teeth after seeing the result of you and the other reviewers. That dress is stunning, and I'm sure you would look fabulous in it.
12/21/08 8:24 PM
Gordita1616 said...
Thank you for sharing your work. The dress is amazing. I mentioned it on my blog at ikrod.blogspot.com. I'm considering making this dress and your version just may be the deciding factor for me to go for it. Thanks again.
6/17/09 12:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

No Pattern Used No Pattern Used SiovhonCouture
photo
Review by Bonnie123 on 4/7/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4021 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4021 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 5895 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4440
photo
Review by emo on 9/10/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 302 Pattern
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us