SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6027 (MISSES'/MISS PETITE DRESSES)

7 more reviews
Viewed 611 times 
Reviewed by:Claverie
photo

 
 
About Claveriestarstar
NC USA
Member since: 12/23/10
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/12 2:22 PM
Last Updated:6/4/12 3:56 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
Very nice job with the Threads inspired dress. I really like the play with the stripes. Too bad it is so deep and wide at the neck....so irritating. I made this dress some time ago for my DD with the same problem and she has wide shoulders and likes to bare more than she should, but still felt it was too much.
6/4/12 2:31 PM
Jrhee said...
Awesome dress in the stripes! I think it looks fine with the tank underneath, and it would probably look awesome under a jacket.
6/4/12 3:32 PM
Dilliander said...
I agree with Jrhee... You must find a way to wear this, it's too fabulous not to! You did an amazing job with the stripes :)
6/4/12 5:29 PM
cleverkitty said...
Wow this does look like the dress on the cover. I give you credit for trying. I have had dresses fit like this, frustrating to say the least now I look at patterns that may be too wide in the neck and pass them by. Good thing layering is in style maybe this could be a jumper.
6/4/12 5:46 PM
cleverkitty said...
Claverie this dress reminds me of the nightmare I had with the dress I posted #44 of my reviews, I feel your pain all over again....good luck...
6/4/12 5:54 PM
jlg said...
Beautiful chevrons. Great job.
6/4/12 7:35 PM
Annette1 said...
This is just gorgeous! I LOVE what you've done with the chevron design. PLEASE wear it! You have a perfect figure, and maybe you just FEEL like it's too low. It's always worse looking DOWN on it, as opposed to someone looking at your straight on. :o) I like the idea of a jumper, too. Whatever you decide, you MUST show off this beautiful design. :o)
6/5/12 1:36 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Can you visit somewhere really hot on holiday and wear it with pride?
6/5/12 1:50 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I find that happens a lot with Vogue. Sometimes I end up taking several miniature darts around the front neckline to pull it in. It makes it look like a design feature
6/5/12 2:34 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
This is really cute and the top underneath doesn't not look like an afterthought. Great job!!
6/5/12 7:41 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Great work!!! Lovely dress
6/5/12 7:47 AM
Andreahg said...
I love your chevrons! What a beautiful dress!
6/5/12 9:51 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
I looked at this dress idea in Threads too, and thought to myself: nice idea, but it looks like a lot of work. Your review confirmed that, but the results are certainly worth it for you. Great job.
6/5/12 10:03 AM
NJcowgirl said...
WOW, beautiful dress.
6/5/12 10:22 AM
Claverie said...
Oh, Gosh, Thanks y'all. To arianamaniacs: I just might take the neckline apart and put in some tiny darts -- probably won't be happy until I do. .... UPDATE: OMG. Sooooo much better! Put two small darts on each front half and two darts in the back near the zipper to close in the back gap. The dress fits like a dream now!
6/5/12 11:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 9949 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 3961

photo
by: Renren

Review