SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2053 (Side Pleat Sheath Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 799 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/12 10:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
well, it's really adorable on you, I hope you wear it!
6/5/12 10:59 AM
zoe said...
This is a beautiful dress. It looks lovely on you. What a wonderful review, with your links to your tutorial on lining a sleeveless dress. Your instructions and video were clear and easy to understand. I have puzzled over pictures of this method for a while now; now I feel I can go ahead and try it with some confidence. Thank you.
6/5/12 11:08 AM
marec said...
This looks really good on you and even though you have identified some issues with the pattern, you ended up with a flattering summer dress.
6/5/12 11:23 AM
pdiddly said...
I too think it looks great on you
6/5/12 11:39 AM
CraftAddict said...
Looks great! Good fit. And GREAT tutorials on your blog. I will definitely be adding them to my favorites and your blog to bloglovin!
6/5/12 11:40 AM
Elona said...
That dress is beautifully fitted and extraordinarily becoming to you. I think it's lovely.
6/5/12 12:08 PM
ArtAttack said...
This fits you like a glove! You should love it...great job!
6/5/12 12:19 PM
Mufffet said...
VERY nice - I think BURDA had a pattern like this recently in the mag. In fact, did you make that one as well? This is SOOO slim and lithe looking!
6/5/12 12:21 PM
Pamaro said...
What a great look on you! I have to disagree about pleats not being flattering on you. Those are sooooo flattering. Pretty dress.
6/5/12 12:22 PM
Clareew said...
I love it, it is classic with a twist. Great
6/5/12 1:13 PM
SewWil said...
I think your dress is very pretty and looks great on you.
6/5/12 2:46 PM
jennybaxt said...
I agree with everyone else. I think it looks lovely and flattering.
6/5/12 4:39 PM
Nan Kay said...
Understand the hesitation with upward laying pleats, but I think it is looking down at them that you don't like. The pictures show a totally flattering and well fitted dress! Looks fabulous.
6/5/12 5:19 PM
DreinPA said...
I wonder if the look would change if the the pleats were stitched in place for a short distance; in a radiating pattern. It might keep them crisper and not give the open over the belly feeling you have. Nonetheless it is a stellar dress for you, and I would not have guessed there was such a great degree of taper in the skirt. It is an excellent fit on you.
6/5/12 6:20 PM
kjcaron said...
What a pretty dress! It looks fabulous on you!
6/5/12 7:07 PM
Barbara V said...
I'll chime in too to say it is a very flattering dress on you!
6/5/12 7:25 PM
katlew03 said...
Beautiful job. I think the dress is very flattering.
6/5/12 8:04 PM
norie creates said...
Your dress is beautiful! Thanks for the tutorial. You make it look so easy!
6/5/12 10:56 PM
Jrhee said...
The pleats look perfect on you to me!
6/5/12 11:10 PM
Terri A said...
That is soooooooo cute! Really adorable and the color and pleating just perfect.
6/6/12 0:08 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I was so surprised at your comment that you didn't think the dress was flattering because when I looked at your photos my thoughts were "Wow, this is the loveliest dress NiceGirl has made". So I'm sorry but you are wrong, wrong, wrong. It looks stunning.
6/6/12 3:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like this dress on you. Very flattering.
6/6/12 5:31 AM
Bonnie O said...
That is a great dress!! You look wonderful.
6/6/12 9:06 AM
Luvable said...
Very cute dress on you.... I love your glasses
6/6/12 11:56 AM
JEF said...
Not your best look??? Are you nuts? This dress rocks and is totally sexy. You look super in it!
6/6/12 3:52 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Yup, It's a keeper. You look great in it. I always love reading your reviews and visiting your blog!
6/6/12 4:49 PM
lilbear said...
looks really great on you- what pear!
7/24/12 2:38 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great dress on you. Stunning color and the style is really cute! I can't imagine anyone of your size having a "pear-shaped body", as you put it, but I guess pears come in all sizes, including us "bartletts". I think the pleats would bug me too, unless they were vertically stitched down. I'd be looking at them and thinking they were "poofy". You got a great fit though; fabulous job!
9/17/12 8:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Burda 8157

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Monkeysbug Sweet Sailor Ruffle Short

photo
by: brissmith

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now