SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8712 (misses pants)

13 more reviews
Review submitted in One Pattern, Many Looks Contest
Viewed 1098 times 
Reviewed by:Clareew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Clareewstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/12 9:13 AM
Last Updated:7/2/12 5:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CTBarb said...
Great fitting pants. And great review. Okay, I'll bite, I have never heard of "pressing out the bias," but my linens always bag. Please tell me!!
6/5/12 9:41 AM
nicegirl said...
Nice job on these pants! That back view shows what a great fit you have. The hidden pocket is so clever.
6/5/12 10:14 AM
Sanibelle said...
I am so impressed with the fit. (And achieving it with an elastic waist!) They look fabulous. Have a wonderful time in Barcelona.
6/5/12 10:19 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great fit Clare, they look very good. The pocket is a nice detail.
6/5/12 11:00 AM
Clareew said...
CTBarb, I couldn't find the link to the Seat Stretch Prevention so I have edited the review include a photo from the S Betzina book.
6/5/12 11:02 AM
kremmer said...
Hello Clare, well done! Thanks for included the tip on seat stretch prevention. So useful!
6/5/12 12:52 PM
allycovey said...
I love the pants and the review, (oh and i love the background ;)
6/5/12 1:25 PM
quathy said...
Nice work, and I love your pocket and other changes. Thanks for the tip about pressing out the bias - I've never heard of that before, and I'm getting ready to make my first linen pants. This will be very helpful!
6/5/12 2:01 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That's a really nice fit you've got in this pattern. It's a great idea to make it over and over again!
6/5/12 2:02 PM
seamsmith1 said...
I have put in a thigh high side pocket in a "bound buttonhole" opening. I have thought of using an invisible zipper, but didn't think that it could be sewn into a slit in the fabric instead of a seam. Did you cut a horizontal seam on the pants leg?
6/5/12 7:20 PM
Fictionfan said...
Great fit! Nice looking pants and such a clever pocket. Great thing to have when traveling! I forgot about that SB trick. Thanks for the reminder, thanks for the review.
6/5/12 8:03 PM
SquishSews said...
Ditto on all the kudos! Excellent explanations, and my goal is to learn to do all kinds of secret pockets, so your pants are particularly appealing to me.
6/5/12 9:10 PM
Terri A said...
Very nice fitting pants!
6/22/12 10:11 PM
Clareew said...
Masd, there is a seam there. It shows better on different version - I will upload a photo later for you to see it better.
6/30/12 3:47 PM
Sew Whatever said...
I seem to need to sign in to see the photos. I would love to see them. Especially the difference that pressing out the bias makes.
7/1/12 5:01 PM
Clareew said...
I have mended the photo links, please let me know if there are any more problems.
7/2/12 6:47 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Love your pants! Fit is wonderful, and how clever to slip in a hidden pocket. Very helpful review!
7/2/12 8:22 AM
woggy said...
love your pants and oh what a cute, cute dog!
7/2/12 11:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2261

photo
by: VirginiasD...

Review