SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8712 (misses pants)

13 more reviews
Review submitted in One Pattern, Many Looks Contest
Viewed 1098 times 
Reviewed by:Clareew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Clareewstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/12 9:13 AM
Last Updated:7/2/12 5:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
woggy said...
love your pants and oh what a cute, cute dog!
7/2/12 11:37 AM
lcdrbetty said...
Love your pants! Fit is wonderful, and how clever to slip in a hidden pocket. Very helpful review!
7/2/12 8:22 AM
Clareew said...
I have mended the photo links, please let me know if there are any more problems.
7/2/12 6:47 AM
Sew Whatever said...
I seem to need to sign in to see the photos. I would love to see them. Especially the difference that pressing out the bias makes.
7/1/12 5:01 PM
Clareew said...
Masd, there is a seam there. It shows better on different version - I will upload a photo later for you to see it better.
6/30/12 3:47 PM
Terri A said...
Very nice fitting pants!
6/22/12 10:11 PM
SquishSews said...
Ditto on all the kudos! Excellent explanations, and my goal is to learn to do all kinds of secret pockets, so your pants are particularly appealing to me.
6/5/12 9:10 PM
Fictionfan said...
Great fit! Nice looking pants and such a clever pocket. Great thing to have when traveling! I forgot about that SB trick. Thanks for the reminder, thanks for the review.
6/5/12 8:03 PM
seamsmith1 said...
I have put in a thigh high side pocket in a "bound buttonhole" opening. I have thought of using an invisible zipper, but didn't think that it could be sewn into a slit in the fabric instead of a seam. Did you cut a horizontal seam on the pants leg?
6/5/12 7:20 PM
Sherril Miller said...
That's a really nice fit you've got in this pattern. It's a great idea to make it over and over again!
6/5/12 2:02 PM
quathy said...
Nice work, and I love your pocket and other changes. Thanks for the tip about pressing out the bias - I've never heard of that before, and I'm getting ready to make my first linen pants. This will be very helpful!
6/5/12 2:01 PM
allycovey said...
I love the pants and the review, (oh and i love the background ;)
6/5/12 1:25 PM
kremmer said...
Hello Clare, well done! Thanks for included the tip on seat stretch prevention. So useful!
6/5/12 12:52 PM
Clareew said...
CTBarb, I couldn't find the link to the Seat Stretch Prevention so I have edited the review include a photo from the S Betzina book.
6/5/12 11:02 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great fit Clare, they look very good. The pocket is a nice detail.
6/5/12 11:00 AM
Sanibelle said...
I am so impressed with the fit. (And achieving it with an elastic waist!) They look fabulous. Have a wonderful time in Barcelona.
6/5/12 10:19 AM
nicegirl said...
Nice job on these pants! That back view shows what a great fit you have. The hidden pocket is so clever.
6/5/12 10:14 AM
CTBarb said...
Great fitting pants. And great review. Okay, I'll bite, I have never heard of "pressing out the bias," but my linens always bag. Please tell me!!
6/5/12 9:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010-122

photo
by: Deepika

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now