SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4109 (Corsets and petticoats)

6 more reviews
Review submitted in One Pattern, Many Looks Contest
Viewed 470 times 
Reviewed by:TimeandAgain
photo

 
 
About TimeandAgainstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/20/12
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/12 4:00 AM
Last Updated:6/20/12 4:42 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Claverie said...
Looks very fashionable. Nice work.
6/8/12 8:31 AM
Legal.Dealer said...
I love love love how you put the doily in the front panel! That is a real special touch. Now, where will you wear it?
6/8/12 8:53 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful, it looks like it was lots of fun making it. Like what you did with the denim.
6/8/12 10:21 AM
Sherril Miller said...
It's beautiful, I hope your daughter loved it. Any chance of seeing a photo of her wearing it?
6/8/12 12:55 PM
allycovey said...
I love it very nice
6/8/12 5:14 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very pretty and love the lace detail!
6/9/12 8:22 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is a terrific corset! Would you mine explaining what size grommets and particular setter you used? How did you reinforce the panel where the grommets are used? If you could PM me about this or post in the comments, I would really appreciate it. Great review and I enjoyed reading about it on your blog.
6/9/12 9:47 AM
TimeandAgain said...
Thanks everyone - It will be worn to a school dance with a t-shirt and a denim jacket over the top. Ryan's mom - the denim is VERY heavy - the back panel is just itself and the lining and the folded over allowance - I made the holes with an awl and then used a pack of 8.7mm two piece eyelets (or grommits) and the included tool to set them - if lacing this tighter I would have used smaller grommits, more of them, and a stronger lacing, but this is more of a stiff, really well fitted bodice so didn't need to go too overboard on the closure.
6/9/12 5:17 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
This is wonderful. You have done a stunning job.
6/9/12 7:04 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks so much for that info, Timeandagain. (I almost said TandA, until I realized what I was typing lol.)
6/9/12 10:45 PM
Catherine Daze said...
Those are both stunning. I love the orange ribbon on the rose corset. It's unexpected and yet so right.
6/20/12 5:09 PM
Courtney Ostaff said...
Amazing!
6/20/12 10:32 PM
Scheri said...
Incredible review. Thank you. The corsets are beautiful. Your daughter is a lucky young lady.
6/21/12 1:43 AM
CCQ said...
Very nice! Excellent mix of fabrics and trim. Thanks for the details and encouragement -- I may have to try one for my daughters.
6/21/12 9:52 AM
Terri A said...
Amazing corsets. Love the ribbon and colors you chose.
6/22/12 10:25 PM
velosewer said...
I think you're onto a winner!
6/23/12 2:02 AM
hairy stitches said...
I love the pumpkin color for the laces on the floral corset, it really brings a visual punch to the top.
7/1/12 7:55 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I loved the denim corset, and I love the pink one too!
7/6/12 6:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Burda 8168

photo
by: Margaret

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now