SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4109 (Corsets and petticoats)

6 more reviews
Review submitted in One Pattern, Many Looks Contest
Viewed 479 times 
Reviewed by:TimeandAgain
photo

 
 
About TimeandAgainstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/20/12
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/12 4:00 AM
Last Updated:6/20/12 4:42 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Michele Lommasson said...
I loved the denim corset, and I love the pink one too!
7/6/12 6:11 PM
hairy stitches said...
I love the pumpkin color for the laces on the floral corset, it really brings a visual punch to the top.
7/1/12 7:55 PM
velosewer said...
I think you're onto a winner!
6/23/12 2:02 AM
Terri A said...
Amazing corsets. Love the ribbon and colors you chose.
6/22/12 10:25 PM
CCQ said...
Very nice! Excellent mix of fabrics and trim. Thanks for the details and encouragement -- I may have to try one for my daughters.
6/21/12 9:52 AM
Scheri said...
Incredible review. Thank you. The corsets are beautiful. Your daughter is a lucky young lady.
6/21/12 1:43 AM
Courtney Ostaff said...
Amazing!
6/20/12 10:32 PM
Catherine Daze said...
Those are both stunning. I love the orange ribbon on the rose corset. It's unexpected and yet so right.
6/20/12 5:09 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks so much for that info, Timeandagain. (I almost said TandA, until I realized what I was typing lol.)
6/9/12 10:45 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
This is wonderful. You have done a stunning job.
6/9/12 7:04 PM
TimeandAgain said...
Thanks everyone - It will be worn to a school dance with a t-shirt and a denim jacket over the top. Ryan's mom - the denim is VERY heavy - the back panel is just itself and the lining and the folded over allowance - I made the holes with an awl and then used a pack of 8.7mm two piece eyelets (or grommits) and the included tool to set them - if lacing this tighter I would have used smaller grommits, more of them, and a stronger lacing, but this is more of a stiff, really well fitted bodice so didn't need to go too overboard on the closure.
6/9/12 5:17 PM
ryan's mom said...
This is a terrific corset! Would you mine explaining what size grommets and particular setter you used? How did you reinforce the panel where the grommets are used? If you could PM me about this or post in the comments, I would really appreciate it. Great review and I enjoyed reading about it on your blog.
6/9/12 9:47 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very pretty and love the lace detail!
6/9/12 8:22 AM
allycovey said...
I love it very nice
6/8/12 5:14 PM
Sherril Miller said...
It's beautiful, I hope your daughter loved it. Any chance of seeing a photo of her wearing it?
6/8/12 12:55 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful, it looks like it was lots of fun making it. Like what you did with the denim.
6/8/12 10:21 AM
Legal.Dealer said...
I love love love how you put the doily in the front panel! That is a real special touch. Now, where will you wear it?
6/8/12 8:53 AM
Claverie said...
Looks very fashionable. Nice work.
6/8/12 8:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 1324

photo
by: Kay Y

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-124

photo
by: FrenchColl...

Review
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now