Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8648 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 881 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/12 9:54 PM
Last Updated:10/14/12 10:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jenleeC said...
Wonderful...wear it shopping, wear it to the beach, hey, wear it anywhere! Beautiful dress and workmanship...it looks fabulous on you.
10/14/12 10:42 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Congratulations on your accomplishment. It's truly beautiful on you and I predict you will wear it more than you may think!
10/14/12 10:53 PM
Aixoise said...
What a wonderful dress. I salute you for conquering silk charmeuse and for taking the time to achieve perfection according to Susan Khalje. You will wear this. Count on it.
10/14/12 11:24 PM
Jrhee said...
Stunning dress! I'm sure the right occasion will come along, and then you'll have the perfect dress!
10/14/12 11:33 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!!! I'm sure you will find many occasions to wear this dress and when you do you will receive many compliments on it. Great job.
10/14/12 11:40 PM
PattyE said...
It's beautiful. The perfect occasion will come along. I bought that dress class too but have not yet done it.
10/15/12 0:01 AM
persevering said...
Everything about this dress is beautiful - Congratulations!
10/15/12 0:02 AM
Judy Kski said...
Wow! You look fabulous in your new dress. You can tell that a lot of time and effort was put into the construction of this garment. I'm sure you'll find just the right place to wear it very soon.
10/15/12 0:51 AM
Immelu said...
That's gorgeous!!!! I love the fabric!!! I'm taking the class, but am still gathering materials and watching the rest of the lessons. I haven't even picked out my fashion fabric yet. I hope my finished product turns out as well as yours!!! Great job!!!
10/15/12 0:59 AM
ell-in-or said...
What a beautiful perfectly fitting dress. You just need someone to have a garden wedding!
10/15/12 1:29 AM
Squidgeebabe said...
Gorgeous! Well worth the effort!
10/15/12 4:04 AM
mm said...
What a fantastic dress.
10/15/12 6:09 AM
sj3663 said...
Gorgeous dress!! The fit is wonderful. I'm watching the class through and thinking about what fabric I'd like to use. Yours is so lovely! Great job.
10/15/12 6:44 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
If you don't have a place to wear that dress, I'll find one for you - it is a knockout!
10/15/12 7:53 AM
Sewmissy2 said...
Oh it is breathtaking! You did a lovely job. I have this class too and, like you, am wondering where I would wear this dress. But just the class is so worth doing for the learning experience. I like that you chose the circle skirt, I have been considering the same. It is so flattering and pretty on you. You are an inspiration to me to get back to the class.
10/15/12 7:54 AM
Woolygal said...
Perfection!
10/15/12 8:36 AM
lakaribane said...
Wow, that is some serious fitting in the bodice, I love it!!! I would wear it watching tv, if I had too!
10/15/12 8:50 AM
blessedtosew said...
That fabric is just stunning!! I put in on my wish list awhile back. Your dress is really beautiful.
10/15/12 9:23 AM
Meg at Mood said...
You did a fantastic job! The fabric you chose is a staff favorite here at Mood. We just think it's so lovely, and you look fantastic in it.
10/15/12 9:36 AM
ChristineX said...
Ooh, great dress!
10/15/12 1:35 PM
ArtAttack said...
This is adorable!! I love the full skirt. The fabric is awesome and a totally great look on you!
10/15/12 2:43 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow, it looks gorgeous and I LOVE your fabric!! I think your decision to make the front midriff one piece was a great change. I think the center seam would have detracted from your amazing fabric
10/15/12 5:53 PM
Opals Passions said...
Great workmanship and the fabric is just beautiful.
10/15/12 6:06 PM
cleverkitty said...
jlg you sewed this just beautifully, all your creations are just perfect. You made me laugh when you said " I have absolutely nowhere to wear it" I don't need half of what I make but I'm not about to stop. I look at it as art work, each piece is hand crafted. Striving for perfection is very satisfying. You need to change your sewing skill to Advance :)
10/15/12 7:16 PM
Margie T said...
Stunning!
10/15/12 9:02 PM
MamaSewing said...
I love the fabric on you, what an accomplishment. The dress is simply beautiful!
10/15/12 11:23 PM
SavageCoco said...
Absolutely outstanding. No where to wear it? If you make it, you will go!
10/17/12 11:24 PM
papago said...
Fantastic!!
10/18/12 4:44 PM
sew2little said...
I am still wondering if I'll ever have the patience to undertake a project like this. Seeing your beautiful results might make me a believer.
10/19/12 0:59 AM
valgal said...
Love your dress and great job
10/19/12 10:00 PM
jlg said...
Thanks everyone for your encouraging comments.
10/22/12 7:13 AM
sdp717 said...
Your dress is beautiful! I know you feel a sense of accomplishment when you wear it.
12/10/12 0:39 AM
ceejayem said...
Wow. I have bought this class as well and have to date just been looking at it on the laptop.... it's really encouraging to see your result. Also love that fabric. Beautiful workmanship!
6/7/13 6:04 AM
ceejayem said...
It looks stunning. I ogled that fabric many times on the internet, it is to die for, without question and worth the cost. Great to see it put to such good use. I have that pattern as a result of the Craftsy course, but before seeing some of the PR versions had dismissed it as frumpy.
2/1/14 10:03 AM
slmstyle said...
Love this dress! I'll bet the construction is superb after following Susan Khalje's Couture Sewing class! I also made a dress from this same Oscar de la Renta fabric and agree that it is fabulous! I hope you've created an occasion to wear it and show it off!
3/4/14 4:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Other Mini Wardrobe - May 2008
photo
Review by nellc on 5/30/08
Read Review

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2512 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by SueV on 6/8/11
Read Review

Vogue 8648 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8648 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7207 Pattern
Burda 7207 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us