Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2946 (MISSES' BLOUSE) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 633 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:petro
photo
Friend of PR
About petrostarstar
NA FRANCE
Member since: 6/24/07
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/12 2:35 AM
Last Updated:6/25/12 10:03 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
arianamaniacs said...
I don't have a suggestion, but I love the pintucks on the fabric!
6/12/12 3:25 AM
petro said...
Thanks arianamaniacs. I did them with a double needle of course. They're the main reason I want to find a way of getting a garment out of it.
6/12/12 5:37 AM
Fictionfan said...
petro, is the blouse loose enough to allow you to add some pleating to the center panel? Or perhaps add neckline pleats or darts as so many dresses and tops have had in recent years? That would take up some of the excess neckline length. Do you have some scraps of this fabric to work with? Perhaps add a neckband, cut as one band or pieced from smaller scraps, to fill in the deep neckline? You've already got ribbons and pintucks, how about some cutout work or wing needle heirloom stitching or uneven ruching or uneven piecing with raised stitching, reflecting the wobbly pintucks and lines of ribbons? I'm thinking of the sort of neckband on the popular HP sunshine tops, but more interesting for this blouse. I'll be watching to see what you do with this!
6/12/12 6:13 PM
petro said...
Lots of ideas there Fictionfan. There's an echo with cut out work idea in the pin tucks, the underneath layer of fabric is cut away in some of the verticals. Uneven ruching sounds interesting too.
6/13/12 1:45 AM
RLL said...
I love the pintucks too and I think the skewed ruffle totally works.
6/18/12 7:44 AM
beauturbo said...
I like the skewed ruffle at the neck, and I like the bias ruffle on the front, and I think fine together, but I think they are both sort of "weighted" the same visually, and kind of competing with each other. I actually think the skewed ruffle would look nicer with the front ruffle, if the skewed one was smaller and more narrow, but then that would just defeat your purpose of trying to get that very low neckline "more filled in a bit" too.
6/18/12 11:50 AM
beauturbo said...
If you really want the neckline less deep and filled in a little more, and you wanted it to have some weight to it, and you had more left over scraps of white fabrics, you could even make some bias tubes of them, even if they were the same as the neck ruffle or maybe chiffon or just whatever you had around, and them apply them more stacked to each other, in the neckline. either with the skewed ruffle still in place, but maybe narrowed and whip stitched down to them, for more texture, or you could even maybe make some bias tubes of fabric to inset into the neckline and even braid those bias tubes or such, if you wanted to get the neckline filled in more. I think the weight of some of those things might help keep it on your shoulders too possibly. It would be getting kind of "busy" at that point, and maybe even more over top, embellisment wise if mixing everything up like that, but might be interesting. Or for more real weight and fill in at the neckline you could start adding in some cords or ribbons and trims sort of twisted into the skewed neck ruffle even?
6/18/12 12:05 PM
petro said...
Wow there are some really creative suggestions and thoughts there beauturbo. It makes me want to make more blouses with neck fillings, but intentionally next time.
6/18/12 12:27 PM
carolynw said...
I love everything you have done and you say it's put together now so it's the ruffles and the neckline. I love the ruffles even though it s competing with the lovely work on the fabric behind it but am not keen on the neckline - if it's not too low I would go with a plain bias binding - have you got enough material to take the ruffles around the neckline and down the front - that may be too much so maybe just around the neckline - from all the excellent suggestions you have had so far am expecting a WOW blouse in the end!
6/18/12 3:14 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Absolutely beautiful.
6/25/12 10:09 AM
carolynw said...
Well it is indeed a WOW blouse - uber femine and elegant - wish I had the patience to make it but then again it would not fit in with my life style now - a retired senior
6/25/12 10:52 AM
petro said...
Carolyn, the embellishment was a lot quicker than it looks at first glance. Because I wasn't following a controlled design but just stitching the tucks freehand, I could speed along.
6/25/12 12:20 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautful, how original and feminine!
6/25/12 2:56 PM
Clareew said...
Brilliant! I love your final design. I have this pattern but have not used it but you have shown with your tireless experimentation how to make it workable. Great
6/25/12 3:10 PM
VogueMistress said...
How lovely!
6/25/12 3:33 PM
blue mooney said...
So impressive!
6/25/12 5:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 5030
photo
Review by j Renee De... on 5/7/13
Read Review

SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern
SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)
Jamie Christina Dalliance Gloves Digital Pattern (JC311DG)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6683
photo
Review by wendlesue on 5/12/09
Read Review

Butterick 5868 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Butterick 5868 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5860 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5860 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us