SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V2958 OOP (DKNY)

Viewed 314 times 
Reviewed by:Renata
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Renatastar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/9/06
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/12 7:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissie71 said...
Great jacket, Renata, and beautifully stitched. I love the fabric, too. Isn't it amazing how long it takes us to get around to sewing things we really want. Good to see that garment-a-month thing is working. :-)
7/14/12 3:51 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I'm so glad to see this jacket reviewed! I've got the pattern, but have never made it. However, I really like the BIG pockets and the loose fit. This is exactly what I like when taking my dogs out, because it's so easy to layer underneath it. Also, that's my FAVORITE kind of collar/stand. You have my ADMIRATION for all of that topstitching in such a heavy fabric. It looks FABULOUS!
7/1/12 2:20 AM
antiquelvr56 said...
Wow! This jacket is fabulous!! I loved it so much I couldn't rest until I tracked down the pattern. And, I happen to have some corduroy just like it, same color too. You did a wonderful job on it. Thanks for the great review.
6/13/12 7:19 PM
lesliez said...
Fantastic jacket! I've had this pattern in my stash forever, and like you have been searching for the right fabric. I think I found it, now need to get the zippers. I love your version in corduroy. You've inspired me to get going on this one.
6/13/12 10:28 AM
Sharonspils said...
Wow Renta that is a gorgeous jacket and it has some wonderful extras that you don't see too much of. Perfect for our Industry Day.
6/13/12 3:26 AM
pdiddly said...
wonderful jacket - I agree with you about the opportunity to purchase more time
6/13/12 3:00 AM
velosewer said...
Love the jacket Renata. It's really lovely and more so in real life.
6/13/12 0:15 AM
cocosloft said...
Love this, such interesting details, so many pockets, I feel like crawling around it and finding all the goodies! This is a great pattern and your work is beautiful.
6/12/12 8:51 PM
TJSEWS said...
What a beautiful jacket!
6/12/12 8:27 PM
Renata said...
Thanks for all the compliments, ladies. As with all of us, we have our favourite techniques, mine is topstitching. I think it is actually bordering on OCD. I still have so much to learn, eg invisible zips and welts. And it also depends on having a good pattern and following all the dots and dashes, and also thanks to Goosegreen, having the right feet. Thanks again.
6/12/12 6:57 PM
Maree P said...
You are such a skilled sewer Renata...great jacket...I love corduroy.
6/12/12 6:38 PM
margk said...
So glad this turned out so beautifully! Enjoy!
6/12/12 6:31 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous jacket and a great review Renata! That corduroy is perfect for that jacket and your top stitching was worth all the angst!
6/12/12 5:52 PM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous Renata, beautifully sewn, great details and a perfect coat for the cold weather we are getting!
6/12/12 5:51 PM
goosegreen said...
I love this jacket as you know. Can you leave it to me in your will?? ;)
6/12/12 5:28 PM
RLL said...
I agree, what a great coat and a beautiful sewing job.
6/12/12 12:59 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful work - my kind of jacket because like you I love to be able to add layers as the weather changes to colder and colder
6/12/12 11:14 AM
sewmaris said...
Renata - thanks for the tip about the topstitching. I have this pattern in my stash too, and still have the original denim I bought for it! You have inspired me - maybe it will get done! Good to know how much I should "size down" as well. It looks great on you - good job getting it done and great review - thanks! And do let me know if you find time for sale anywhere - I am in desperate need as well! Sew Maris
6/12/12 11:09 AM
regine said...
Your jacket is gorgeous, a perfect every day coat to wear over winter clothes, beautiful work.
6/12/12 8:30 AM
Fictionfan said...
Very nice 3-season coat! I'm glad to see a review of a well-aged pattern. Thanks for all the detail photos.
6/12/12 8:15 AM
mm said...
What a wonderful coat. Fabulous sewing. It looks great.
6/12/12 7:57 AM
blue mooney said...
This looks great! So easy to wear, too. I don't have this pattern, but you sure gave lots of inspiration in your review.
6/12/12 7:45 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Oh my...that jacket is spectacular! just LOOK at the details. Beautiful work, Renata - can't wait to see it IRL!
6/12/12 7:26 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
What a great job you did on this coat! Wonderful review too!
6/12/12 7:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 5974

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now