Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6704 (Misses Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 422 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/12 7:42 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CypGrl said...
What a great summer top. After just making two black dresses i can appreciate your humor about sewing black!
6/16/12 8:20 PM
Barbara V said...
LOL about the navy blue buttons. Really...it looks great on you with what might be called a relaxed trim fit. Trim...that is what I thought of when I first looked at your image. Pretty fabric. Great job!
6/16/12 8:51 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great shirt and nice fit! It has lots of shape and isn't sacky at all. It should be cool in summer with the extra ease. And I know what you mean about sewing dark colours. I never thought of a miners headlamp, LOL!
6/16/12 9:17 PM
KathleenS said...
Your shirt is nice, well done! It's annoying that it has too much ease, especially when the pattern photo suggests a very neat fit. Do you think the front band could be cut on the straight grain in a plain fabric? I always assumed with this pattern that the bias placket was only for the look (in a stripe), not for any construction reason.
6/16/12 9:24 PM
Maree P said...
Don't be hard on yourself Barb...I think your shirt fits nicely and you have sew it beautifully. In hot weather you will appreciate the looser fit...I know I do.
6/16/12 9:59 PM
cleverkitty said...
So so nice Barb, I love this on you, Your so right about sewing Black, I hate it, so hard on the eyes. Self-underlined the entire shirt was extra work but in the end worth it. My sleeves don't fit as nice as yours, they are bit baggy according to DD :( Your shirt makes me want to sew it again...
6/16/12 10:31 PM
PattyE said...
You're an excellant sewist...love this blouse.
6/16/12 10:50 PM
mm said...
What a great top.
6/17/12 0:52 AM
Margaret said...
This looks great on you -- really nice shape to it! If it feels a little loose, it seems like it would be cooler to wear in summer. And personally I always have to sort my black/navy socks in natural light. :)
6/17/12 6:40 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Great blouse! The pattern was immediately place on my wishlist. Thanks for the review!
6/17/12 6:48 AM
Fran G said...
Very nicely fitting blouse for summer...and..navy with black is very chic and current! A question? Why did the front placket need to be on the bias? Was it just to highlight the striping? or is there another reason?
6/17/12 7:39 AM
FreyaStark said...
I think it is really nice as it is and not too big at all. As the others have said, you will be glad of the extra ease in hot weather. Sewing with black in artificial light certainly is difficult. It helps to have an extra lamp on the job, shining right on your work.
6/17/12 7:43 AM
mochimo said...
Very pretty! I think the fit is great! I am glad to hear that I am not the only one who has problems with black and dark blue.
6/17/12 8:28 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Really cute top Barb! The navy buttons made me smile. I can't even count how many times i have put navy and black thread in my serger. Ugh!
6/17/12 9:08 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking top - have this pattern but haven't used it yet - will now move it up the "to do" line. This looks a perfect fit on you - maybe any extra ease is good for summer.
6/17/12 10:10 AM
cocosloft said...
What a good looking blouse! the placement of the princess seam looks perfect, good adjustment on your part, this is one I have to do as well. Fitting a fitted blouse is so tricky...nice work!
6/17/12 10:22 AM
Silknmore said...
Great summer top and such a wonderful fit too. Also, what a great fit on those shorts.
6/17/12 10:40 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Great shirt!! Another winner from you!
6/17/12 2:55 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very nice! I love the fabric choice and thanks for the tip in where you purchased it! I made this one in a white cotton last year and love this pattern too!
6/23/12 12:49 PM
Annette1 said...
:o))) Hey, I've gone out of the house with one navy sock and one black sock before, and my girlfriend at work wore two different SHOES to work one day. :o) What do they expect from us, after all? I really LOVE this top. I would kill to have your ARMS. Sometimes I just say, to HECK with it, I am making a SLEEVELESS (something), but then when it comes right down to it, I chicken out. I LOVE the little cap sleeves on this top.
7/1/12 1:57 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Just came across this shirt and I love it on you but do see the size down would work on you. I think I have every NL shirt pattern but this one! I love the lines of this and it looks great on you. Love the fabric choice..and the roominess will make it cooler in this blasted heat!
7/10/12 4:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Butterick 5435 APRONS
photo
Review by talesofawa... on 1/11/11
Read Review

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2817
photo
Review by engk916 on 10/26/13
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5789 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5789 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us