SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3854 (Shorts)

15 more reviews
Viewed 184 times 
Reviewed by:Veronimuse
photo

 
 
About Veronimusestar
Member since: 12/17/10
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/14 4:44 PM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 3854 by Veronimuse

Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 3854
Kwik Sew Pattern Info

More Info provided by Veronimuse

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Shorts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Twill  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Button-closure shorts with front pockets, back darts, and contour waistband.

Pattern Sizing: XS-XL My proportions tend toward the tall and current waist measurement is about 33 1/2", hip measurement 42", and I chose the L.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Except for my modifications, yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the style of the pockets and the three buttons on either side--not your everyday shorts! A little bit of nautical flavour spiced with a little vintage styling--very fun, but still practical and functional.

Fabric Used: Royal purple cotton twill. They read as being more blue than purple in the store, but in natural light, they revealed their true nature--purple! Not quite as nautical as I was going for, but oh well.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I lengthened the shorts 5 inches (I have a 34" inseam--I like a longer length!), lengthened the crotch seam one inch (using Nancy Ziemans' pivot-and-slide technique of pattern alterations/fitting), and added about a half inch to the thigh area of the front pattern piece (apparently my thigh fronts are more rounded than most). The waistband is just perfect for me as drafted--no gaposis, probably because the waistband is contoured (which I have found works well for my curvy shape). By the way, I love how well drafted the waistband is. The grainlines line up beautifully where the side front and front waistband sections meet.

I also deepened the pockets three inches and used twill tape to stabilize the pocket edges. Also adapted the info from a Threads article on drafting a discreet stay to smooth the pant silhouette from December 2011/January 2012 issue #158 page 54 for modesty when I sit down (I attached the stay to the part of the pocket bag that faces the front pocket, so it would attach to the front waistband (where the buttonholes go)--otherwise I wouldn't have been able to get in and out of this thing without a zipper tucked in somewhere!). Because of the design of the pockets, the edges can gape forward when I sit down, showing a bit more skin than I would have planned on--so a clever pocket extension/stay solved that. Plus, it supposedly helps control the tummy. (So does not eating quite so many fresh-baked cookies--one of these days I vow to have a LITTLE more self-control when it comes to sweets, and freshly baked things especially!!!)

Finally, I tucked in 1/8" at the upper edge of the pocket fronts where they meet the waistband seam to reduce the amount of gaping I was getting. Not sure it worked, but I was aiming to get those pockets to lie flat!

I think these measures have been worth it as I wore these shorts for the first time today after hemming (my first machine blind hem--yippee!), and I forgot all about them while muttering about the kitchen today. That's a good sign. When something's not quite right, I tend to focus on the part that's not quite right and end up not wearing the outfit that much.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes and yes! I'd like a pair in a true navy and I have designs on a teal chino type fabric (or is it a sueded satin?--one of these bargain clearance $2 or $3/meter finds). Maybe I'll make a cute hat to go with it or something. One of these days.

Conclusion: Cute shorts for a fun outfit. I'll try to get photos up soon!
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kajero said...
All I am going to say is WONDERFUL!!!!!! OK . . one more . . .AWESOME
2/18/14 7:54 PM
kajero said...
All I am going to say is WONDERFUL!!!!!! OK . . one more . . .AWESOME
2/18/14 7:54 PM
Rhoda K said...
Cute shorts and good review!
2/19/14 9:55 AM
ASiverson said...
Very very nice shorts, and nice review. TFS!
2/19/14 4:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
Vogue Patterns 8701

photo
by: woolcat

Review
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now