Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6554 (Misses' Dress and Belt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 793 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:MissMarnie
photo
About MissMarniestarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/9/11
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/12 8:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $15.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.96  List Price: $19.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hme75 said...
Hair + Dress = Awesome :)
6/17/12 9:03 PM
snowflake0703 said...
I think you look great. Who cares what the fabric is, sometimes you just need tohave a little fun with the fabric and go with it. I used Patriot NFL fabric for a dress and it is one of mh favorite dresses.
6/17/12 9:58 PM
lynny said...
Your dress looks terrific on you, such a fun fabric too.
6/18/12 3:06 AM
prttynpnk said...
Jealous. So jealous. I want live where nerdchic is approved. Love your dress!
6/18/12 7:31 AM
tigergirl said...
Great dress!
6/18/12 7:58 AM
grays08 said...
Thanks for the review (this is in my queue so wondering how it sewed up) and great dress. The fabric is the best way to make it your own so if it makes you happy - go for it! = )
6/18/12 9:21 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
So glad you made your dress a little below the knee because that's where I plan to make mine....and wasn't sure what it would look like. VERY cute dress on you! The fabric is unexpected and FUN. Nice to know quilting cotton might be a bit stiff - will keep that in mind. Can you describe what you didn't like about the belt the way it was designed? Thanks for the helpful review.
6/18/12 11:18 AM
MissMarnie said...
2 Airedales n Me, I didn't like the belt as designed because it won't stay secured at the empire waist without something to hold it in place but there are no belt loops, snaps or tacks to hold the belt in place. Sewn this way, it stays right at the seam between the bodice and skirt.
6/18/12 11:46 AM
rdlamb said...
I love this!! The dress, the boots, the hair... everything! You have totally inspired me to go get that crazy skull-print fabric I've been eyeing and go for it.
6/18/12 11:47 AM
DDisciplines said...
I love the fabric! The Empire Waist Strikes Back is the perfect name. Good job!
6/18/12 12:29 PM
norie creates said...
How cute and fun is this!
6/18/12 7:25 PM
MonaNicLeoid said...
The fabric is awesome! You don't have to justify it to anyone. We need more Star Wars dresses in this world! Also, I am very grateful for this review because I've been eyeing this pattern but wasn't sure how it would look on me. Your body shape is not unlike my own, so this is very helpful.
6/19/12 4:38 PM
Terri A said...
Super CUTE!
6/21/12 0:56 AM
KimchiDesigns said...
I bought this pattern a while ago but your version has me excited to make it!
6/21/12 1:49 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is just so perfect!!! Great idea to halve the belt and stitch into the side seams.
6/21/12 4:24 PM
bethvanduzer said...
Love your dress - and your fabric. I have some Dalek fabric I am using to make curtains for my husband. After seeing this maybe I'll pick up some tardis fabric & make a version out of that.
7/29/12 10:40 AM
AppleGirl said...
Fabulous. Love the fabric choice & boots. Great job! Going with some Hello Kitty fabric myself.
2/1/13 3:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Cake patterns 2222
photo
Review by Fox51 on 3/24/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern ( XL-3XL)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-151 Girl's dress
photo
Review by KAHooke on 2/28/13
Read Review

Butterick 4946 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Butterick 4946 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7753 Pattern
Burda 7753 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us