Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8813 (Misses' Dress ) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 955 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:cocosloft
photo
Friend of PR
About cocosloftstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 3/17/12
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/12 6:14 PM
Last Updated:6/19/12 6:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MarshaG. said...
Your version of this dress is my absolute favorite! The use of two coordinating prints really makes the dress. I like your version enough to want one for myself, and I'm not normally one to make the more loosely fitted garments. Thanks for your review!
6/19/12 6:57 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks great, what a fun dress to wear. Enjoyed your blog!
6/19/12 7:39 PM
Renata said...
Looks like a perfect humid summer dress. I love the fabric, I love the dress.
6/19/12 7:53 PM
FreyaStark said...
Lovely! The way you've worked your inspirations into the finished dress is clever, and you've made the dress look nicer and more appealing than the envelope illustration.
6/19/12 8:32 PM
Claverie said...
Thanks for doing this review. I, too, much prefer cotton and wondered just how well it would perform in this pattern. Your dress is absolutely something to study. I like your take on it. Thanks for the pointers, too.
6/19/12 8:46 PM
CSY said...
Coco, I went to your blog and completely enjoyed it! Your take on the dress is wonderful and I loved and appreciated your technical construction upgrades to it. Thanks for posting.
6/19/12 8:48 PM
cocosloft said...
Thank you all, such nice compliments. I want to lend you my dress or have you over for lemonade or both!
6/19/12 8:56 PM
zoe said...
Just beautiful! Love the Matisse influence in your fabric.
6/19/12 10:06 PM
JillyBe said...
This pattern is winging its way to me, and I'll definitely refer to your very helpful review when I'm ready to sew it :) Love your print fabrics, and that you were so successful at doing it in a woven. Great job!
6/19/12 10:24 PM
mm said...
Great summer dress.
6/19/12 11:03 PM
Fran G said...
Very charming version of this dress! You have a wonderful "eye" for fabric selection. I especially appreciate your detailed instructions regarding the shirring section of this dress. Thanks!
6/20/12 7:13 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Lovely dress and a well written review!
6/20/12 8:01 AM
Karine said...
Very helpful review - thank you!!! I love your dress - your choice of fabric seems perfect for the style - both the coordinating prints and the woven cotton. I especially like the length - it is much more flattering.
6/20/12 8:23 AM
Merche said...
Those fabrics are so unique. Your review is really good!
6/20/12 1:11 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I really love the long casual dresses you make. This one included! Thanks for the review.
6/20/12 7:19 PM
1SewSweet said...
Coco you may have been on the fence with this one, but as usual, you knocked this one out of the park!!! I would love to take this off your hands! Gorgeous!
6/21/12 8:10 PM
threaddy said...
How did you get the shoes to match? The dress is absolutely Escadaesque. The combination of fabrics came off perfectly. I am most impressed
6/21/12 10:01 PM
cocosloft said...
All of you are so wonderful, I have apologized to my dress for any doubts I may have had...thank you!
6/22/12 0:46 AM
Sar sews said...
Looks great, and many thanks for construction comments.
6/22/12 6:06 AM
Mandolin82 said...
I'd been wondering how this would work as a maxi/midi dress. Your review (and blog) were VERY helpful. Thanks!
7/17/12 0:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-102
photo
Review by Mikgirl on 1/14/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6007 Minna
photo
Review by Alisek on 1/12/08
Read Review

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2387 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 2387 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1300 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1300 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us