SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8813 (Misses' Dress )

17 more reviews
Viewed 994 times 
Reviewed by:cocosloft
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cocosloftstarstar
Member since: 3/17/12
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/12 6:14 PM
Last Updated:6/19/12 6:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MarshaG. said...
Your version of this dress is my absolute favorite! The use of two coordinating prints really makes the dress. I like your version enough to want one for myself, and I'm not normally one to make the more loosely fitted garments. Thanks for your review!
6/19/12 6:57 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks great, what a fun dress to wear. Enjoyed your blog!
6/19/12 7:39 PM
Renata said...
Looks like a perfect humid summer dress. I love the fabric, I love the dress.
6/19/12 7:53 PM
FreyaStark said...
Lovely! The way you've worked your inspirations into the finished dress is clever, and you've made the dress look nicer and more appealing than the envelope illustration.
6/19/12 8:32 PM
Claverie said...
Thanks for doing this review. I, too, much prefer cotton and wondered just how well it would perform in this pattern. Your dress is absolutely something to study. I like your take on it. Thanks for the pointers, too.
6/19/12 8:46 PM
CSY said...
Coco, I went to your blog and completely enjoyed it! Your take on the dress is wonderful and I loved and appreciated your technical construction upgrades to it. Thanks for posting.
6/19/12 8:48 PM
cocosloft said...
Thank you all, such nice compliments. I want to lend you my dress or have you over for lemonade or both!
6/19/12 8:56 PM
zoe said...
Just beautiful! Love the Matisse influence in your fabric.
6/19/12 10:06 PM
JillyBe said...
This pattern is winging its way to me, and I'll definitely refer to your very helpful review when I'm ready to sew it :) Love your print fabrics, and that you were so successful at doing it in a woven. Great job!
6/19/12 10:24 PM
mm said...
Great summer dress.
6/19/12 11:03 PM
Fran G said...
Very charming version of this dress! You have a wonderful "eye" for fabric selection. I especially appreciate your detailed instructions regarding the shirring section of this dress. Thanks!
6/20/12 7:13 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Lovely dress and a well written review!
6/20/12 8:01 AM
Karine said...
Very helpful review - thank you!!! I love your dress - your choice of fabric seems perfect for the style - both the coordinating prints and the woven cotton. I especially like the length - it is much more flattering.
6/20/12 8:23 AM
Merche said...
Those fabrics are so unique. Your review is really good!
6/20/12 1:11 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I really love the long casual dresses you make. This one included! Thanks for the review.
6/20/12 7:19 PM
1SewSweet said...
Coco you may have been on the fence with this one, but as usual, you knocked this one out of the park!!! I would love to take this off your hands! Gorgeous!
6/21/12 8:10 PM
threaddy said...
How did you get the shoes to match? The dress is absolutely Escadaesque. The combination of fabrics came off perfectly. I am most impressed
6/21/12 10:01 PM
cocosloft said...
All of you are so wonderful, I have apologized to my dress for any doubts I may have had...thank you!
6/22/12 0:46 AM
Sar sews said...
Looks great, and many thanks for construction comments.
6/22/12 6:06 AM
Mandolin82 said...
I'd been wondering how this would work as a maxi/midi dress. Your review (and blog) were VERY helpful. Thanks!
7/17/12 0:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2012-16

photo
by: cath1492

Review
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now
Jean Hardy 630

photo
by: MaryDB

Review