SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3156 (Misses top copied in PMB)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1826 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/04 1:44 AM
Last Updated:12/27/04 1:44 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VJGertzen said...
Maqde the top in a poly spandex, with the short sleeves cut the neckline a little higher, but was very disappointed with the cut of the armhole, found it extremely deep and was not happy with the way thesleeve looked because of this. Liked the rest of the pattern, and would use it again, but would definiately recut the armhole higher by about 2 inches and alter the sleeve accordingly.
10/27/06 2:23 PM
potter said...
I'm so curious....what is PMB???
3/13/05 10:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice top. Helpful instructions with PMB.
12/28/04 5:56 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks everyone for all of your nice comments! Hilary, yes the binding is a knit too and I updated the review to include that info. Sherril, hold out for that CS machine!! You've got fitting nailed! Mary Ann, I have a Babylock standalone CS machine, which takes binding attachments. I'm not sure if they will fit the Elna. Jan, dart override can be used to move part of the bust dart into the armhole or snug up the armhole by moving any excess into the bust dart.
12/28/04 10:19 AM
AnneM said...
Great job copying the style. Your afternoon picture is too cute.
12/28/04 9:15 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a cute & sunny top. You sure look wiped out after a night of fiendish sewing!
12/28/04 2:16 AM
Plantwizard said...
Debbie, what is "dart override"? I just got PMB for Christmas and have played with it using "Sample Measurements" but haven't gotten my measurements taken yet.
12/27/04 12:28 PM
Mary Ann said...
Wow! Great job. I'm curious about the neckline finish. Love it. What coverstitch machine do you have? I have an Elna 945 that I severely underuse. Can it do this ?
12/27/04 12:24 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top and very neat binding.
12/27/04 12:24 PM
Liana said...
Very pretty and it looks so good on you! Great colors, and your finishing is so professional.
12/27/04 11:39 AM
marya said...
What a wonderfully helpful review! Thanks for including all the details that move a project from homemade to professionally done. I really appreciate your sharing
12/27/04 11:00 AM
PVA said...
That color is so great on you! Beautiful top -- I do agree with you about the narrow hems curling up being a distraction! However, it is still a really great top. (Love the photo of your Christmas afternoon break!)
12/27/04 10:35 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Very pretty top with nice colors. I've been thinking about this pattern for myself. I think it's the hemline that attracts me. You've got fit down with PMB, I'm almost tempted but I want that CS machine more!
12/27/04 9:34 AM
Hilary said...
Great review, Debbie! I was wondering, is the neck binding also a knit fabric? Your top is really pretty, I lovethat fabric! I was out like a light Christmas afternoon too- I had gotten up at 5am and traced off, cut out and sewed 3/4's of the vest I had been planning for my Dad but hadn't gotten too-it's still not complertely finished, but I was able to at least wrap it and give it to him unfinished(but almost, lol).
12/27/04 8:29 AM
jlg said...
Debbie, your top turned out great. I like the color on you.
12/27/04 6:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Other Spring pantone colors

photo
by: Aroura

Review
Butterick 5490

photo
by: Opals Pass...

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now