Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6598 (Misses Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 491 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/12 1:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
I love the pattern, and your work with it is wonderful! The collar is so crisp-you won't look wilted in the summer heat ;-) The wrinkles? I think they are pulling from your bust and you need a smidge more room on the right side. Is your right shoulder higher than the left? I am sure others will weigh in with better suggestions.
6/24/12 1:54 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Such a cute blouse Barb! I love the color!
6/24/12 2:50 PM
VtMartha said...
Great blouse! The color is wonderful on you. Do the wrinkles decrease when you take your hand off your hip?
6/24/12 3:07 PM
susank said...
I love this!
6/24/12 3:13 PM
frame said...
Cute blouse.
6/24/12 3:41 PM
ArtAttack said...
How could I not love it...it's ORANGE! Love the notches at the sleeve. My guess on the wrinkles goes along with marec...I think maybe a smidge more room across the bust/chest. The shoulders seem to fit you great. Super cute!
6/24/12 4:55 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful blouse and your usual great work - for what it's worth I think you need more fabric in the shoulder area above the bust - looking at the back shot I see a wrinkle or two in the sleeves which may disappear if the shoulder width was wider. That being said if you passed me on the street I would think "what a beautiful blouse" and not notice any wrinkles - sometimes we are too hard on ourselves
6/24/12 6:00 PM
cleverkitty said...
Square shoulder adjustment is diagonal wrinkles pointing to the shoulder according to Palmer/Pletsch, where did you pick those up at? I'll let you figure that one out then let me know because I probably have that going on too some place in my closet. Don't think this is a problem because this shirt is screaming out COOL and the wrinkle is being ignored (except by you) I know you too well it's getting a lot of attention from you but us on PR love the shirt too much to care. Great color on you. Can you be any funnier with that big orange shirt, honestly Barb where do get these ideas LOL
6/24/12 6:30 PM
style inspired said...
Nice blouse and love the colour. I'm not a fit expert by a mile , but maybe you need more width in the back?
6/24/12 6:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
can't believe those pants!! i didn't know we had a pattern that made them below the waist. phew!! Yours look better than the envelope model!! Your shirt is crisp and fun.
6/24/12 10:52 PM
Margaret said...
This is one of my favorite patterns and it looks great on you in the orange! I would guess maybe your shoulders are held a bit more toward the back than the pattern's, and if so, you might need a bit more width across the upper front and possibly less across the upper back. And maybe a slight square-shoulder adjustment too?
6/25/12 7:38 AM
Raye Ann said...
Great shirt, Barb! You know that I pretty much love everything you make, right? Yet another Barb pattern going into stash:). I am sure you, of all sewists, will get the wrinkles figured out. It looks great, anyway.(wow, edited to fix offensive typos! Sorry!)
6/25/12 12:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sleek looking shirt, Barb! I like the orange on you.
6/25/12 2:08 PM
Annette1 said...
Wow-wee! You really GLOW in this orange, and in a GOOD way. That's definitely one of your colors. You realize, of course, it takes me as long just to comment on your reviews as it does you to MAKE the clothes! This looks like a real winner of a pattern. I remember a couple years back, I had SEVERAL of this style of pattern, all basically the same, and I thought, well, this is RIDICULOUS! So I got rid of ALL of them, and boy did I regret it. Since then, I've accumulated two or three more -- ha! It's just such a nice style to have, and you really look great in it. :o)
7/1/12 2:08 AM
KatC83 said...
The colour is gorgeous, and I love that the shirt is elegant and casual at the same time.
7/3/12 3:17 AM
sewingcanary said...
Feedback on your fitting issues: The pulling seems to be common in the pictures Iíve seen modeled by their makers. I think the pattern was designed for petite small busted women - more of a Junior cut. Iím also not so sure theyíve fitted the armscye correctly. This type of dart system is not one Iím very familiar with. In your review of the sleeveless model you mentioned how it wows forward at the waist, and that it is common for you. There could be several reasons for this. Iíve been sewing for 60+ years and remember back to the way blouses had back shoulder seam darts etc.. When computer graphics started and clothing started being manufactured offshore, particularly in China, this Ďpregnantí front was very common - mid/late 80 just before the drop shoulders and pads. I discovered the front and backs bodices were now the same. There was virtually no difference between the front of the shoulders and the back. It wasnít surprising to get a blouse pattern where the front and back were identical except for the front opening and a lower front neck. The shoulder seam slid back. All blouses wowed out in front. We were constantly pulling them down. I think the designer drew a sketch and the computer saw it as a 2D image, not as a body with convex shape over the back of shoulder and concave in front of shoulder. Also, Asian body structure is quite different than Caucasian and Europeans. They have square, not rounded shoulders. I suspected the manufacturers would look at the patterns, thought them wrong and changed them. Every pattern I bought was a fitting disaster. Another possible reason for the front projection is the back neck height. When itís too high and/or tight, the blouse rides back. The width of the neck opening could also be too narrow. You could try lowering the back neck about Ĺ inch and perhaps widening it too. You would have to adjust the collar and/or neckband or facing, but from the sounds of it, you likely know how to do this without major difficulty. I have decided not to make this pattern. I donít think the bust will fit me well as I am C cup. However, I may marry the wing collar to another blouse, but will extend it 1Ē - 1 ĹĒ so it sits a bit lower. I also hadnít realized the darts continue straight down rather than to taper out to nothing at the bottom. My ultimate goal was to make an A-line shirt dress with it. I was going to make the little shirt for fit adjustments, then I was going to widen out from the waist point adding big patch pockets that extend over the side seams using a little dress I bought at wallyís a few years ago as a stepping off point. I got a great quilt print in green with little green, yellow and blue designs that remind me of juke boxes - kind of an Art Deco calico. I see itís been nearly a year since you made this and wonder if you will read my reply. Iím new here. I donít sew much anymore but itís nice to have such a great website. If Iíd been here first, I wouldnít have bought this pattern.
5/6/13 3:42 AM
sewingcanary said...
Feedback on your fitting issues: The pulling seems to be common in the pictures Iíve seen modeled by their makers. I think the pattern was designed for petite small busted women - more of a Junior cut. Iím also not so sure theyíve fitted the armscye correctly. This type of dart system is not one Iím very familiar with. In your review of the sleeveless model you mentioned how it wows forward at the waist, and that it is common for you. There could be several reasons for this. Iíve been sewing for 60+ years and remember back to the way blouses had back shoulder seam darts etc.. When computer graphics started and clothing started being manufactured offshore, particularly in China, this Ďpregnantí front was very common - mid/late 80 just before the drop shoulders and pads. I discovered the front and backs bodices were now the same. There was virtually no difference between the front of the shoulders and the back. It wasnít surprising to get a blouse pattern where the front and back were identical except for the front opening and a lower front neck. The shoulder seam slid back. All blouses wowed out in front. We were constantly pulling them down. I think the designer drew a sketch and the computer saw it as a 2D image, not as a body with convex shape over the back of shoulder and concave in front of shoulder. Also, Asian body structure is quite different than Caucasian and Europeans. They have square, not rounded shoulders. I suspected the manufacturers would look at the patterns, thought them wrong and changed them. Every pattern I bought was a fitting disaster. Another possible reason for the front projection is the back neck height. When itís too high and/or tight, the blouse rides back. The width of the neck opening could also be too narrow. You could try lowering the back neck about Ĺ inch and perhaps widening it too. You would have to adjust the collar and/or neckband or facing, but from the sounds of it, you likely know how to do this without major difficulty. I have decided not to make this pattern. I donít think the bust will fit me well as I am C cup. However, I may marry the wing collar to another blouse, but will extend it 1Ē - 1 ĹĒ so it sits a bit lower. I also hadnít realized the darts continue straight down rather than to taper out to nothing at the bottom. My ultimate goal was to make an A-line shirt dress with it. I was going to make the little shirt for fit adjustments, then I was going to widen out from the waist point adding big patch pockets that extend over the side seams using a little dress I bought at wallyís a few years ago as a stepping off point. I got a great quilt print in green with little green, yellow and blue designs that remind me of juke boxes - kind of an Art Deco calico. I see itís been nearly a year since you made this and wonder if you will read my reply. Iím new here. I donít sew much anymore but itís nice to have such a great website. If Iíd been here first, I wouldnít have bought this pattern.
5/6/13 3:43 AM
sewrose said...
Gorgeous work. I am contemplating making this pattern tonight. Did you find the shoulder seams too wide ?
4/14/14 5:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8656
photo
Review by maedchen on 6/5/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1778 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1778 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-1
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 7/21/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us