Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1882 (Misses' & Miss Petite Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1068 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Time4me
photo
About Time4mestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/22/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/12 7:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said...
Love your final result and your guns! Show those off proudly!
6/25/12 8:01 PM
PattyE said...
The dress looks great! I have found that bust measurements can be all over the place...I'm a D in a properly fitted bra but I usually use the B cup size in patterns.
6/25/12 8:12 PM
cocosloft said...
Oh, it can be so discouraging! But there is light...there are a couple pretty simple ways to figure your cup size for a pattern (not a bra) and get that curve (or a bust dart) where you need it. You can start in the knowledgebase here on PR. I use Fit for Real People, great book, and am constantly googling topics on the internet, there is so much free expert advice out there now. Hope you don't give up on original dress, but the one you finished is so pretty!
6/26/12 1:47 AM
ArtAttack said...
Sounds like a horror story but sure is a cute result!
6/26/12 2:01 AM
arianamaniacs said...
If the bust is too high, you may be longer in the shoulders than this pattern allows. Before you make other changes, trying adding an inch length to the straps above the bust and see if that helps. (Don't forget, you may need to move the cut-out of the under-arm hole up accordingly.)
6/26/12 4:05 AM
RoseFromThule said...
You did end up with a gorgeous dress. Thanks for the heads up about this pattern.
6/26/12 7:58 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Your finished dress is GORGEOUS! I love it, and the fit is super flattering on your amazing shape
6/26/12 10:40 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice finished dress, even if it wasn't the one you began with. The reason you are to baste the seams on the outside of the right side: to accommodate any asymmetry in your shape. I agree with Patty. The pattern I just bought listed the bust measurements for each cup size. I too am a D, but the measurements for the D where far more than mine.
6/26/12 11:34 AM
sunnysewer said...
finished dress looks fantastic.
6/26/12 11:58 AM
Time4me said...
Thank you all for your wonderful and thoughtful comments. I will take all insight into consideration for sure. I am not giving up on this pattern!
6/26/12 8:53 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your dress is beautiful and looks like it fits perfectly. I've made an amazing fit skirt and faced many of the issues you described but in the end the pattern fits me like no other.
6/26/12 8:58 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Your finished dress is awesome and it does indeed make you look super slim! I am making this same dress right now and it has taken me lots of time. I am short and the bust and waist shaping are just right on me (lucky me!), but I can totally see how a person taller than 5'2" might have issues. Amazing save.
6/29/12 7:02 PM
abuelita2 said...
Thank you Timeforme. I just purchased this pattern and found your comments very helpful. Having read your remarks and studied the seemingly dozens of pattern piece choices in the envelope, I'm desparately seeking more advice on which pieces to choose before cutting. Why does there have to be so much confusion and inconsistency in sewing? Pattern companies need to get a clue.
7/22/12 3:12 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Stretch & Sew 1560 Dress
photo
Review by MelC on 2/29/08
Read Review

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Designs 5010 Tango Skirt
photo
Review by NancyDaQ on 6/25/06
Read Review

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7069 Pattern
Burda 7069 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4722 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Butterick 4722 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us