SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1882 (Misses' & Miss Petite Dresses)

12 more reviews
Viewed 1116 times 
Reviewed by:Time4me
photo

 
 
About Time4mestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/22/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/12 7:28 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
abuelita2 said...
Thank you Timeforme. I just purchased this pattern and found your comments very helpful. Having read your remarks and studied the seemingly dozens of pattern piece choices in the envelope, I'm desparately seeking more advice on which pieces to choose before cutting. Why does there have to be so much confusion and inconsistency in sewing? Pattern companies need to get a clue.
7/22/12 3:12 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Your finished dress is awesome and it does indeed make you look super slim! I am making this same dress right now and it has taken me lots of time. I am short and the bust and waist shaping are just right on me (lucky me!), but I can totally see how a person taller than 5'2" might have issues. Amazing save.
6/29/12 7:02 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your dress is beautiful and looks like it fits perfectly. I've made an amazing fit skirt and faced many of the issues you described but in the end the pattern fits me like no other.
6/26/12 8:58 PM
Time4me said...
Thank you all for your wonderful and thoughtful comments. I will take all insight into consideration for sure. I am not giving up on this pattern!
6/26/12 8:53 PM
sunnysewer said...
finished dress looks fantastic.
6/26/12 11:58 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice finished dress, even if it wasn't the one you began with. The reason you are to baste the seams on the outside of the right side: to accommodate any asymmetry in your shape. I agree with Patty. The pattern I just bought listed the bust measurements for each cup size. I too am a D, but the measurements for the D where far more than mine.
6/26/12 11:34 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Your finished dress is GORGEOUS! I love it, and the fit is super flattering on your amazing shape
6/26/12 10:40 AM
RoseFromThule said...
You did end up with a gorgeous dress. Thanks for the heads up about this pattern.
6/26/12 7:58 AM
arianamaniacs said...
If the bust is too high, you may be longer in the shoulders than this pattern allows. Before you make other changes, trying adding an inch length to the straps above the bust and see if that helps. (Don't forget, you may need to move the cut-out of the under-arm hole up accordingly.)
6/26/12 4:05 AM
ArtAttack said...
Sounds like a horror story but sure is a cute result!
6/26/12 2:01 AM
cocosloft said...
Oh, it can be so discouraging! But there is light...there are a couple pretty simple ways to figure your cup size for a pattern (not a bra) and get that curve (or a bust dart) where you need it. You can start in the knowledgebase here on PR. I use Fit for Real People, great book, and am constantly googling topics on the internet, there is so much free expert advice out there now. Hope you don't give up on original dress, but the one you finished is so pretty!
6/26/12 1:47 AM
PattyE said...
The dress looks great! I have found that bust measurements can be all over the place...I'm a D in a properly fitted bra but I usually use the B cup size in patterns.
6/25/12 8:12 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Love your final result and your guns! Show those off proudly!
6/25/12 8:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: House of P...

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now