Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8665 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 712 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/12 7:08 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fauxgetaboutit said...
Great review and how nice are you to sew for your friend. I have this pattern and so I'm happy you liked it(and did a knot too!) thanks!
6/27/12 7:56 PM
Tina Lou said...
A beautiful dress in a wonderful fabric - reminds us all that simple lines are often the best - thanks for a wonderful review, Phyllis!
6/27/12 8:17 PM
bjird said...
Great review, beautiful dress!
6/27/12 10:22 PM
Fran G said...
Love the fluidity of this dress..never thought to underline with Milliskin. I am always in doubt as to the correct way to apply neckline elastic..I assume you are speaking of the clear elastic. Can you give a quick explanation of how you apply it? Also, the glue..you glued the Milliskin to the fashion fabric? And what kind of glue did you use. Thanks for the review and for answering my questions..I'd like to try this pattern!
6/28/12 8:12 AM
marec said...
Very pretty dress-I like the lines and the fabric you used is gorgeous. I enjoyed reading your review as you included information not usually found so easily in some reviews. Thanks!
6/28/12 11:22 AM
PhyllisC said...
Fran I used 1/4 inch black elastic, I find it easier to use than clear, either should work fine. Glue was just a glue stick - yup, like the kind in office supplies.
6/28/12 1:49 PM
PhyllisC said...
Sorry - aplying the elastic it's no different than for a knit top, the joined elastic (I used fusible interfacing to do that) is divided into qaudrants, pinned and stretched to fit the folded neck edge as it goes through the machine. This is the standard method there must be a million tutorials on YouTube by now.
6/28/12 1:52 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Thank you for the details in your review. I never gave this pattern a second look, but really love it in a knit! Now I must purchase Milliskin.... :)
6/28/12 3:09 PM
Fran G said...
Thanks, Phyllis! I am glad I asked because I, too, have experienced difficulty using the clear elastic. Knowing that you use the 1/4" regular kind sounds as if I will have the control that the clear elastic just doesn't afford me. I will google to view the application. Many thanks! Your tip alone about using regular elastic is a great help.
6/28/12 5:12 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 2662
photo
Review by SusieK1957 on 11/12/06
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

LaFred 108 Helena Dress
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 11/26/03
Read Review

New Look 6145 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6145 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6407 Pattern
New Look 6407 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us