Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5391 (Misses Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Shorts    printable version
Viewed 231 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Gaskamp
photo
About Lisa Gaskampstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/12 8:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
khurtdvm said...
Your shorts look really nice!
6/27/12 9:49 PM
Legal.Dealer said...
Nice welts! Yes, what is with left hand fly zips? I was on a rant just last week about that, I had all the ladies at the sewing event comparing their left or right flys! I found a great tut on doing a right hand At sallieoh.blogspot.com. All my pant and shorts patterns are left hand flys, it's like the pattern companies want our stuff to look homey.
6/27/12 10:06 PM
Lisa Gaskamp said...
thanks! yeah, i don't get the left hand fly zip! since the left and right pattern pieces were the same i just switched it to go the right way. weird though! and i do follow sallieoh--she has great info on pants!
6/28/12 0:11 AM
MNBarb said...
I agree with you on all accounts. There should always be welt pockets included in the pattern, if for no other reason, placement. It's difficult to get them in the right spot! Also, who ever heard of no fly facing? I don't think people are afraid of pants construction, it's pants fitting that makes sewist quake. The Sewaholic pattern might be good for you if you consider youreself a pear but it will be difficult to top how great you look in these shorts. Very upscale looking!
6/28/12 1:56 PM
Lisa Gaskamp said...
thanks! i think i'm switching to the sewaholic pattern (which i just received in the mail!!!) more on principal than anything else. plus they're drafted and constructed like a traditional pair of trousers that can be altered at the back seam to make fitting a little easier.
6/28/12 6:40 PM
shayedknits said...
Cute shorts! I just made these and was annoyed at the left hand zip too! Also that the pockets sag-they definitely need some support. I think I will look at the Sewaholic pattern you recommended! Thanks!
7/12/12 11:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1047
photo
Review by Debra H on 7/27/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 2718
photo
Review by lelliebunn... on 7/15/13
Read Review

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1292 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1427 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us